MRP / Trib. 2023 MRP Lotto

No one remonstrated because it was a legitimate effort to tackle that had accidental consequences.

I don't even like Grundy, but I don't think he deserves to be suspended due to an accident.

I'm guessing people won't be happy until we suspend players left right and centre for accidents?

I know I would be disappointed if a North player was suspended if the shoe was on the other foot?

Give it a miss. After the Waite, McCarthy and Dangerfield decisions he goes. Not even worth discussing.

The force can't be medium. Has to be high. He was knocked clean out and taken to hospital.

While I don't agree with suspending him for the action, if they are grading it correctly it can't be anything other than high/severe (whatever they call it?)
Yeah without knowing what's usually in the medical reports for these things and without knowing how BBB is going to be by Monday my guess is it should be high impact. What does the MRP have to roll on a D20 to get the same answer?

Given this year's suspensions for similar tackles this one is so clear cut it should be in next year's DVD as the NOT OK example. Pinned both arms and drove him into the ground after he knew the ball was gone.

I'm from the decade where people were judged by their actions and not by the consequences of any action.

Anyone that gets on their high horse in regards to that tackle hasn't probably played the game.

I just wish our players tackled with that aggression more often. Next we will be asking players to lay a bed of pillows down before they execute a tackle.

I'm clearly in the minority here, but accidents happen, it's a part of life and a part of footy. I would rather the game focus on snipers hitting blokes off the ball than football actions with a poor outcome.

Wat decade was that?

I'm from the decade where people were judged by their actions and not by the consequences of any action.

Anyone that gets on their high horse in regards to that tackle hasn't probably played the game.

I just wish our players tackled with that aggression more often. Next we will be asking players to lay a bed of pillows down before they execute a tackle.

I'm clearly in the minority here, but accidents happen, it's a part of life and a part of footy. I would rather the game focus on snipers hitting blokes off the ball than football actions with a poor outcome.
Agreed.

However precedent has been set. A bloke will miss winning a Brownlow because of one last week.

Grundy gets 3-4 weeks for that one.

It's shit, but the AFL have backed themselves into a corner with this one.

This line 'that this is how we Coach them" is bullshit as well.

The suspensions are there now.

Wake the **** up and start drilling them a new technique.

Yes and there's nobody in the media who says "maybe you should coach them differently".

The Afl hasnt backed itself anywhere.

If we want the game to prosper in a competitive attention seeking market you cant justify having players tackle where heads are smashed into the turf without the ability to brace. Concussions and repeated ones are dire...ask Leigh Adams how he feels about his career ending early.

Change the technique to suit the rules or get suspended.

Two actions. Simple. His gone.

And to listen to that flog Shaun on SEN before ramble on and on and on and on and on made me want to punch a wall.

For the sanity of the game, the AFL has to start seeing these incidents for what they are accidents.

It's a contact sport, unless Grundy spears him to the ground then I see no issue with his tackle.

Just an unfortunate accident.
I get what you're saying, but with more studies in recent years finding increased correlation between concussions playing sport and serious brain issues later in life the AFL simply can't afford to go down any other path. They have to do everything they can, short of banning tackling of course, to stamp these kind of things out.

I'm sure there are other more familiar with American sport than me that can provide more details, but we've already seen professional players over there who suffered multiple serious concussions experience things like CTE, significant memory impairment, and other brain issues post playing career and then go on to sue (I think?) the NFL for failing to provide them with appropriate duty of care and all that.

It's only a matter of time until we see things like the link below happen in the AFL, and I don't blame them for trying to protect themselves:

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap10...-agree-to-765m-settlement-in-concussions-suit

Agreed.

However precedent has been set. A bloke will miss winning a Brownlow because of one last week.

Grundy gets 3-4 weeks for that one.

It's shit, but the AFL have backed themselves into a corner with this one.

The match report I just read said Cunnington is looking at a week.
No mention of possible grundy sanction ...

The match report I just read said Cunnington is looking at a week.
No mention of possible grundy sanction ...

Nathan Burke said last week every game is viewed by the MRP panel before Monday.

They then turn up andcwatch every incident from every angle 20x times and make their decision.

Jz B10 and Grundy all will be looked at...no doubt here.

Just wanted to come over and wish Ben Brown a speedy recovery, was a terrible thing to see happen.

Grundy clearly a few sandwiches short of a picnic after the Dangerfield decision last week, when are players going to learn you cant pin a players arms and drive them head first into the ground. So sick of people saying its the "perfect tackle" and thats "what they were taught"... bullshit... I played a lot of footy growing up and at no time was I taught to leave a player defenceless and drive a vulnerable person head first into the ground. Throw the book at Grundy... 4 down to 3 it should be.

Quote from Figjam:

Pies coach Buckley said after the game that Grundy had laid the "perfect tackle".

"It was a pretty good tackle rewarded with a holding the ball. Clearly when you're tackling someone from behind with momentum, there's going to be a little bit of carry on," Buckley said.

"It's pretty hard to put yourself in reverse when you've got no friction to do it.

"It was a perfect tackle. I don't think there was any malice in the tackle. He was tackling to dispossess, tackling to get a free kick. The way the rules are written."

That momentum business is BS. He already arrested Brownies forward momentum. It was a seperate action

Quote from Figjam:

Pies coach Buckley said after the game that Grundy had laid the "perfect tackle".

"It was a pretty good tackle rewarded with a holding the ball. Clearly when you're tackling someone from behind with momentum, there's going to be a little bit of carry on," Buckley said.

"It's pretty hard to put yourself in reverse when you've got no friction to do it.

"It was a perfect tackle. I don't think there was any malice in the tackle. He was tackling to dispossess, tackling to get a free kick. The way the rules are written."

That momentum business is BS. He already arrested Brownies forward momentum. It was a seperate action

Im absolutely incensed that Buckley is saying it was the "perfect tackle"... Just piss off already. not so much "perfect" its more "idiotic and careless".

Grundy clearly a few fries short of a happy meal, didn't happen to come out from under that rock he lives under during the week see what happened to Dangerfield? Guys a complete and utter moron.

Im absolutely incensed that Buckley is saying it was the "perfect tackle"... Just piss off already. not so much "perfect" its more "idiotic and careless".

Grundy clearly a few fries short of a happy meal, didn't happen to come out from under that rock he lives under during the week see what happened to Dangerfield? Guys a complete and utter moron.

But hes a good bloke but..but.

Eddie will write a character ref.

Just wanted to come over and wish Ben Brown a speedy recovery, was a terrible thing to see happen.

Grundy clearly a few sandwiches short of a picnic after the Dangerfield decision last week, when are players going to learn you cant pin a players arms and drive them head first into the ground. So sick of people saying its the "perfect tackle" and thats "what they were taught"... bullshit... I played a lot of footy growing up and at no time was I taught to leave a player defenceless and drive a vulnerable person head first into the ground. Throw the book at Grundy... 4 down to 3 it should be.[/QUOT

Grundy clearly a few sandwiches short of a picnic after the Dangerfield decision last week, when are players going to learn you cant pin a players arms and drive them head first into the ground. So sick of people saying its the "perfect tackle" and thats "what they were taught"... bullshit... I played a lot of footy growing up and at no time was I taught to leave a player defenceless and drive a vulnerable person head first into the ground. Throw the book at Grundy... 4 down to 3 it should be.

Thanks mate :thumbsu:

Thanks mate:thumbsu:

Regarding Cunnington, I suspect that he will go. If he does, I find it absolutely ludicrous that you can be going for the ball, have a player backing up on you, and you're just expected to let their skull barrel into your ribs without protecting yourself.

Of course he goes. But it doesn't mean I have to agree with it.

I didn't agree with the Waite and Dangerfield decisions either.
Sums it up. Crap rule that will cost a player a brownlow. But by the rule he goes. Mind you, he got a free kick for the tackle FFS.

Regarding Cunnington, I suspect that he will go. If he does, I find it absolutely ludicrous that you can be going for the ball, have a player backing up on you, and you're just expected to let their skull barrel into your ribs without protecting yourself.

If Cunnington goes for that the game has to stop being called a contact sport. It wasn't even a bump. The other bloke ran into him ffs.