Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Two different things though. If I was the bulldogs or Carlton would I trade Naughton or McKay? For Carlton absolutely, for the dogs I'd play him back first then consider trading him yep. Same way id listen to offers for Oliver. But absolutely none of them will happen. Clubs just roll along with the same players and never really aggressively fill gaps
Different things connected by the potential opportunity to turn one into another.

Strange you’d think trading Oliver is a consideration but Naughton is pie in the sky stuff.

Only way we would even think about trading Oliver is if we think his hamstring issue will restrict him moving forward, I would have thought.

Different things connected by the potential opportunity to turn one into another.

Strange you’d think trading Oliver is a consideration but Naughton is pie in the sky stuff.

Only way we would even think about trading Oliver is if we think his hamstring issue will restrict him moving forward, I would have thought.
Don't reckon you read what I said properly did ya mate.

Good to hear, late pick for McAdams also a win.

Disappointed our top priority is getting a 2nd rounder from Syd. Would’ve thought it would be to get in a Key Forward or an agile nimble mid who can hit a target. But nope, there you have it, our top priority is a 2nd rounder.

A round that starts at pick 27/28

Adelaide are kidding themselves.

I’m actually ok if we just go to the draft this year, if we get a 2nd for grundy we are almost certainly trying to upgrade picks this year as that’d mean we have 5 picks in the first two rounds. Maybe throw our 2024 F1 in there too.
Our list would look alot better in the future with 5 top 40 picks as well if the players are there

Amazing that people who laugh at a hypothetical Oliver deal think Naughton is a target to aim for lol. Both have the same chance of happening which is 0

Must say TK, I was quite pleased read some of your ‘trade Oliver’ postings while I was in the sin bin. It made me feel a bit better about my ‘bring back Benny Brown’ crusade a couple of months ago. Good to see no-one around here is immune from the odd howler. ☺️

I'll happily stick by it. There's a world where we can improve our best 22 by trading Oliver out. Inside midfield is the one position we could afford to give some to get

Like I said its a 0% chance of happening but I really don't think the concept is outrageous. We beat Collingwood and Brisbane without him. Imagine the same thing but we have 7-8 top 40 picks this year and 3 of them are top 10

I'll happily stick by it. There's a world where we can improve our best 22 by trading Oliver out. Inside midfield is the one position we could afford to give some to get

Like I said its a 0% chance of happening but I really don't think the concept is outrageous. We beat Collingwood and Brisbane without him. Imagine the same thing but we have 7-8 top 40 picks this year and 3 of them are top 10

I think we need to cut Clarry a bit of slack on his 2023. Missing 10 games like that leading into the finals, unlikely even prime Judd or Ablett Jr would’ve gotten back playing their best footy after a lay off that long. He put in the track work and started to find the pill by the Collingwood final but he couldn’t overcome the ring rust. Just wasn’t his or our year on this occasion.

Still on his way to becoming an all-time great Demon. Comfortably a top ten player in the club’s history and should remain a top ten player in the AFL for the next 2-3 seasons.

Two pointy end first round picks sounds good in theory but odds of both those picks beings stars aren’t as good as you might think. Plus we don’t have the luxury of waiting 3-4 years to find out the answer to that question.

It’s Clarry, Tracc, Jack and Gus or bust for our midfield. Yes it’s grunt heavy but if we can add a half decent key forward and a Kiddy Coleman type on a wing with our solid draft/trade hand we’ll romp home at least one more flag in the next 24 months. I’m close to certain of it. I’m much more bullish on our chances in ‘24 and ‘25 than I was this year.

I think we need to cut Clarry a bit of slack on his 2023. Missing 10 games like that leading into the finals, unlikely even prime Judd or Ablett Jr would’ve gotten back playing their best footy after a lay off that long. He put in the track work and started to find the pill by the Collingwood final but he couldn’t overcome the ring rust. Just wasn’t his or our year on this occasion.

Still on his way to becoming an all-time great Demon. Comfortably a top ten player in the club’s history and should remain a top ten player in the AFL for the next 2-3 seasons.

Two pointy end first round picks sounds good in theory but odds of both those picks beings stars aren’t as good as you might think. Plus we don’t have the luxury of waiting 3-4 years to find out the answer to that question.

It’s Clarry, Tracc, Jack and Gus or bust for our midfield. Yes it’s grunt heavy but if we can add a half decent key forward and a Kiddy Coleman type on a wing with our solid draft/trade hand we’ll romp home at least one more flag in the next 24 months. I’m close to certain of it. I’m much more bullish on our chances in ‘24 and ‘25 than I was this year.
Yeah but the point being if you get two top 10 picks for Claz, you can on trade for say Ben King, afford his salary easily and still have a top 10 and top 15 pick up use at the the draft. We could add a key forward, a gun mid and trade for an outside winger all in one trade/draft

An Oliver trade is the quickest way to fix the club. Its fairly simple: weaken a strength (got enough on our list as it stands but if we wanted to add another inside ball winner they are easy to find and inexpensive) and strengthen one or more weaknesses (class/quality ball users, KPF, KPD, draft flexibility, salary cap relief)

Or just go into next year with 1 key forward, 1 key back 0 depth and 40 inside mids none who can kick and just wait for expected scores to kick in

I know they didn't want to lose him at the time but Cats losing Tim Kelly didn't hurt them at all.

I just can't fathom the idea of trading Oliver. I want to have a crack at a gun KPF but think we have enough currency with draft picks (this year and next) and enough cap room to do this without giving up arguably our 2nd or 3rd best player.

I know they didn't want to lose him at the time but Cats losing Tim Kelly didn't hurt them at all.
Geelong lost Gablett won the flag 2 years later, Hawks lost Buddy then won the flag, Crows lost Danger and made the GF year after.

Single players are super overrated in the AFL people act like it's basketball

Inside mids are piss easy to find, likely the easiest position to find guns...always has been. Plenty of guys no one thought much of who became guns in the AFL. See, Brett Kirk, Sam Mitchell, Matt Priddis etc , more recently Lachie Neale, Jai Newcombe etc

Yeah and spreading the load a bit, bringing other guys into the game like Sparrow and Viney makes you harder to play against than an over-reliance on a player like Oliver who can't handle a tag at all.

It would very much depend on what we could get for him but if trading Oliver got us something like Ben King and a late first or a top 5 and 5-10 pick I wouldn't be upset.

Yeah and spreading the load a bit, bringing other guys into the game like Sparrow and Viney makes you harder to play against than an over-reliance on a player like Oliver who can't handle a tag at all.

It would very much depend on what we could get for him but if trading Oliver got us something like Ben King and a late first or a top 5 and 5-10 pick I wouldn't be upset.
An Oliver would be a great player for another team, but we'd have a better 22 for a premiership shot next year.

Would be perfect for a team like Adelaide.

The idea of trading Oliver is baffling. He's going to go down as one of the greatest dees players of all time, if not the best and we're trading him why? because he has currency?

You don't trade your best player, that's not how to make your team better. Also, what's with the talk of Sanders? He's a pure accumulator, he lacks hurt factor, he's a poor handballer that puts his team-mates under pressure and he lacks footy IQ. It's a strong no from me.

So we're trading Oliver for Ben King now apparently... Yikes.

It's interesting watching the evolution on footy boards of opinions. They go from 'Oliver is not a good kick, but still a gun' to 'Oliver gets big numbers but doesn't do damage' to 'Oliver isn't that good anyway' to 'We're better without Oliver' to 'Trade Oliver for Ben King' as posters dig in and double down on their opinions.

Then the mental gymnastics kicks in with 'one player doesn't make a team' (intriguing given the trade suggestion is trading him for one player), 'we have inside mid depth anyway' from the same posters who bag out Trac, Viney, Sparrow, Jordon (leaving) and Harmes (leaving), and then the pearler 'we won games without him' as if we haven't won games previously without any of our other gun players.

It's jump the shark territory now.