2023/2024 Gold Coast Draft & Trade periods

I haven't seen him play any at all, apparently he was in the Suns VFL for a game or two? But I'm not sure

currently trying to chase down footage of a grand final he played in when he was 16, thats how unsure about him I am
He did not play in VFL, I am pretty sure, I watched every game.

The last I read he had moved to the Gold Coast, but I can't see that he's played any footy unfortunately. regardless here's this;

trade pick 3 for
6x D grades your saying?

🤷‍♂️

We could just trade for the best young player that won't help us win next year while the more talented young player we've drafted look for the door.

Need to break the cycle at some stage. The good young players are already here, they are just poorly coached and developed.

I'm usually all for drafting young talent. At pick 3 there are no stand outs and I don't trust Cameron to pick a decent player. All he has been doing is shooting fish in a barrel with the AFL's concessions and has been exposed for his poor list management with no decent ruck or key position depth.

Yeah would be nice to trade players without their consent. Literally 2 states over and they sook it up
This is one of the major things that shits me being a fan of both American and Australian sports - "No Trade clauses" in contracts do exist over there but they're normally reserved for only the big name "face of the franchise" types. Not your average jabroni draftee that needs mummy and daddy's permission to leave home

Put it this way, a kid from Los Angeles goes to college at USC but then gets drafted by the Minnesota Vikings? Too bad kid better buy some thermals with that massive signing bonus you're getting.

Want to go home to Cali? Tough shit, Team's under no obligation to move you, If you want out so bad you can go play in Arizona or for whoever is willing to give up the most at the trade table for you.

Pick 3 for Pendles heard it from Lil
Coch on reddit
I think you may be confused with who Lil Coch is because he hasn't said that as far as I can see.

Plus Pendles being out of contract too

Ned Steven’s and Austin Harris were the two Suns academy players in the AFL academy however neither warrant selection
From what I have seen Ulwald is the only one that could be an AFL player though I always like Jack Johnston, will be interesting how many they cut out of the 8 uncontacted as half were chosen more on PR reasons than their ability to kick a sherrin. Will be interesting if the Suns deviate from this path after 10 seasons

No dickhead policy at the suns
People make mistakes man, I think this is a gross over reaction. Even the bloke he said whatever he said to was happy to sit with him and sort it out.
6 weeks! You could tackle someone into the ground in a dangerous tackle and get 3-4 weeks, you could punch someone’s lights out, lose 3 teeth, eat with a straw for a month and get 4 weeks, sleep around with other players wife’s within the club and still find another team, happens all the time, but lose your cool and say one thing, stupid and regrettable in a moment of weakness and get 6 weeks and a loss of potential career. So over the top IMO. He’s always been a leader at their club, an amazing player, don’t think he should be judged on one mistake.

People make mistakes man, I think this is a gross over reaction. Even the bloke he said whatever he said to was happy to sit with him and sort it out.
6 weeks! You could tackle someone into the ground in a dangerous tackle and get 3-4 weeks, you could punch someone’s lights out, lose 3 teeth, eat with a straw for a month and get 4 weeks, sleep around with other players wife’s within the club and still find another team, happens all the time, but lose your cool and say one thing, stupid and regrettable in a moment of weakness and get 6 weeks and a loss of potential career. So over the top IMO. He’s always been a leader at their club, an amazing player, don’t think he should be judged on one mistake.
Nah, he has seen what eddie has gone through for years, game after game of abuse and for him to still slip up like paints a pretty good picture of poor character

In your view Walker made a mistake. Ask indigenous people what they think. As per Betts and Harbrow interviews, they believe that AFL teams environments are, at present, not safe for indigenous players. How our indigenous players would feel with Walker joining the team?

Betts and harbrow probably can't say too much. Two guys who have made some mistakes in the past and have been given another chance.

For me, the problem for the Suns is we get far too many draftees each year—more than the three of most clubs who then have a larger intake every few years—and have since our inception.

That means many players (often top picks) are all competing and developing at the same time, rather than being integrated slowly. The narrative pushes this as a good thing: a core group growing together.

The reality is that they actually don’t develop as well as they could, as our age profile is forever young, so you end up having multiple players leave at once for opportunity, rather than a small shift each year to the playing group.

Alternatively, players sit in the twos forever as new picks are constantly tried in an attempt to save the club, again stifling development all round. Add to the fact that those picks get big money to do essentially nothing, and we have our main problem.

Last year was the first real year of breaking that trend. When we start consistently taking our minimum draftees only, the Suns will have turned a corner in our age profile and list management, IMO. It means we have recruited more, and drafted less—just like a normal club!

For me, the problem for the Suns is we get far too many draftees each year—more than the three of most clubs who then have a larger intake every few years—and have since our inception.

That means many players (often top picks) are all competing and developing at the same time, rather than being integrated slowly. The narrative pushes this as a good thing: a core group growing together.

The reality is that they actually don’t develop as well as they could, as our age profile is forever young, so you end up having multiple players leave at once for opportunity, rather than a small shift each year to the playing group.

Alternatively, players sit in the twos forever as new picks are constantly tried in an attempt to save the club, again stifling development all round. Add to the fact that those picks get big money to do essentially nothing, and we have our main problem.

Last year was the first real year of breaking that trend. When we start consistently taking our minimum draftees only, the Suns will have turned a corner in our age profile and list management, IMO. It means we have recruited more, and drafted less—just like a normal club!
Agree, team profile is changing. Next year March 2022, best 22 average age 25 years 2 months, average game experience 82.

Naturally you’d consult with them first.
I’d like to think you’d consult with the players regardless of this on any player coming into the side. Again just my opinion. We don’t even know what was said, I’m not trying to detract from Eddy Betts, or anyone for that matter, but bullying is bullying, no one is worse off than the other. I was bullied all my life through school for physical things out of my control, I’m not jumping up and down about it, why? Because I know any form of bullying at its core is jealousy and fear so it’s psychological.
That means it needs to be taught as a psychological education is schools, you can’t just say bullying only applies to “racism” it’s a fundamental flaw that’s only half being exposed in our society.
It’s pathetic, Did Harbrow get 6 weeks for drink driving? Again, it’s all about education, not ruining careers.
It’s all one big media piece that the AFL is running with in my opinion and this poor player is wearing the brunt of a problem that society or the AFL doesn’t want to own.
For better or worse I think he'd be a hard sell to our indigenous group- and to supporters like me
It's a tough world out there and we shouldn't be mopping up Adelaide's problems

A bit of smack being talked about in regards to our club on the Poort draft thread. Quite a bit of self righteous and unwarranted smack about us not having any members and also about one of our mods

It’s funny how sometimes you have a vision of supporters in regards to some clubs as full of unwarranted hubris and then you interact with them and you discover that yes indeed they are exactly what you thought they were
You mind looping me into this mate?

Would love to see what they're saying about us
The port draft thread is dead quiet with barely a post in it over the last month and no reference to the suns at all? Are you confusing it with another thread or something?

I’m not allowed to post quotes from other clubs threads but it’s there. 2021 trade target thread

Lol I quickly just searched the thread.

The comment about one of your mods was “one of their mods is literally called SUNS”

If you consider these comments that harsh for your sanity don’t go looking at the other boards lol.

You’re kinda overplaying what was said. You made it out to be really harsh.

Lol I quickly just searched the thread.

The comment about one of your mods was “one of their mods is literally called SUNS”

If you consider these comments that harsh for your sanity don’t go looking at the other boards lol.

You’re kinda overplaying what was said. You made it out to be really harsh.
You conveniently left out the comment from one of your mods about us have only 2 fans. But whatever mate, you do you, I’ll do me

Entirely common board banter and you’ll find worse language from the blue rinse brigade at a buffet.
Anyway we will move on but yeah, I imagine there’s far worse things said than those flippant remarks round these parts.

Entirely common board banter and you’ll find worse language from the blue rinse brigade at a buffet.
Anyway we will move on but yeah, I imagine there’s far worse things said than those flippant remarks round these parts.

Yeah just re-read it, seems I was sooking it up after our poor season

sometimes it can be hard to listen to other clubs belittle your club for no other reason then they can

4 academy players selected for the National combine… Austin Harris, Ned Stevens, Will Bella, Bodhi Uwland. That implies a few clubs are interested in those players.

Just checked the rules for the AFL Combine so 5 clubs have to nominate the player. Also Steven’s 195cm, 83kgs and Bella 194cm, 102kgs at the start of last season. Hopefully Bella grew 7 or 8cms