Training 2023 Pre Season

Total Bollocks. There was an article on afl.com.au x-amount of days after the draft where everyclub stated who they would have taken at No 1.

3-4 picked Brayshaw, pies picked De Goey.

Everyone else picked Petracca.

[/URL]

Source. Would trust W2L over some unsubstantiated report.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Total Bollocks. There was an article on afl.com.au x-amount of days after the draft where everyclub stated who they would have taken at No 1.

3-4 picked Brayshaw, pies picked De Goey.du

Everyone else picked Petracca.

It has gone down as the worst number 1 pick of the last 20 years.

That's rating the players and not the picks.
It has Paddy Last because he retired due to concussion.
His recent comeback at Sydney probably has him well ahead of Jack Watts.

Neglecting to draft elite youth and over stocking on mediocre ready made’s, because someone thinks we’re in a window, would be a consequence of a List Manager’s decision making though, right?
SOS mentioned in his interview on radio a few years ago that he was overruled by the higher ups. I'm sure that happens at most clubs and the players we go after would be just as much the coaches decision as anyone else's.

Neglecting to draft elite youth and over stocking on mediocre ready made’s, because someone thinks we’re in a window, would be a consequence of a List Manager’s decision making though, right?
We gave up 1 high pick for Hill who was elite at that time. The rest were later picks or later picks from trades.

We sat out of a couple of drafts to recruit a huge pool of players from other clubs. It was a strategy most clubs haven't tried and so far hasn't worked. If anyone can make it work it's Lyon though. To then flip it around and get excited about the draft after being shocked by how good youth were was pretty weird list management.

Are you more optimistic now just because we made change or do you actualy reckon the new crew will be able to do anything to make us a serious side again?

Gameplan was shit and standards and footy department were poor. I don't know if it fixes everything but at least we have made inroads. Also drafted hard and look like we actually got a lot right. Plenty of players with massive growth potential on the list too.

In short if anyone can pull it all together I think it's Lyon. It could go either way but we are starting a fair way back. Geelong don't have an incredible list but have an outstanding system and are structurally elite. Sydney have come off a GF appearance with a really unusual list profile and again play systematic structured footy.

I think it takes a huge amount of drilling to impart that stuff and it doesn't suit everyone. Hopefully we have enough of them to do something huge and rise to the top again.

I picked the thread back up at page 160 after being away for a few days. I really enjoy the training days reports so much thanks to all those doing them.

I also read a lot about nostalgia but it seems to me that the 'nostalgia' was either bad or good depending on the 'name' of the appointee for the person commentating.

My perspective is that we weren't in a position to do a Collingwood and go for a Macrae and get 'his' (insert different coach name) assistants because we could well end up with yet another Watters, Rich, Ratts. We've gone for a senior coach with a proven track record of taking teams to the top four. That coach has then asked for people that he respects and wants to work with in Hayes, Harvey and Misson who've all had a track record of being on successful coaching panels. Introducing one new junior coach who yeah is someone he knows but also has a ton load of plsying experience to bring his thoughts to the table. All kind of sounds like a team I like to put together on a new project. Skills, knowledge and knowing how they work on a personal level.

Off field we have a new CEO that 'should' largely be charged with continuing the off field financial gains from the Finnis era with the additional charge of making sure the football department is appropriately funded which finally seems to be heading in the right direction.

I've always viewed the Aus Open men's final as being the sign of a new season approaching. I'm still in optimistic mode on this Sunday night.

Perhaps it's just that I'm getting older and like all of us, suffered so much, that I'm now just going to enjoy watching it unfold infront of me. I'm not convinced that in the AFL in which we operate we have have as much choice as some think we do.

Gameplan was s**t and standards and footy department were poor. I don't know if it fixes everything but at least we have made inroads. Also drafted hard and look like we actually got a lot right. Plenty of players with massive growth potential on the list too.

In short if anyone can pull it all together I think it's Lyon. It could go either way but we are starting a fair way back. Geelong don't have an incredible list but have an outstanding system and are structurally elite. Sydney have come off a GF appearance with a really unusual list profile and again play systematic structured footy.

I think it takes a huge amount of drilling to impart that stuff and it doesn't suit everyone. Hopefully we have enough of them to do something huge and rise to the top again.
I really want to believe we are getting it right but it's hard when you've been burnt before. I'm surprised you're this optimistic about it all. I agree with what you're saying, it's just a lot of unknowns for me. The frustrating thing is that we've massively underperformed, we have a list capable of at least playing finals. I think we are a couple pieces away from really challenging but we didn't look out of place at Round 11 last year. If we can play at that level for a whole year I think a lot of supporters will start to believe we've turned a corner.

Just spent 2 hours catching up on the past few days. Interesting reading.

George has officially morphed into Gringo. Have some faith mate. It can’t possibly get any worse.
Been stinking it up with his negativity hasn’t he. Scared of getting hurt again. Aren’t we all.
Stuff the both of yas

We sat out 2019, strategically reduced in 2020 coz it was rubbish and got Snags instead. WIN

Attended training for the first time this pre season.

As others have noted, significant increase in intensity from last few years.

Match sim was good to watch, a lot of holding each other accountable and calling out each other.

My take outs from match sim were as follows.

Emphasis on using corridor

Faster movement of ball

Foot skills still need a lot of work

Coaches drilling positioning when a point is kicked or ball is turned over

Best players for me , Owens, Clark. Windhager, Battle , Wood and Wilkie .

Phillipou has something special about him. Made a couple of mistakes but he is just quality .

From the part of match sim I saw, I would add Bytel. Best I have ever seen him cover the ground

Hey guys,

I have the day off tomorrow so looking to head down to training to watch the lads.

Does anybody know what time training starts and finishes on a Monday?

Cheers
I dont know exact times but youll probably be looking at 9:30 till 11 when the main session is on from when I see other people's reports come in.

I can't see how it could be undisputed he's better than Gallagher.

He was sacked from Carlton because he wasn't able to build a list capable of playing finals.

Outside of one very good draft there are a lot of blunders over his time at the Blues with both drafting and trading.

My opinion is that there would have be someone out there that are untried in the top role but with experience in the field that would be better at the job than SOS. It's just a matter of finding them.

Agree with this completely.

Smacks of jobs for mates. I really don't like it. There's a hugely positive vibe about the other appointments (it's about the vibe, man), but not this one.

I don't know what our other options would have been, but I don't believe SOS was the right call.

Agree with this completely.

Smacks of jobs for mates. I really don't like it. There's a hugely positive vibe about the other appointments (it's about the vibe, man), but not this one.

I don't know what our other options would have been, but I don't believe SOS was the right call.

so can someone go up to any of the board members that are out at training this mweek and ask if SOS was 'job for the boys', or did we have no choice?

Training 2023 Pre Season