Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread

Who would you prefer we pick with our first pick?

• Nick Watson

Votes: 157 37.6%
  • Zane Duursma

Votes: 135 32.3%
  • Colby McKercher

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Daniel Curtin

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Nate Caddy

Votes: 11 2.6%
  • Conor O'Sullivan

Votes: 7 1.7%
  • Ryley Sanders

Votes: 4 1.0%
  • Darcy Wilson

Votes: 2 0.5%

Same rule applies to this thread as other years, keep it on topic about the kids.
Don’t get bogged down on what other teams might do or where they will finish.

Trade speculation belongs here.

That's also where you can discuss your mock drafts or pick trades.

Any McCabe, Dear or Maginness talk belongs here.

Last edited by a moderator:

There's still some talent left before our next pick. Fingers crossed 2J or Lorenz are available at our pick.

Archer Reid
Oli Murphy
Mitchell Edwards
George Stevens
Arie Schoenmakers
Archie Roberts
Logan Morris
Jack Delean
ZZ Top
Nathan Philactides
2J
Will Lorenz

Add to the above list:

Angus Hastie
Harvey Johnston
Will Patton

REMAINING Relevant 2023 AFL DRAFT ORDER (after Round 1)

30. West Coast Eagles 31. Brisbane Lions 32. Geelong 33. St Kilda 34. Carlton 35. Richmond 36. Geelong 37. Collingwood 38. Fremantle 39. Essendon 40. West Coast Eagles 41. Fremantle 42. Brisbane Lions 43. Richmond 44. GWS Giants 45. Western Bulldogs 46. Hawthorn 47. Western Bulldogs 48. North Melbourne 49. West Coast Eagles 50. GWS Giants 51. Gold Coast Suns 52. Hawthorn 53. Hawthorn…

Yeah, but it wasn't on offer then ;)
Supposedly it kinda was via a wink and a nudge from Mark Evans. Clarko's kid had just moved to QLD and by all reports they thought it would happen. Late rally and support from the players saved Dew.

Out of the top 25 in his phantom, the only incorrect landing spots Twomey had were:

Curtin (Crows instead of Cats)
O'Sullivan (Cats instead of Crows)
DeMattia (Pies instead of Saints)
Wilson (Saints instead of Roos)
M.Edwards (TBA instead of Roos)

As someone in here mentioned earlier, it is pretty unreal how strongly connected he is.
Best footy journo. You can simply trust what he reports.

Geelong especially could have their decades-long staying afloat come to a grinding halt fairly messily if they don't get the next 1-2 off-seasons right. If they miss the finals the next few seasons and stop luring talent in - right around when Tassie make the conflicted draft even more conflicted - then that's going to bleak for them.
Geelong has its own significant advantage with its ability to appeal to kids from regional Vic. I don't expect them to change course and they will continue to target guys like Dangerfield and Cameron, probably with success.

They're the big watch with Harley Reid over the next couple of years I reckon

Unless the provisions for the northern clubs change, Academy players will be the norm up there. A natural flow of talent far superior to down here will flow. I have been on about this for a while now. The northern boom in AFL participation, if left unchecked, will have a detrimental effect on clubs like the HFC.
It is a boom indeed. It can only be a good thing. Not all these academy players will end up at the academy clubs. Some will spill over to other clubs in other states.

I totally agree, but it is time the Academy rules were the same for EVERY club.
I know I am going off early (I have been on this issue for two years), but ALL clubs should get the benefit of substantial AFL investment.
It is yet another factor in the inequality of the League rules and substantially is my view.

But look at what the Age is saying this morning, good journo to, Dodo is a hero, continuing his long trait of providing the talent the coaching panel either misuses or *s up.

Sound’s like excuse’s to me?But
what would a bum like me know?
You have to give him one thing he is a survivor!

It's easier to lure those kind of blokes when you have a perennially competing side. When that dries up it becomes harder and harder. Look at Brisbane - was impossible to keep the kids they were drafting when they were getting hammered week in/week out. Now that they are competitive again they have big name players opting to go there. Every player they were linked to this off-season went elsewhere. Maybe they keep defying gravity - however if they don't bring some talent in pre-Tassie entry I would be worried if I had the misfortune of being a Cats supporter.

Geelong especially could have their decades-long staying afloat come to a grinding halt fairly messily if they don't get the next 1-2 off-seasons right. If they miss the finals the next few seasons and stop luring talent in - right around when Tassie make the conflicted draft even more conflicted - then that's going to bleak for them.

Could be a reverse Pavlich situation. He may end up loving it.

Agreed. Adelaide are on the rise and building their roster. They'll probably make finals this year - once he is playing in a winning side I am sure he'll be a happy kid. Also it's Perth to Adelaide - sure if he was from Sydney/Melbourne it might be a hard transition going to a smaller city but Perth and Adelaide are much of a muchness.

Clubs need to back in their culture. From all reports Adelaide have a good young crop coming through, not to mention their on field rise. Wouldn't surprise me if he stays.

Yeah they have a quality young unit, they're one of the more promising young sides ATM. Complete culture change too compared to a few years ago.

Anyone got the footage of when Crows picked Curtin? Bloke looked miserable
Perhaps he was wondering why West Coast didn't trade for that pick, like the Crows did.

I hope he goes on to become a Crows legend and makes the Eagles regret that they didn't go all out for him.

I know it was the right choice because when north took Duursma I felt nothing and when we took the Wizard I gave a dodoro style fist pump on steroids!
Glad McCabe got to 19 so we have an extra pick let’s see who slips through.
Oh and my god I love GWS but biggest draft brain fart in history. Take Leake 12 gothard 17 and keep your f2 that was borderline under 70 IQ.

I totally agree, but it is time the Academy rules were the same for EVERY club.
I know I am going off early (I have been on this issue for two years), but ALL clubs should get the benefit of substantial AFL investment.
It is yet another factor in the inequality of the League rules and substantially is my view.
The AFL don't contribute to the academies though. The Swans for instance is funded by QBE mostly.

Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread