Training 2023 Pre Season

Do you think he is a better coach then Ratts ?
Yes - that's why I'm expecting nothing less than a better win/loss ratio than last year.

Given our current list and looking at the draw I'd have backed Richo or Ratts to get us into the eight this year.

So it should be a cakewalk for Richo Lyon.

More confidence in this lot then what we had
Agree completely.

I think it’s fair to say that RTB, Harves, Lenny, Corey & BJ have the experience and understanding of what it takes to be an elite AFL performer and work as a team and they seem keen to impart that knowledge to the players. It’s up to the players to tap into that and do the work!

Re RTB‘s ability to adapt and create a contemporary and successful game plan - RTB has previously stated that all 4 assistant coaches listed above (most not that long out of the game (Lenny, Corey & BJ) or who have been long term involved such as Harves) developed the game plan & he has ticked it off with some tweaks.

I‘m confident we will have a modern game plan - but it may take some time for all the players to implement it given we have some potential developing young guns and some key early season injuries. Some players will no doubt not be able to implement the plan due to skill, fitness or other issues. Those guys will be moved on.

Just for reference, this was an article explaining the dip that occured at the start of 2016 for Freo (0-9) after being 9-0 and with a percentage of 150% to start the 2015 season.

This was a huge slide of epic proportions, and Ross was pushing every ounce of talent on the list in the 4 years before this (ranging from 15-17 wins) to get a premiership for Freo.

As explained, injuries hit hard to key personnel, and they didn't have the depth below to sustain the system. From this point on, I believe there was an acknowledgement that they needed to rebuild, hence the dip in wins then on, prioritising games for kids (Brayshaw, Cerra, Neale, Schultz, etc.) - don't have time to look at list turnover, but 100% believe Ross had turned the cheek so to speak and was playing the kids to fast track improvement.

For me, it's just a question of fit and whether Ross can hang around. Sometimes, even the greatest coach might not be the best fit for a club at that time, and a refresher is needed. Longmuir is exactly what was needed and Ross had done his time. Buckley another who was I think a great coach but things just started stacking up against him.

I have faith that Ross can rebuild a list. He was halfway there at Freo.

And what type of team were they after 8 years in charge?
I never understand these comment. Exactly like he was to us you are all to win a flag if like freo you haven’t won one or like us you have one in 140 years. It’s like these maniac dogs supporters wanting bevo gone. A flag and a grand final in 7 years means he should decide when to go. If Lyon gets us a flag he can coach in his grave or we can finish last for hundred years after. I will take either if we win a flag. Even those lucky enough to see one would take that.

It's a fair question

One thing that hasn't changed though is that if you want to become a quality side you still must have a very good and organised defence so that will go in his favour

After that though good clubs also play with a lot more dare and flair than 10 years ago
Exactly. Melbourne won a flag obviously with great mids but an excellent defence. Must defend before attack even if footy is becoming more attacking. And it is more attacking but there isn’t more scoring so defence is vital.

Just for reference, this was an article explaining the dip that occured at the start of 2016 for Freo (0-9) after being 9-0 and with a percentage of 150% to start the 2015 season.

This was a huge slide of epic proportions, and Ross was pushing every ounce of talent on the list in the 4 years before this (ranging from 15-17 wins) to get a premiership for Freo.

As explained, injuries hit hard to key personnel, and they didn't have the depth below to sustain the system. From this point on, I believe there was an acknowledgement that they needed to rebuild, hence the dip in wins then on, prioritising games for kids (Brayshaw, Cerra, Neale, Schultz, etc.) - don't have time to look at list turnover, but 100% believe Ross had turned the cheek so to speak and was playing the kids to fast track improvement.

For me, it's just a question of fit and whether Ross can hang around. Sometimes, even the greatest coach might not be the best fit for a club at that time, and a refresher is needed. Longmuir is exactly what was needed and Ross had done his time. Buckley another who was I think a great coach but things just started stacking up against him.

I think the burn out from running so close but falling short was definitely a factor for both lists also.

Jeez - if I see the word "re-build" again I'll have a f***ing conniption.

We finished last year with 11 wins and 11 losses and everyone on here will agree that we s*** the bed on a number of occasions, so we should have played finals last year.

So we don't need a rebuild - we need to attract additional "experienced" talent to the existing roster. We won't do that by finishing bottom 4, we will do it by being a club on the rise.

So if Lyon is a better coach than Ratten, and if the revamped assistant coaching structure is better than last year then at the end of this year we should be looking like a club on the rise.

If not then its a fail.

we will do what we always do move them on, sook it up for a while and go again
Lyon is not here to fill in time for the next coach, he will be better this time and get that flag within the next 5 years
I’d hope you are right but get the flag is hard to expect for any saints supporter of any age. I expect to lose my gambling but I don’t expect a flag. I will live with hoping being a saints supporter since 1968 and seeing 4 losing grand finals and a friggin draw. Who draws grand finals. ****. No I’m upset again.

Jeez - if I see the word "re-build" again I'll have a f***ing conniption.

We finished last year with 11 wins and 11 losses and everyone on here will agree that we s*** the bed on a number of occasions, so we should have played finals last year.

So we don't need a rebuild - we need to attract additional "experienced" talent to the existing roster. We won't do that by finishing bottom 4, we will do it by being a club on the rise.

So if Lyon is a better coach than Ratten, and if the revamped assistant coaching structure is better than last year then at the end of this year we should be looking like a club on the rise.

If not then it’s a fail.
What if not making the finals means success down the track? I think it’s far to black and white to say it’s a fail missing final this year.

Lindsay Lohan Reaction GIF by MOODMAN

I never understand these comment. Exactly like he was to us you are all to win a flag if like freo you haven’t won one or like us you have one in 140 years. It’s like these maniac dogs supporters wanting bevo gone. A flag and a grand final in 7 years means he should decide when to go. If Lyon gets us a flag he can coach in his grave or we can finish last for hundred years after. I will take either if we win a flag. Even those lucky enough to see one would take that.

no argument there, if we win a flag I will sculpt a statue of Lyon in my front yard and bow down to it every day and give thanks for being made a whole person

Re our ability to kick goals, it’s worth remembering that in 2020 we won a final and finished 5th, and up forward we had the following main marking targets for the year:

King- 22 goals from 18 games
Marshall- 13 goals from 19 games
Membrey- 20 goals from 18 games
Ryder- 10 goals from 14 games

Max was a skinny rake baby in his first year.
Ro isn’t a significant scoring threat up forward.
Ryder was playing mostly ruck.
Skunk had a stinker of a year.

Structurally it was better than what we look like starting with this year, but that’s about it. It had very little else going for it. They averaged about a goal a game between them, which is all kinds of ordinary. Yet it didn’t stop us finishing 5th.

no argument there, if we win a flag I will sculpt a statue of Lyon in my front yard and bow down to it every day and give thanks for being made a whole person
Yes we didn’t win one last time but the idea of all I’m still holds even if it means you are stuffed for a few years after. Lyon isn’t responsible for our poor last 4 or 5 years and there has been no hope of finals in that time bar one year. I’d take Lyons years even knowing what happened in a few years after he left than being in no man’s land in the last few years that isn’t anything to do with how he left us.

The boss has been studying the game intently for the last 3 years with his insightful role on footy classified.
Would’ve learned a hellava lot in that time.
Mate I love Ross the Boss but doing 5 minute segments on Footy Classifieds ain't going to be setting him up to be a better coach.

Having said that there's no doubt he will have been watching lots of tape this off-season and will have an intricate idea of how each team is playing.

Training 2023 Pre Season