Game Day 2023 Grand Final: Lions v Pies ! (Port hummin still an option in here )

At the ground, Giants looked fresher in the last quarter - I thought with the week off once Pies got ahead in the fourth quarter they would run away with it, but the Giants were running and connecting better. Seemed like they were using extras to win and clear the ball but then Collingwood had their defence including Cameron back ready to intercept so couldn’t get to the goal - and the time they did get through, Sidebottom absolutely saved it with the mark on the goal line (or Greene stuffed it by going for the magic goal instead of finding a teammate, although I can’t remember what options he had).

I was with Collingwood supporters and surrounded by them so it was hard to look the umpiring objectively but I felt in the last part of the game especially they just let a lot go - too much in my view, if there’s a trip or a head high or a pretty clear deliberate OOB you should pay them in the last quarter the way you did in the first.

The crowd was probably a factor in GWS’ nervous start, but not after that. Maybe it affected the umpires early, as those advantage calls and non-calls were pretty bad, although later I found the sudden temporary enthusiasm for paying insufficient intent perplexing.
Ok that's interestng, just more going by the looks on the Giants faces at the breaks in play, they looked tired but they never gave up running.

And those boundary umps should be looked at too. The bounced out of bounds at the interchange gates.
Then they took it back for a ball up. Don't know what that was all about.

Why do umpires “put the whistle away” WTF was that? Seriously? Collingwood ******* dived in the footy with no effort to get the ball out for the last minute of the game? High tackles? Nuh? Ok?

If you ever read what this bloke tweets you will immediately understand why the game is in ruins. He is probably being honest when he says that the umpires are officiating to the current "interpretations" but in my opinion that is exactly what is wrong with the game today.

Among countless non decisions in the last I still can’t get my head around Tom Green getting legged and it just getting ignored. There’s really no justifying that.

Ben Jacobs agrees!

If you ever read what this bloke tweets you will immediately understand why the game is in ruins. He is probably being honest when he says that the umpires are officiating to the current "interpretations" but in my opinion that is exactly what is wrong with the game today.

Ive read a lot of his tweets in the past. Usually passes comment on “big club” decisions, rarely has made any comment on the woeful umpiring during our games.

The umpires absolutely put the whistle away in the last 10 minutes, it was pre meditated. I still dont know why games of this nature (pre lims) are umpired differently to regular season games.

Ive read a lot of his tweets in the past. Usually passes comment on “big club” decisions, rarely has made any comment on the woeful umpiring during our games.

The umpires absolutely put the whistle away in the last 10 minutes, it was pre meditated. I still dont know why games of this nature (pre lims) are umpired differently to regular season games.
So often TV commentators praise umpires for putting the whistle away late in the game and especially in finals, but for crying out loud, a free kick is a free kick no matter which teams are playing, no matter whether it's round one or the grand final, no matter whether it occurs at the opening bounce, in the last 30 seconds, the scores nor the players involved should have any impact and neither should the crowd. If an umpire chooses to make a different decision based on any circumstances other than what he or she saw with their own eyes then they have made an error of judgement at best or they have made a corrupt decision.

The rules don't change during games.

So often TV commentators praise umpires for putting the whistle away late in the game and especially in finals, but for crying out loud, a free kick is a free kick no matter which teams are playing, no matter whether it's round one or the grand final, no matter whether it occurs at the opening bounce, in the last 30 seconds, the scores nor the players involved should have any impact and neither should the crowd. If an umpire chooses to make a different decision based on any circumstances other than what he or she saw with their own eyes then they have made an error of judgement at best or they have made a corrupt decision.

Couldn’t agree more. It was a completely different game

Any suggestions for somewhere near the Gabba to grab a pregame beer?

I was down at Southbank this morning and there are plenty of Carlton supporters in town. As a neutral attending the game, I'd usually like to see a close contest. However, on this occasion I'd be more than happy to sit through four quarters of Brissie slapping the absolute p*ss out of the Cheats.

I was down at Southbank this morning and there are plenty of Carlton supporters in town. As a neutral attending the game, I'd usually like to see a close contest. However, on this occasion I'd bes more than happy to sit through four quarters of Brissie slapping the absolute p*ss out of the Cheats.

My Brissie mate Helen staying with me next week if they win. I'll ask 👍

I was down at Southbank this morning and there are plenty of Carlton supporters in town. As a neutral attending the game, I'd usually like to see a close contest. However, on this occasion I'd be more than happy to sit through four quarters of Brissie slapping the absolute p*ss out of the Cheats.

Guests and hosts always wait outside first when traveling interstate

My Brissie mate Helen staying with me next week if they win. I'll ask 👍

Happy Birthday Helen!

Pineapple Hotel Kangaroo Point

Her brother & a North supporting mate at the German club now !

Raus, Raus !

Nah Brisbane have a fair supporter base. Surely its 60/40 Brisbane
Not on the side of the ground that I walked along. Could be the visitors side. However, when the Lions fans I was talking to were surprised just how many Carlton are here.

Anyway, nice arvo for some beers and footy.

PXL_20230923_055454840.MP.jpg

It’s purely so there is no discourse around ‘the umpires impacting the result’.

If they don’t make a decision, they can’t be criticised for making a decision.

They should be able to pick me, in the only one in a North cap.

Crowd at least 60/40 Carlton.
You might see my Joey at the ground because he is also wearing North gear. Umpiring Auskick at halftime and just dropped them off at the little g. Carlton fans loudly singing their turgid song. Much preferred their long stretch of mediocrity.

If it was BT commentary we would not only see you in the crowd but you would be interviewed at 3q time