Autopsy 2022 Round 14 Slow starting Blues have disappointing loss

Who played well for the Blues in our round 14 match vs the Tigers?

Was never feeling this one, even prior to the game, but as soon as the opening bounce went and there was a text book, clear as day block from Nank (eyes only on TDK, ran completely under the footy and prevented TDK from . Mounting injuries just taking their toll. Thought we should've taken Kemp into this on too. I tipped Tigers, so not surprised in the slightest with the result.
We were beaten at the coal face. Our bread and butter. And our reluctance/inability to adapt to wet weather footy (something we've been really good at the last few years, despite being crap at everything else). Every one of our fumbles fell the Tigers way, in space. Every kick off the ground that they did, found a Tiger. They played the territory game. We tried to finesse a wet footy.
Giving up 6 goals before halfway through the 2ndQ and failing to kick one ourselves, was always going to be too much to come back from, regardless of how close we got.

It wasn't what lost us the game, but those umpires?!? My oh my! Haven't seen a game umpired that poorly for a while. 50/50 calls going all one way. Different interpretations for the same actions. Obvious holds missed (massive jumper tug on Cripps in the middle comes to mind), deliberates, HTB, the overturned goal. It just goes on. Umpires should be protected from abuse, but they shouldn't be above genuine criticism.

Here's the opening bounce. I don't know how to make short clips, so if anyone else does and wants to make one of the opening bounce, that'd be great, but I highly recommend rewatching it.

Ball is right at the top of the pic. TDK looking up, Nank looking across.
View attachment 1426760
He starts jumping here, despite the ball still being way too high to reach and still not looking at where the ball is even going.
View attachment 1426763
Now he's made contact and taken away TDK's run and jump, he starts to look up.
View attachment 1426764
Now he's coming down from his jump, and possibly even making high contact. Ball still well out of reach and TDK hasn't even had a chance to jump.
View attachment 1426767
Straight under and past the ball. Still making contact with TDK. Still no room for him to run or jump at the ball.
View attachment 1426768
Now TDK is trying to get to the ball, now that it's within reach, but Nank has gone completely past it and is stopping Tom from jumping.
View attachment 1426773
Now they're actually contesting the ruck and Tom has never left the ground and only had eyes on the footy the whole time. Note the ball coming down on Nank's side of the center line and how far back he has to reach to even contest it.
View attachment 1426774

Look who’s the officiating umpire, nuff said

Back. Would transform us. I would like to see some creativity from Voss. Not criticising. It’s just all very conservative and predictable at the moment.
In the past few years we have taken 2 “rucks”, Liam (in VFL) and Rowe and made them into pretty decent key defenders, especially the former.

Sure TDK will be stop gap, but given what bro Sam is doing at Cats and his general athleticism, it’s well worth trying him back there, big Mirkov and JSOS to share ruck duties.

No one is saying this is the ideal solution, but maybe the best solution for now.

Whatever, wanna see Kemp and Honey in to give us flexibility back and forward, especially with JSOS doing plenty of rucking.

Exactly.

How do we come out so flat?

More interested in staying home playing playstation on a cold night?

Was an absolutely shocking first qtr from.all aspects.

Intensity lifted in the second but continued to play dumb football.

I have absolutely adored Voss but these things would certainly need to come down on him at least partially, particularly showing no interest in the first qtr of a game to take outright top spot against a bitter rival.

Or is it us just going back to shitting the bed style over the last 12 years or so...except now we're good enough to salvage the scoreboard.

Very very disappointed about this game.
It was cold ,wet and damp....our group maybe were out on the park too early in some pretty much artic conditions....!!
hit the massaging and heat too early before such games....perhaps something went wrong?
interesting observations....when they have ceremonies in such conditions before these games time lapses can have players lose their warm up heat,flexibility etc...probably could need some attention....something was definitely off besides only having a 6 day break

Voss has driven this group hard this year,undoubtedly...we have a lot of injuries reflecting the work rate this year
this group are working very hard,they are flat out ..Voss will continue to drive them,at any cost

It was cold ,wet and damp....our group maybe were out on the park too early in some pretty much artic conditions....!!
hit the massaging and heat too early before such games....perhaps something went wrong?
interesting observations....when they have ceremonies in such conditions before these games time lapses can have players lose their warm up heat,flexibility etc...probably could need some attention....something was definitely off besides only having a 6 day break

Voss has driven this group hard this year,undoubtedly...we have a lot of injuries reflecting the work rate this year
this group are working very hard,they are flat out ..Voss will continue to drive them,at any cost
I think this is fair. The consistency isn't quite there but it's certainly going in the right direction. Being young and barely any winning games for so long is going to create inconsistent performances.

The best teams have talent. The historic teams had talent and extreme consistency and concentration, as well as a cut-throat attitude.

He's trying to teach number two, and three will come.

If the great teams had an average day, they would still get out to an early 5 goal lead and just coast. You need to those games, so you are cherry ripe when challenged.

That'll come.

This group is an injury free season away from a 17 or 18 win year. Lack of injuries allows you to embed a system and allow that second sense of your team mate. We have performed outrageously well considering our injury list. If most top 8 teams lost 4 or 5 best 22 they would barely win a game. We have 6 and arguably you would think cunners and Honey would be best 22 this year if they had a full preseason.

That shouldn't be lost on the players OR the playing group.

Whately goes bang:

"Treated like lemmings."
"Bulldust."
"Classic overreach with the technology."

In the past few years we have taken 2 “rucks”, Liam (in VFL) and Rowe and made them into pretty decent key defenders, especially the former.

Sure TDK will be stop gap, but given what bro Sam is doing at Cats and his general athleticism, it’s well worth trying him back there, big Mirkov and JSOS to share ruck duties.

No one is saying this is the ideal solution, but maybe the best solution for now.

Whatever, wanna see Kemp and Honey in to give us flexibility back and forward, especially with JSOS doing plenty of rucking.
There’s a few ideas been thrown around at the moment.Mirkov coming in to ruck could work with tdk going to lobb in backline.when lobb rucks ,tdk goes with him.if Mirkov needs a bit more help then sos can do a few.fwd Line sos or Cripps can take ruck duties. Back line tdk can do it.(only time I want to see Cripps rucking is close to our goal btw.)surely mirkovs fitness levels would be enough to do 1/3rd of the ground. I don’t think kemp or plowman are tall enough for lobb,just my opinion anyway whatever they do just need everyone to buy into it.GoBLUES

Vlastuin was interviewed post game and confirmed Broad at the time said “I told you pricks I touched it” - he’s not saying that if he didn’t touch it…anyway …. if video evidence was inconclusive as many claim, but he touched it, then the right decision was arrived at and that’s all anyone should want.
It has been well established that Broad is a pretty ordinary bloke so I am not sure why you thing abusing the umpires after the reversal would make you think it was touched.

Was never feeling this one, even prior to the game, but as soon as the opening bounce went and there was a text book, clear as day block from Nank (eyes only on TDK, ran completely under the footy and prevented TDK from . Mounting injuries just taking their toll. Thought we should've taken Kemp into this on too. I tipped Tigers, so not surprised in the slightest with the result.
We were beaten at the coal face. Our bread and butter. And our reluctance/inability to adapt to wet weather footy (something we've been really good at the last few years, despite being crap at everything else). Every one of our fumbles fell the Tigers way, in space. Every kick off the ground that they did, found a Tiger. They played the territory game. We tried to finesse a wet footy.
Giving up 6 goals before halfway through the 2ndQ and failing to kick one ourselves, was always going to be too much to come back from, regardless of how close we got.

It wasn't what lost us the game, but those umpires?!? My oh my! Haven't seen a game umpired that poorly for a while. 50/50 calls going all one way. Different interpretations for the same actions. Obvious holds missed (massive jumper tug on Cripps in the middle comes to mind), deliberates, HTB, the overturned goal. It just goes on. Umpires should be protected from abuse, but they shouldn't be above genuine criticism.

Here's the opening bounce. I don't know how to make short clips, so if anyone else does and wants to make one of the opening bounce, that'd be great, but I highly recommend rewatching it.

Ball is right at the top of the pic. TDK looking up, Nank looking across.
View attachment 1426760
He starts jumping here, despite the ball still being way too high to reach and still not looking at where the ball is even going.
View attachment 1426763
Now he's made contact and taken away TDK's run and jump, he starts to look up.
View attachment 1426764
Now he's coming down from his jump, and possibly even making high contact. Ball still well out of reach and TDK hasn't even had a chance to jump.
View attachment 1426767
Straight under and past the ball. Still making contact with TDK. Still no room for him to run or jump at the ball.
View attachment 1426768
Now TDK is trying to get to the ball, now that it's within reach, but Nank has gone completely past it and is stopping Tom from jumping.
View attachment 1426773
Now they're actually contesting the ruck and Tom has never left the ground and only had eyes on the footy the whole time. Note the ball coming down on Nank's side of the center line and how far back he has to reach to even contest it.
View attachment 1426774

Good photos, in terms of ruck craft, great from Nank, hes aware Toms strength is his leap, so he’s taking it away. As a team and as players we really need to understand the limits of what we can get away with on the field, I’ve seen a few people after this loss and against the loss to the Dockers, complaining about illegal tactics, holds, scragging, blocking, whilst most of its probably true, but I think its good football.

But declined to show the alleged footage....

Rather odd.
Same discussion was had on SEN between Pickers, Radar, Etc pre Sydney and Port game. Can’t go and say you have this footage that proves it was touched and not go and say here’s a link to the AFL website where we’ve posted said footage (because it don’t exist). They said something interesting that the AFL also is aware that within 24-48 hours another contentious or AFL related issue occurs that usually means these things become yesterday’s news and gets gladly forgotten.

Let's all be thankful, that both St Kilda & Swans losses, is some consolation to our loss.
We are still comfortably in the 8.
Next week game against Freo is a huge challenge.
Even with my rose coloured glasses and glass half full approach, just not sure if we can get over the line.
The big thing in our favour, is that both Charlie & Harry love Marvel.
And so do our Midfield,.
If we win, it will be the best win of the year, considering our injury list.

Was all doom and gloom in here 2 days ago after a 2 goal loss to a side who will play finals (with also heaps out)

We will still be at least 5th on the ladder with the saints and swans choking up losses.

Everyone chill out we are still easily playing finals
Exactly, 13 wins will get us in and we'll get more than that. Other side's will drop games they are 'supposed' to win

Sent from my CPH2005 using Tapatalk

Autopsy 2022 Round 14 Slow starting Blues have disappointing loss