Analysis 2023 Draft Watch

Sounds like Gothard and/or Sanchez, but I’m only going off summaries, not my actual evaluations.

Agree, a Zac Bailey type is exactly what we need.
I think the intangible aspect here (leadership, resilience, footy smarts, work ethic and selflessness) is equally important. Plenty of guys no doubt with those set of skills (or most) but the ones that pop are the ones with the above being equally prominent.

If we can keep him on the park, it's probably Fantasia. He'll be ready to slot straight in, he's got a bit of zip about him, can kick a goal on the run from 50m or with a snap or dribble from the contest. Not sure he's as good overhead as Bailey is, but you can't win them all.

If we're wanting to draft a player like that then it's almost certainly Sanchez. On exposed form, he's shown a greater capacity to push up the ground and win more of the ball.

Not exact likenesses, but if we're using the Brisbane smalls as a yardstick I'd compare Collard to Cameron, Sanchez to Bailey and Gothard to McCarthy. Collard is your electric, turn the game on it's head in a 15 minute patch small forward. Sanchez is a versatile forward/mid who ideally plays as a high forward and connects both lines. Gothard is predominantly a forward pocket with a few tricks, and while he'll bob up with an exhilarating piece of play here and there, he'll then disappear for a while.

Alternative options would be Moir as the Lincoln McCarthy type, but his drop in form from 2022 to 2023 is worrying, and DeLean as a forward pocket scoring option who has excelled at junior level but lacks the speed of the earlier candidates, raising some questions over how transferrable that form is to senior footy.
Thanks for the detailed response, BB. For the draft ignorant like myself (this year have been totally in the dark), this is great insight.

Good package, combining two years of championship highlights. Anyone else see a small resemblance to Greene?

I see it.

We should recruit him and another small forward.

We could end up with Collard Greene :p

If we stick to the 25-30 range with our two picks, I'd like to see us target the closest equivalent to Zac Bailey. Smaller, fast mid with good production, motor and goal nous. Is there one of these in the second round calcs?

Cooper Simpson from Sandringham could be, little taller than Bailey but longer kicking on both feet, able to roost a goal from 55m off a step.... his highlights had a little Judd vibe about them too...
He’s from Stingrays and he’s a big mid. I’ve been touting him for ages and have seen him play. He’s not as nimble and evasive as a Bailey but he’s certainly a talent.

Think we are pretty solid across the ground with our current list so no need to draft for needs just best at the picks we have.

Would like us to take 2 of Gothard, C Edwards or Reid. Build these kids up and see what happens in the next few years. Depth is extremely important as is continuously building for our future.

What's the knock on him? He can't be in our range if he's that good!

From memory was highly rated last season but didn't play much due to injury this season.
There got to be more than that, otherwise he would be in RD1 discussion despite his limited games this season

Nah I'm no expert mate i just read a story on him a while back that said last season he was rated as a future first round pick but didn't play much this season, the article also said that the Stingrays really rate him.

Been spruiking Tholstrup for a while, and he does look like an early 20's pick. But I like the look of him as a defender who eventually migrates to the midfield when the likes of Crippa, Bam and George move on, think one B Rattan. He does have a Brown Dawg about him..
Reckon Moir could be the next pick or Reid for that matter.

Would we throw out next year's first pick and '22' to get us into the top ten on the night??

Just listened to Cal and Riley's pod. Cal made mention towards the end which players the clubs around 5 to 12 might be interested in. Geelong he mentioned O'Sullivan and Caddy. So if those guys plus Sanders are our trade up candidates it seems very very unlikely to work out for us.

Some talk here about C.Edwards recently, and my feel is that he might be there at our picks, but more importantly Cal gave him a mention as having some interest around mid/late teens. So 3 of the faves around here, Collard, Edwards and Tholstrup sound more likely than not to be gone before us. I do recall Austin saying after the Fisher trade that they think the guys we have in mind will be around for those picks, so maybe a few off broadway(non phantom) types. With Collard and Tholstrup at least we are one pick before WC though, with Freo further back still.

My Open Draft Top 10 gut feel read at this stage:

1. WC Harley
2. NM McKercher
3. NM Duursma
4. Haw Watson
5. WB Sanders
6. Mel Curtin
7. GWS Windsor
8. Gee Caddy
9. * Leake
10. Ade O'Sullivan

Just listened to Cal and Riley's pod. Cal made mention towards the end which players the clubs around 5 to 12 might be interested in. Geelong he mentioned O'Sullivan and Caddy. So if those guys plus Sanders are our trade up candidates it seems very very unlikely to work out for us.

Some talk here about C.Edwards recently, and my feel is that he might be there at our picks, but more importantly Cal gave him a mention as having some interest around mid/late teens. So 3 of the faves around here, Collard, Edwards and Tholstrup sound more likely than not to be gone before us. I do recall Austin saying after the Fisher trade that they think the guys we have in mind will be around for those picks, so maybe a few off broadway(non phantom) types. With Collard and Tholstrup at least we are one pick before WC though, with Freo further back still.

My Open Draft Top 10 gut feel read at this stage:

1. WC Harley
2. NM McKercher
3. NM Duursma
4. Haw Watson
5. WB Sanders
6. Mel Curtin
7. GWS Windsor
8. Gee Caddy
9. * Leake
10. Ade O'Sullivan

Seems that MFC are looking closely at Leake & Windsor, and GWS are on Leake too.

RMC's draft guide has dropped. Impressive work.

100+ pages of draftee goodness!

59Mb, so won't attach here. But can download from here:

100% worth giving them your email address for.

100+ pages of draftee goodness!

59Mb, so won't attach here.

But can download from here:

100% worth giving them your email address for.
See what you can do when you apply yourself Ferris. Sound familiar???? Mrs Maggilacutty from Grade 3.

Arr0w - I see Cal Twomey has Ollie Murphy at Pick 20 now. Do you think he'll slide back to 22?
Wondering what teams are in dire need of Tall defenders in the next few years? Maybe West Coast.

Call it the Todd Marshall effect. Murphy will take 4-5 years to develop into a KPD, but could player earlier as a 3rd tall until he builds a body

Many clubs are impatient and prefer to bring in a cheaper robust 2nd string option

Can't see him sliding outside the top 20, North would be mad not to call out his name back end of the 1st round and let him develop while they are fixated with hybrid undersized talls such as Corr, Pink and Logue

Analysis 2023 Draft Watch