Game Day 2022 SC Round 6 - Lest We Forget

What a week, it's been in Footy ....what a week, it promises to be

Headlines reinforcing, what we already knew ....how much we all love umpires (LOL) ...with the doyen of Umpire Lovers, Brad Scott, showing he's more than capable of holding down the Footy Operations Job ....and representing the Umpires

Brad Scott fined.jpg

So how will the Players respond this week ....and how many SC Points will your Players lose in 50mtr penalties ?
Will we see new player approach's to not raising the arms .....and how will spectators react

Demnstraive.gif matt-cottrell-carlton.gif

Surely Cottrel is simply happy .....or will this, arms to his side ...also be construed as Dissent??

Anyway back to the footy ..and maybe the most defining decision of your Fantasy Season .....what to do with Preuss ? ...make the right call & you could get an advantage on the rest of the pack ....that's both selecting & not selecting Preuss
How many consecutive games, has Preuss played? ....will he share the Ruck ...will he get injured ....will he find a new novel way to miss games ?

And another wave of Covid players in Health Protocols in FREO ....you'd be spitting chips, if you owned Young or Chapman ....as if they haven't given enough heartache to owners already 🥴

The big talk this week is Grundy ..... a former SC God ...unceremoniously dumped by many Coaches, for ....Preuss !!
First Gawn to Jackson bites Coaches ....could dumping Grundy ....well this little black duck, ain't sticking his neck out during Duck Hunting Season

1650489718927.png
Tantalising game this ....for obvious reasons, discussed above ...but in addition we have Whitfield, whose shadow, is scoring more points than him 🤬 .....I can't afford to kick his arse to the curb, I'd never get any upgrades done ....but then again ??

Steele is bouncing back, getting better each week ......but FFS, will he cop De Boer this week ?
Can Sinclair continue his outstanding form ....is it a spurt, or a breakout year, new role ....pity he has the R12 Bye

Cmon Hayes ....you've been a ripper Cash Cow ...don't give the Coach a reason to dump you for Ryder, next week

1650490296496.png
Me feeling, an ugly game coming for the Crows in Ballarat ....man, that place gets cold & windy
New SC God Smith, do you own him ....can you have 4 players from 1 side ...English, Macrae, Dunkley?
Who will you stick the (VC) on from the above ? .....and will it rain? .....I'm sticking with Mr Reliable, Macrae

I can see some big Fantasy scores in this game .....another big game from Dawson & Laird, could see their ownership % rise

1650490723761.png
John Wayne sleeping.gif

1650490836698.png
Touk Touk ....please tackle, like you used to ....I bought you, because you tackle .....hopefully Davies gets dumped after his 5 possession midfield game last week ....no wonder he was fighting Touk for ground balls

We won't discuss Rowell, the wonder kid, who was going to take the AFL by storm & win a Brownlow in his debut year
laughing3.gif

If you haven't traded his arse out this week ....you're a braver Coach than me

For BRIS ....the Neale show continues ....only issue that will impact putting the (C) on him, will be weather
Zorko watch, with his new DPP status

1650491511784.png
Gawn's form-line against RICH .....for those few who still own him 🤣 ..... 147, 163, 145, 134, 151
I might have the (C) on my POD player

Lots of discussion this week on bringing Piggy in at his discounted price .....wait a week, bring in now ? ....he's a must have, it's just the timing ....and there are so many mids performing better ATM ....depends on whether you're playing the short, or long game

1650491970457.png
Which Grundy plays this week .....he's received a fair ol wack in the media ....Formline against ESS ..153, 83, 151, 134, 157
Back the boy in !

Will be a great game ....will ESS decide to defend, as a change in strategy ...and shock their opponents ?
De Goey watch, Contract Year ....so he ain't mucking around ...70+% of CBA's last week ....fresh of 125 last week ...will go big again
Hobbs watch ....may get an extended run of games

Hope everyone has a great week .....enjoy the fun of the match thread ....and help Brad Scott, in supporting the Umpires, by not being demonstrative in the crowd

umpire hug.gif scott1.gif

Great write up WaynesWorld19

Pretty much a series of sliding door moments: I should have, I could have - but didn’t!

We will see these threads pretty busy:

Bounce the ball already, but before that bring on the team selections carnage :devil:

Mildly off-topic, but a good representation of how strong mid-pricers and some of the rookies have been this year is shown when you compare team value data from the last two years.

Last year, when I finished 41st overall, I was around 500th after Round 5, and my team was valued at $11,514,700.

This year, I'm hovering around 15,000th (granted, mainly due to the round 1 horror show, my team's been fine since then), and my team is over the $12 mil mark and valued at around $500k more.

Now, this could be due to some variables including increased trades making it easier to flick under-performing premos before the big value drop (and getting on-field selections right), but it's definitely interesting to observe.

Before it's pointed out – the number 1 ranked team is only sitting at about $11.7 mil, so either my observations are meaningless, or they're a good chance to start dropping in the coming weeks as upgrade season takes place.

Mildly off-topic, but a good representation of how strong mid-pricers and some of the rookies have been this year is shown when you compare team value data from the last two years.

Last year, when I finished 41st overall, I was around 500th after Round 5, and my team was valued at $11,514,700.

This year, I'm hovering around 15,000th (granted, due to the round 1 horror show, my team's been fine since then), and my team is over the $12 mil mark and valued at around $500k more.

Now, this could be due to some variables including increased trades making it easier to flick under-performing premos before the big value drop (and getting on-field selections right), but it's definitely interesting to observe.

Before it's pointed out – the number 1 ranked team is only sitting at about $11.7 mil, so either my observations are meaningless, or they're a good chance to start dropping in the coming weeks as upgrade season takes place.
Reckon that's the expensive must have rooks (JHF, Daicos, Rachele, Pmac) combined with cheap midpricers like Cogs, Xerri, Brodie making the most money or even keepers. Then we've had Rowell as a popular pick, an assortment of backline breakout picks.

Does make sense because I don't think we've really had a midprice or rookie crop similar. Not saying its better or worse, but different

Is this the weirdest year of SC? i swear none of the previous top 100 or "experts" are up there this year, previous winners, consistent performers i see all in the range of 10-25k.
This year, forget about the SC playbook!

Tell me how many teams would trade out Grundy in the previous years?

This year it’s different - just embrace it!

eric andre GIF by The Eric Andre Show

Is this the weirdest year of SC? i swear none of the previous top 100 or "experts" are up there this year, previous winners, consistent performers i see all in the range of 10-25k.
Yep. First time GnR approach has been DESTROYED by MPM. Like it's not even close.

Combination of a heap of:
-expensive rookies
-cheap high cash cows scoring like premos
-underperforming guns
-cheap players returning from injury performing well
-genuine breakouts from midpricers
-PODs are doing well

Strange year indeed.

There'll be a lot of movement over the byes though, moreso than ever. Those who have held trades will drop a trade boost and 4 trades and could have 20/21/22 premos playing in rounds 13 and 14, when others will just hold

Does the respect also go to cricket umpires?

I need something to go my way for once. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

in basketball the coach sees it has his job to "work" the referees.

I think having Preuss from the start (as R2) was fortunate/genius.

1. It forced me to bring in English as cover.
2. Every time he's missed I have taken Hayes' score.
3. I can double upgrade this week (via Hall though) rather than bring in Preuss

Reason for choosing him was IMHO he has the highest ceiling of all sub $250k players. His susceptibility to missing games wasn't a huge issue as that applies to a large proportion of rookies anyway & Flynn was there last year as the model to what he can achieve.

ie last year Outside of Jordon and Daniher barely any of the top averaging sub $250k starting price players played much more than half a season.

1650515353299.png

I need Thursday night football.

There is NRL on tonight, Manly v Cronulla, should be a good game with both teams in the top 8 with 4 wins and 2 losses.

yeah but nobody really cares