Preview 2023 National Draft Preview Thread [currently: #2, #14 (PA), #19 (PP) #40, #52, #60]

You know there’s a possibility that McKercher and or Sanders might not want to move to Hobart at 23 years of age right?

Most Tassie fans are thinking it’s a foregone conclusion that they are just going to automatically move back.

There’s a lot more factors at play than just the team performance.

What if they meet a girl who doesn’t want to live in Tasmania?

Everything I’ve heard from McKercher he can’t wait to get out of there. Most people had Sanders as the one pegged as unlikely to come back given his time in Melbourne already, but I think it’s McKercher that will be the hardest one to get back.

If Sanders AND McKercher are at the same club, that poses a real problem for the Tassie side. As I think there will be limits on how many players they can take from the same team.
In addition, if history is anything to go by, inaugral teams struggle for success for a long time. Would you want to go through a rebuild and leave for a new one just when the rewards are hopefuly coming?

This might be a big call, but I think it's possible come draft night that West Coke could take McKercher at pick 1.

I think he'll test really well at the combine whilst at the same time Reid's lack of tank and possibly kicking accuracy will be exposed. The drums will start beating as they all do around that time. The No1 pick will become less clear and McKercher is far less of a flight risk than Reid.

This might be a big call, but I think it's possible come draft night that West Coke could take McKercher at pick 1.

I think he'll test really well at the combine whilst at the same time Reid's lack of tank and possibly kicking accuracy will be exposed. The drums will start beating as they all do around that time. The No1 pick will become less clear and McKercher is far less of a flight risk than Reid.

IIRC he's injured so won't be at the combine.

Joel Freijah 14/11/05 - GWV Rebels - 191cm - Midfielder/Wing - Tall, goal kicking midfielder, who offers a real point of difference with his height, power and running capacity. For the most part of this year Freijah has been stationed on a wing where he uses his running capacity and turn of speed to impact the play, especially forward of centre. Freijah is one of the cleanest players in this years draft, he rarely fumbles and is very clean below his knees. His kicking can be a little inconsistent but he is very capable of making low % risky kicks. Freijah links up well around the ground, and he loves to use his speed and long kicking to break the game open. While he hasn't spent a heap of time in the centre square, when he has had that opportunity he has had no issue finding the footy using his strength and body size to win clearances. At this stage he seems more at home on the outside but there is no doubt there is plenty of development to come with his inside game. At the championships he didn't have much of an impact, but he has been ultra consistent at NAB league level averaging 20 disposals, 4 marks and 2.5 tackles, as well as kicking 13 goals in 14 games. Considering his athletic traits and scope for improvement I think he'll be taken somewhere within the 12-20 range. Beyond that range he is going to offer incredible value.

He'd actually be a perfect Shuey replacement.

Joel Freijah 14/11/05 - GWV Rebels - 191cm - Midfielder/Wing - Tall, goal kicking midfielder, who offers a real point of difference with his height, power and running capacity. For the most part of this year Freijah has been stationed on a wing where he uses his running capacity and turn of speed to impact the play, especially forward of centre. Freijah is one of the cleanest players in this years draft, he rarely fumbles and is very clean below his knees. His kicking can be a little inconsistent but he is very capable of making low % risky kicks. Freijah links up well around the ground, and he loves to use his speed and long kicking to break the game open. While he hasn't spent a heap of time in the centre square, when he has had that opportunity he has had no issue finding the footy using his strength and body size to win clearances. At this stage he seems more at home on the outside but there is no doubt there is plenty of development to come with his inside game. At the championships he didn't have much of an impact, but he has been ultra consistent at NAB league level averaging 20 disposals, 4 marks and 2.5 tackles, as well as kicking 13 goals in 14 games. Considering his athletic traits and scope for improvement I think he'll be taken somewhere within the 12-20 range. Beyond that range he is going to offer incredible value.

Like this kid - hopefully he’s there in the 20s and we trade a future 2nd for him.

I reckon WCE would want McKercher and Curtin and we would want Reid and McKercher.
You’d think we’d l be trying to work together to get gold coasts pick in the mix

You know there’s a possibility that McKercher and or Sanders might not want to move to Hobart at 23 years of age right?

Most Tassie fans are thinking it’s a foregone conclusion that they are just going to automatically move back.
Did you just not read what I wrote before typing all that? :confusedv1: "if things are going well where they are they are likely to stay too"

All I am saying is you can't read anything into their answer to that question. There is only one way to answer it regardless of how you feel if you want to be drafted and that is something like "I've always been prepared to live in interstate... blah blah"

Their is a go home risk with any interstate pick like JHF. I think the risk is a bit higher with Tassie players in the inaugural year. Tas will be coming hard for them, the AFL may make it easier for them to move, and it will be exciting to be a founding player. But I think we will be very lucky to get 1 in 3 AFL listed Tassie players back home.

I wonder if the lure of returning home to play with a start up franchise is as appealing to the players as it is the supporters? Particularly if the player is at a club going well.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

I wonder if the lure of returning home to play with a start up franchise is as appealing to the players as it is the supporters? Particularly if the player is at a club going well.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Every player is different and will have different levels of attachment to Tasmania. But the state pride here is strong. "The Map" is iconic, We had like 8k people at the TSL vs QAFL state rep game a few months ago and the win was celebrated like a grand final by the players, most said it's their career highlight. This will be even stronger representing Tassie at the highest level. It will be appealing to most, but I doubt a loyal Tasmanian who is a first team player in a GF contender would go back. But it's risky stocking up on Tasmanians right now.

It would be the career highlight of a TSL player, no doubt.

I’d expect money would be the main factor in getting them back to where they were born.

It would be the career highlight of a TSL player, no doubt.
You would think being drafted or winning a club gf would be higher for most players around Australia than winning a rep game in front of 50 people that you would be lucky to get at SANFL v WAFL

I think we can kiss Sanders goodbye unfortunately.

If we have to match a bid i can see a club going really early on a bid out of spite

He’s considered a top 8 pick and steering into top 5. He won’t go top 3. If you get access to them after your first rounders you jump on matching.

Look at GC, they’re gonna trade out 4 but will not only have access to three first round talents they’ll make the points work.

I’m talking TSL players, not the elite kids in the system. Rep games are the highest standard they’ll play.
So am I. Sam Siggins said it was his highlight, he was drafted into the AFL when he was younger. Luke Russel played 80 games or so for Gold Coast alongside Garry Ablett. Listen to the crowd when he kicked this goal:

If you think that is normal for most state rep games then I guess you just didn't know they were a thing.

Brady has mentioned that they have 4 players in mind to take with their picks . So l dont think it would worry them deeply if McKercher goes pick1.

Mind you if it would me then l would be licking my lips at both Reid and Curtin....

Licking Jackie Chan GIF

I'd be taking him as a replacement/backup for Stephens.
Heard fantastic things about him and should be available at ports pick. Could be a real POD for us.

So am I. Sam Siggins said it was his highlight, he was drafted into the AFL when he was younger. Listen to the crowd when he kicked this goal:

If you think that is normal for most state rep games then I guess you just didn't know they were a thing.

On the basis of that, you think 23-24 yo, who are settled at a club, particularly if they are successful, are going to be beating a path back to their birth state to play with a start up franchise who are going to be, at best, mediocre for a good 5 years.

Some will no doubt be attracted by the big money offers. Some playing 2’s will jump at the chance.

I wonder if the lure to a start up franchise can be anything more than Money?

1995 Fremantle enter the AFL
1997 Port Power enter the AFL
2011 Gold Coast enter the AFL
2012 GWS enter the AFL

that is a combined 77 seasons for a single flag.

Getting to a grand final quickly would be around 8 seasons after induction into the league which puts it at around 2035.

leaving in 2028 to go to a team that is odds on to suck for a while, you'd want to be paid incredibly for it.