Preview 2022 Player Previews

Great overview. This is the player I wanted from that draft Out of the top 5 picks. So stoked to see him in the navy blue.

At the most basic level there is a strong correlation between either having more team disposals than your opponent or being within 10 disposals of your opponent to have a chance to win a game. A player like Cerra is progressing to be a high 20s disposal player which is really important due to his use going forward.

We have struggled a lot pre Walsh with too many low 20 possession midfielders. Now with Cerra, Walsh and Cripps being able to regularly hit 30 it gives us our chance.

Great take on Zac williams , Hopefully he has an injury free preseason and his preparation for games become first class. I agree I think he will fill in docs role down back and have stints in the middle. Go back to that final when he played for giants through the middle he really crack in and won the footy and pressured and defended. I think Voss will bring that back to his game. I think under Teague he didn’t really have a proper crack in wanted to be more that handball receive, flashy type player that wanted 20 kicks a game. And didn’t want to win that hard ball enough. This year under Voss I see that changing!!

I can see him playing forward/ stints in the middle. More consistency from him would be great. I do agree depending on the way Voss utilise our wings I could see him playing that defensive winger. Similar in attributes as Brayshaw from Melbourne who plays that role.

Improving his kicking is a must for him to make it as a forward. Not making the distance from 30m out is simply not good enough for afl level.

cats don't let too many good ones go...........hick hick hick the obvious exception...........we've had too many hack hack hacks from kardinia, enough...........first person to mention diesel can gagf..........

Are you having a stroke mate? Are you ok?

Yeah I believe he is definitely the most important player to our team alongside weitering. can definitely tell when he is out of our side last year we struggled and lack confidence going forward and inside 50. Hopefully with a better setup and game plan and more output from our forwards we won’t have to rely on him so much. It be great to see him get isolated and have more one on ones and more over the top also. With more improvement in his game and confidence in his goal kicking along with great health there is no reason why he can’t kick 50-75 goals a year for the next 5 years.

was gonna throw walsh into the "can't afford to lose" mix there but I think you are right, as much as losing walsh would cripple our engine room, harry is a further step again into irreplaceable territory.........

The campaigner needs to get fair dinkum or **** off. Period. Harsh?? Maybe, I don't think so. Most of the time he has been at the Blues he has taken the piss.

1. We have never seen the three of them together fit and firing..(Mitch./Charlie/Harry)
2. People forget he had a bad spine injury in his first pre-season which impacted I reckon for more than a year
3. Teague was too much his mate and thanks for coming - Voss isn't going to be anyone's 'mate'
4. He was absolutely flying before he did his hamstring

I reckon he turned the corner as far as fitness goes last year - that hammy last year was blown running full speed after many previous repeat efforts when players over-extend because they trying too hard, it can happen.

5. He has the smarts to play anywhere - but not convinced he is a defender or that he wouldn't be wasted as a defender...but he has similar if not better closing speed to Jones, is a better field kick and certainly a smarter player than Jones - if the club sees enough from him as a defender and it works that would solve for a really serious question down back as far as covering for Jones.

The campaigner needs to get fair dinkum or fu** off. Period. Harsh?? Maybe, I don't think so. Most of the time he has been at the Blues he has taken the piss.

Im not quite as harsh as this but roughly feel the same.

Justabattler cites hardness and tackling as things that are all important to him. My thing is players taking the piss.

Both Newnes and McGovern fit into that category for mine and currently I have no time for either until they prove otherwise. Newnes literally stopped trying and showed petulance in two games at least. He can take a run and jump as lacks fortitude.

Mcgovern takes himself off in games leaving us short then plays the following week to get his match payments. Hardly ever touches the ball but I guess looking good for three touches in a highlights reel makes an AFL footballer and big contract. 100 percent this will be Mcgoverns best year…why? Because with great form he can organise a contract release and new contract on higher money than his current frontended contract.

fixed typo Katman

Justabattler cites hardness and tackling as things that are all important to him. My thing is players taking the piss.

Both Newnes and McGovern fit into that category for mine and currently I have no time for either until they prove otherwise. Newnes literally stopped trying and showed petulance in two games at least. He can take a run and jump as lacks fortitude.

Mcgovern takes himself off in games leaving us short then plays the following week to get his match payments. Hardly ever touches the ball but I guess looking good for three touches in a highlights reel makes an AFL footballer and big contract. 100 percent this will be Mcgoverns best year…why? Because with great form he can organise a contract release and new contract on higher money than his current backended contract.
Backended contract? Now you are just making stuff up.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Mcgovern takes himself off in games leaving us short then plays the following week to get his match payments. Hardly ever touches the ball but I guess looking good for three touches in a highlights reel makes an AFL footballer and big contract. 100 percent this will be Mcgoverns best year…why? Because with great form he can organise a contract release and new contract on higher money than his current frontended contract.

fixed typo Katman

Couple of things here

I wouldn't rate Gov and Newnes hard, but nor soft

Under the Teague gameplan our tackle numbers were poor across the board

Cripps averages in 2020/21 are the lowest of his career, Ed's 2021 lowest career average, JSOS 2020/21 lowest career average. These are guys that we never question their hardness

Can't see that trend continuing under Voss

On another note, apart from the Demons last year, most flag winning sides rate mid table for tackles, so I think it's more about the relentless pressure of the whole team

Preview 2022 Player Previews