Preview 2023 Best 22

Perhaps you guys have seen more of him than I, have watched the 2 vfl games he played and parts of state champs games. No replays or any other games.

I can see the AFL translation but suspect the gap between senior footy and what’s he’s been exposed to so far is a fair gulf.

He puts 4-6 weeks together like the one good half of VFL he had, then sure I can see it happening. I just think that consistent performance in his first year is unlikely given where he is coming from.

Especially as it would likely be late in the year and I hope we’re in a finals race - I gather Dew is a guy who would stick with experience rather than debut a guy in a critical match (cost us the game against Collingwood)

Found this interesting.

The last 10 games for 5 goal bags from suns players

Alex Sexton Rd 23 2022, 6.2
Mabior Chol Rd 20 2022, 5.0
Joel Jeffrey Rd 10 2022, 5.0
Ben King Rd 6 2021, 5.1
Alex Sexton Rd 20 2018, 5.0
Tom Lynch Rd 2 2018, 8.1
Tom Lynch Rd 15 2017, 5.1
Tom Lynch Rd 4 2017, 7.0
Callum Ah Chee R5 2017, 5.0
Brandon Matera R3 2017, 6.0

Had a few goal scoring threats around that 2016 - 2017 period with Lynch, Wright, Matera, Ah Chee all kicking 5 goals in a game.

Serious drought with 3 years with no player kicking 5 goals between 2018 and 2021. Shortened game time to be considered.

We've now clearly got a more potent forward line with Chol, King, Jeffrey, Sexton all capable of kicking a bag on their day as they have recently demonstrated

These other guys kicked multiple goals in 2022

Casboult 11 / 21 games
Ainsworth 7 / 22 games
Rosas 4 / 15 games
Holman 4 / 20 games
Day 2 / 4 games
Hollands 2 / 5 games

Ellis, Anderson, Lukosius, Miller, Flanders, Sharp also kicked multiple goals a total of 9 games combined.

Found this interesting.

The last 10 games for 5 goal bags from suns players

Alex Sexton Rd 23 2022, 6.2
Mabior Chol Rd 20 2022, 5.0
Joel Jeffrey Rd 10 2022, 5.0
Ben King Rd 6 2021, 5.1
Alex Sexton Rd 20 2018, 5.0
Tom Lynch Rd 2 2018, 8.1
Tom Lynch Rd 15 2017, 5.1
Tom Lynch Rd 4 2017, 7.0
Callum Ah Chee R5 2017, 5.0
Brandon Matera R3 2017, 6.0

Had a few goal scoring threats around that 2016 - 2017 period with Lynch, Wright, Matera, Ah Chee all kicking 5 goals in a game.

Serious drought with 3 years with no player kicking 5 goals between 2018 and 2021. Shortened game time to be considered.

We've now clearly got a more potent forward line with Chol, King, Jeffrey, Sexton all capable of kicking a bag on their day as they have recently demonstrated

These other guys kicked multiple goals in 2022

Casboult 11 / 21 games
Ainsworth 7 / 22 games
Rosas 4 / 15 games
Holman 4 / 20 games
Day 2 / 4 games
Hollands 2 / 5 games

Ellis, Anderson, Lukosius, Miller, Flanders, Sharp also kicked multiple goals a total of 9 games combined.
Interesting stats. Good to see some bags are coming back.

It also reinforces that I’m not 100% sold on Rosas as an automatic inclusion to replace Rankine.

King, Chol and Ainsworth are automatic inclusions and reliable avenues to goal each match.

Luko has some serious issues in front of goal, but his field kicking can be sublime. If he can put it through then the spot is his, otherwise back to the backline/wing he goes…

Sexton may be inconsistent around ground, but can’t deny his goal sense and he generally has good positioning and patterns.

And Holman isn’t there for goals, unfortunately. (But if him and Sexton could morph into one player somehow… Maybe that’s Humphrey, down the line?)

All in all, I’m far more sold on Jeffrey as best 22 to replace Rankine rather than Rosas—fast, unpredictable and has a big bag of tricks. And I’m not putting a line through Sexton just yet.

Interesting stats. Good to see some bags are coming back.

It also reinforces that I’m not 100% sold on Rosas as an automatic inclusion to replace Rankine.

King, Chol and Ainsworth are automatic inclusions and reliable avenues to goal each match.

Luko has some serious issues in front of goal, but his field kicking can be sublime. If he can put it through then the spot is his, otherwise back to the backline/wing he goes…

Sexton may be inconsistent around ground, but can’t deny his goal sense and he generally has good positioning and patterns.

And Holman isn’t there for goals, unfortunately. (But if him and Sexton could morph into one player somehow… Maybe that’s Humphrey, down the line?)

All in all, I’m far more sold on Jeffrey as best 22 to replace Rankine rather than Rosas—fast, unpredictable and has a big bag of tricks. And I’m not putting a line through Sexton just yet.
Yes, Ainsworth improved his set shot in 2022 but I would still not call him 'reliable avenue to goal each match'.

Interestingly, Ben goal average per game in 2022 was only 0.3 more than Holman and 0.2 more than Rosas (while Rosas had 20% less TOG) - 1.1 vs 0.8 vs 0.9. Possibly with a better tank, Rosas could reach Ben's goal numbers.

Amazingly, in 2021 Holman had better goal average than Ben - 0.8 vs 0.7.

Yes, Ainsworth improved his set shot in 2022 but I would still not call him 'reliable avenue to goal each match'.

Interestingly, Ben goal average per game is only 0.3 more than Holman and 0.2 more than Rosas (while Rosas had 20% less TOG) - 1.1 vs 0.8 vs 0.9. Possibly with a better tank, Rosas could reach Ben's goal numbers.
Sure. But in 2022 Ainsworth destroyed everyone for Goal Assists (25 GA out of 22 games), while also kicking just over a goal a game (25/22 goals).

50 goals through him. Hence I would say he is a reliable avenue to goal. We score more with Ainsworth in the team and he makes us better.

Our 2022 leading goal scorer in Chol had 44 goals and 7 goal assists out of 22 games. Only 1 more goal combined than Ainsworth!

Comparatively, Holman has 16/20 for goals and only 8/20 for assists. Rosas has 14/15 for goals and 7/14.

Ainsworth contributed more goals than both of them combined.

Now Holman excels in tackles so he has a clear role (but I would still like him to get to around 20+ goals). Rosas is still young, but he currently doesn’t beat players in my eyes in any useful stat—but he may with time.

Him and Jeffery are going for the one spot, I think.

Sure. But in 2022 Ainsworth destroyed everyone for Goal Assists (25 GA out of 22 games), while also kicking just over a goal a game (25/22 goals).

50 goals through him. Hence I would say he is a reliable avenue to goal. We score more with Ainsworth in the team and he makes us better.

Our 2022 leading goal scorer in Chol had 44 goals and 7 goal assists out of 22 games. Only 1 more goal combined than Ainsworth!

Comparatively, Holman has 16/20 for goals and only 8/20 for assists. Rosas has 14/15 for goals and 7/14.

Ainsworth contributed more goals than both of them combined.

Now Holman excels in tackles so he has a clear role (but I would still like him to get to around 20+ goals). Rosas is still young, but he currently doesn’t beat players in my eyes in any useful stat—but he may with time.

Him and Jeffery are going for the one spot, I think.
Yeah, including GA changes the story. Ainsworth had a great season, close to elite. His work rate and GA (even better than Rankine which surprised me) were fantastic. Set shots still need some work. Nobody is replacing Ben in the line-up :)

Can you give us more information, mate? I can't see Luko as a marking forward. Maybe a HFF.

No worries,

Drafted as a key forward in the Nick Riewoldt mould, back in 2019 we were getting smashed and the coaching staff felt he would be wasted up top so with his skill set he was floated at Half back and wing for the last few years until he's added more size.

Currently at 195cm/91kg (2022) he swapped to the forward line in the second half of last year, playing rather high up and delivering inside 50.

In an old interview he said he's looking forward to pairing up with Ben King, and as mates i'm sure they would of talked about that prospect.

I can see him being a marking centre half forward in the mould of Jeremy Cameron (196cm/94kg) or Harry Himmelberg (195cm/94kg) or Todd Marshall (198cm/92kg)

EDIT: Jeremy Cameron 29 (Superstar), Harry Himmelberg 26 (Sharpshooting Swingman), Todd Marshall 24 (Broke out this year, Leading Goalkicker)

haven’t looked competition wide, but at one point Ainsworth was top 20 in the league for goal assists, score involvements and tackles inside 50.

Not sure how many others would meet that criteria.

Think he just slipped outside top 20 in league for i50 tackles by the end of the year.i

Whilst averaging 16 possessions, almost 6 marks a game and kicking 25 goals for the year.

Fantastic year.

Reckon there’s another gear though. Particularly with scoring. In games we
won by 30 points or more (6 times) he kicked 8 goals. If he can cash-in and kick 2,3, 4 goals when we’re really on top of a match he’ll bet to 30+ goals and get some more national recognition.

No worries,

Drafted as a key forward in the Nick Riewoldt mould, back in 2019 we were getting smashed and the coaching staff felt he would be wasted up top so with his skill set he was floated at Half back and wing for the last few years until he's added more size.

Currently at 195cm/91kg (2022) he swapped to the forward line in the second half of last year, playing rather high up and delivering inside 50.

In an old interview he said he's looking forward to pairing up with Ben King, and as mates i'm sure they would of talked about that prospect.

I can see him being a marking centre half forward in the mould of Jeremy Cameron (196cm/94kg) or Harry Himmelberg (195cm/94kg) or Todd Marshall (198cm/92kg)

EDIT: Jeremy Cameron 29 (Superstar), Harry Himmelberg 26 (Sharpshooting Swingman), Todd Marshall 24 (Broke out this year, Leading Goalkicker)

Thanks, I appreciate the response. Were the recruiters trying to see a key marking forward in a tall, lean kid with elite kicking skills? At the time, I thought they were. His highlight reel would still have very few pack marks for his career. I think we are still reaching to think that he will be more than a flanker. But I’d love to be proven wrong this year.

Ainsworth is playing the high half forward/3rd winger role. His role is to create movement with the ball and get it inside 50. He isn't going to be a 40 goal a year player but he is going to have a big hand in a lot of our scoring opportunities. Had a fantastic season and should only continue to improve.

I agree with your comments on Ainworth’s role. Shouldn’t Lukosius play a similar role of the other flank to Ainsworth? In that role, he could excel and not get out marked by a key position defender.

I agree. Luko tank has been getting better too, helps a lot.

I don't think many third tall defenders will bully Lukosius in the role you think. Lukosius' role should be leading around the 50 and centrally for all his touches, and creating space behind him for the other two to work in.

Keeping him central will open up all 3 parts of the ground for his vision and skills.

Hollands would be perfect to what you're describing at 189cm strong overhead, pacey and skillful. He'll burn any defender in the coming years.

I think the coaching staff were effectively were doing that last year. High half forward. Working from half back to ~40m out. Aim to get and deliver the ball inside 50. The injury caused a bit of a speed bump mid year unfortunately.

Lukosius' capacity to get involved gets under recognised a little.

His last 6 games were pretty similar to Ainsworth's that we have been lauding.

Ainsworth a little more involved in in the forward 50 - probably due to his superior work rate
Still there is something to work with there.

per gameLukosiusAinsworth (whole season)
Possessions16.316.1
Contested possessions35%28%
Marks5.15.8
Contested marks0.30.2
marks inside 5011.7
scoring shots1.82.2
score involvements5.16.7
goal assists0.81.1
inside 50s3.83.6
tackles inside 500.71.3

A little bit more aggression and strength, and an uninterrupted season. I reckon we can see him hitting 18 touches, 6 marks, 1+ goals and a high number of score involvements a game. That's pretty good for a half forward.

I don't think many third tall defenders will bully Lukosius in the role you think. Lukosius' role should be leading around the 50 and centrally for all his touches, and creating space behind him for the other two to work in.

Keeping him central will open up all 3 parts of the ground for his vision and skills.

Hollands would be perfect to what you're describing at 189cm strong overhead, pacey and skillful. He'll burn any defender in the coming years.

All valid points.

I think the coaching staff were effectively were doing that last year. High half forward. Working from half back to ~40m out. Aim to get and deliver the ball inside 50. The injury caused a bit of a speed bump mid year unfortunately.

Lukosius' capacity to get involved gets under recognised a little.

His last 6 games were pretty similar to Ainsworth's that we have been lauding.

Ainsworth a little more involved in in the forward 50 - probably due to his superior work rate
Still there is something to work with there.

per gameLukosiusAinsworth (whole season)
Possessions16.316.1
Contested possessions35%28%
Marks5.15.8
Contested marks0.30.2
marks inside 5011.7
scoring shots1.82.2
score involvements5.16.7
goal assists0.81.1
inside 50s3.83.6
tackles inside 500.71.3

A little bit more aggression and strength, and an uninterrupted season. I reckon we can see him hitting 18 touches, 6 marks, 1+ goals and a high number of score involvements a game. That's pretty good for a half forward.

Agreed. If he can play the Ainsworth role in the corridor, we’d all be happy.

I have been trying to put Jack "in a box"(Thankyou I'm here all week,try the fish and tip the waitress)
I suspect we're trying for the Breust ,Isaac Smith Gary Rohan box
Gunston/Breust/Howe hybrid is where I sit with him. He's actually very hard to compare as he's highly unique. A blessing and a curse because we don't have a proper benchmark for him.

I don't see Lukousoius as a forward unfortunately. He is too soft and is a poor set shot kick for goal. His athletic profile, avoidance of body contact and nice field kicking, means a third tall defender role plays best to his strengths.

Yes, he's far from a high-pressure tackling forward, which would be ok if he could take a contested mark. But fortunately, he has considerable skills elsewhere.

If we play Casboult I truly think we should just leave him in the goal square to be that monster forward similar to what Barry Hall used to do. Casboult is close to the best mark in the game if we get it to him one on one in the goal square I’m backing him in 9 times out of 10. Casboult is also a 100kg+ beast not many could out muscle him in the goal square he’d just clunk them and slot them through.

Preview 2023 Best 22