Fixture 2023 Fixture

Round 1 - North Melbourne vs West Coast Eagles - Saturday, March 18 - 1:45PM - Marvel Stadium - FOX
Round 2 - Fremantle vs North Melbourne - Saturday, March 25 - 4:30PM - Optus Stadium - FOX
Round 3 - Hawthorn vs North Melbourne - Saturday, April 1 - 1:45PM - UTAS Stadium - FOX
Round 4 - North Melbourne vs Carlton - Friday, April 7 - 4:20PM - Marvel Stadium - Seven
Round 5 - Brisbane Lions vs North Melbourne - Saturday, April 15 - 12:40PM - Adelaide Hills - FOX
Round 6 - Gold Coast Suns vs North Melbourne - Sunday, April 23 - 4:40PM - Metricon - FOX
Round 7 - Melbourne vs North Melbourne - Saturday, April 29 - 7:25PM - MCG - Seven
Round 8 - North Melbourne vs St Kilda - Sunday, May 7 - 4:40PM - Marvel Stadium - FOX
Round 9 - North Melbourne vs Port Adelaide - Saturday, May 13 - 2:10PM - Blundstone Arena - FOX
Round 10 - North Melbourne vs Sydney Swans - Saturday, May 20 - 1:45PM - Marvel Stadium - FOX
Round 11 - Collingwood vs North Melbourne - Sunday, May 28 - 3:20PM - Marvel Stadium - Seven
Round 12 - Essendon vs North Melbourne - Sunday, June 4 - 4:40PM - Marvel Stadium - FOX
Round 13 - North Melbourne vs GWS Giants - Sunday, June 11 - 3:20PM - Blundstone Arena - FOX
Round 14 - North Melbourne vs Western Bulldogs - Sunday, June 18 - 4:40PM - Marvel Stadium - FOX
Round 15 - BYE
Round 16 - Adelaide Crows vs North Melbourne - TBC - Adelaide Oval
Round 17 - Geelong Cats vs North Melbourne - TBC - GMHBA Stadium
Round 18 - North Melbourne vs Hawthorn - TBC - Marvel Stadium
Round 19 - St Kilda vs North Melbourne - TBC - Marvel Stadium
Round 20 - West Coast Eagles vs North Melbourne - TBC - Optus Stadium
Round 21 - North Melbourne vs Melbourne - TBC - Blundstone Arena
Round 22 - North Melbourne vs Essendon - TBC - Marvel Stadium
Round 23 - Richmond vs North Melbourne - TBC - MCG
Round 24 - North Melbourne vs Gold Coast Suns - TBC - Blundstone Arena

harry potter GIF by mtv

Since Port already have Brissie round one, I’m hoping they have Geelong or Melbourne round two, then I hope they play us round 3.
l can see us playing Port at Tassie or at port because the Afl wont want to upset sooky boy and his family..

AFL Magic the Gather round? What a joke.
Yep. They've just butchered the whole idea. Which in my mind was great.

I love the nrl magic round.

Firstly I can’t believe we still have Good Friday Football.
Now with that I hope North and Carlton get together and make it as big as Anzac Day and the Grand Final .
Here is a thing this club should do with Carlton is as Follows play the VFL at 12pm then thru out the VFL game get the people to come to the ground early to give the up and coming players a feel on what it is like to play in front of a big crowd.
Then after the VFL has finished around 3pm have fundraising activities EG:Have people from the RCH going around with coin cans to get donated $$$ plus with the help of both Cheer Squads have them walking around the ground with a big blanket to catch the $$$ that people can throw in like the old days.
With Entertainment get a performer of some note to sing a few songs including the National Anthem which should be compulsory if your a real Australian.
Then start the game at 4pm
Then after the game have a ceremony for a player award and announce how much $$$ raised.
Just an idea that could work and it would be better then a football getting sent up into the sky to catch from a bowling machine or a T Shirt shot out of a gun into the crowd.

Firstly I can’t believe we still have Good Friday Football.
Now with that I hope North and Carlton get together and make it as big as Anzac Day and the Grand Final .
Here is a thing this club should do with Carlton is as Follows play the VFL at 12pm then thru out the VFL game get the people to come to the ground early to give the up and coming players a feel on what it is like to play in front of a big crowd.
Then after the VFL has finished around 3pm have fundraising activities EG:Have people from the RCH going around with coin cans to get donated $$$ plus with the help of both Cheer Squads have them walking around the ground with a big blanket to catch the $$$ that people can throw in like the old days.
With Entertainment get a performer of some note to sing a few songs including the National Anthem which should be compulsory if your a real Australian.
Then start the game at 4pm
Then after the game have a ceremony for a player award and announce how much $$$ raised.
Just an idea that could work and it would be better then a football getting sent up into the sky to catch from a bowling machine or a T Shirt shot out of a gun into the crowd.

Part of the problem is Docklands as a venue.

Is there another blockbuster currently at Docklands?

Don't get me wrong, I actually like Docklands. It's getting redone now, has superb viewing in almost all seats, the roof and is accessible to all parts the city by public transport.

It however doesn't have the same vibe as the MCG for big games.

ANZAC Day
Pre-Anzac Day
Opening Night Rnd 1
Dreamtime
Big Freeze - Easter Monday

All of them are at the MCG.

I feel like we are on a hiding to nothing being the only one having to try to replicate the buzz of those games at Docklands.

Don't get me wrong, I actually like Docklands. It's getting redone now, has superb viewing in almost all seats, the roof and is accessible to all parts the city by public transport.

ANZAC Day
Pre-Anzac Day
Opening Night Rnd 1
Dreamtime

I feel like we are on a hiding to nothing being the only one having to try to replicate the buzz of those games at Docklands.
Agree - love watching footy at Marvel but the stadium has no soul compared to the G. Challenge is how do we crank that up? What can they do to get that buzz? Interesting marketing challenge.

ANZAC Day
Pre-Anzac Day
Opening Night Rnd 1
Dreamtime

I understand your feelings about this but it’s time North leads the way we have turned wheel in recent time to go up with a female Chairwomen and CEO got a top notch coach and experienced staff surely we can achieve this by making it work.

I understand.

But everyone of those blockbuster games has 1 main thing in common which pump attendances.

They have neutrals go to these games for the occasion.

The main factor of why this occurs? The MCC.

1. Neutrals don't like attending Docklands, a lot of MCG tenanted club supporters don't even like going there when their team plays there. They certainly don't go there on a whim to see a North game, no matter if it's GF. It's not in a suburban area either, as much as the state government thinks Docklands is.

2. You don't get the MCC walk in's at Docklands, which add 10-20k to most of those big game attendances. Some MCC members just like going to the footy and attend 1 or 2 games a weekend, you don't get that at Docklands.

3. You don't get South Yarra/Richmond residential walk ins either, which are more prominent than you think for Uni Students and young renters without kids in the area etc. Tourists rolling in from the city go to a game at the MCG as per most tourist guides of the city as one thing to make sure you do, not Docklands.

We are on a hiding to nothing at the moment trying to make this work at Docklands. You don't get the comparative crowds and you don't get the same atmosphere.

When you couple that with our traditionally low supporter base and onfield strenght at the moment, it's doomed to fail.

The only way it works at Docklands is if we become a finalist and it's regularly against another finalist. North vs Carlton might work in the future, but for that reason only. As soon as either side drop off on field, it will begin to fail, as the entire occasion is contingent on each supporter base (i.e no different to any other H&A game)

I guarantee you, if this game is stripped off North and given to someone else, the first thing that will happen is it's moved to the MCG and will have instant success.

It will then be re-written as North cocking up the game.

We need/should be applying to have it moved to the MCG vs Carlton.

That will definitely work there vs Carlton for a huge number of reasons, not entirely based on North supporters attending in large %'s like is required at Docklands.

I guarantee you we would get 60k+ on GF at the MCG vs Carlton. The fact North and Carlton only plays a few games per year there, only incentivizes each supporter base to attend.

Fixture 2023 Fixture