Autopsy 2023 Preliminary Final Blues brave season comes to an end

Who played well for Carlton in the Preliminary Final vs Brisbane?

Dow has elite hands and lateral movement. Something our midfield severely lacks. To improve next season we need to add speed in that midfield. Where does that come from?

We need more than just speed and Dow isn't the answer

Are we really going to make this thread about Dow being the difference?

Sorry and I too am disappointed but to single Pitto out who has been massive, well I’m not having a bar of it!

Great season and extremely proud of this Carlton team. Good things to look forward to! Onwards and upwards.
Pittonet is a liability. Offers absolutely nothing outside of ruck contests. Big O went forward and made an impact tonight. There's no planet that Pittonet does that.

But tonight really hurts given how we disappeared after quarter time. So much promise in the past 12 weeks and then passive capitulation for most of what turned out to be the last 90 minutes of our season.
Mate, how can tonight really hurt? We were against the Brions on their home deck + they have lost 3 or 4 prelims. No way they were losing tonight. Zero chance ever in the history of anything

Take my advice, change your perspective. Tonight was a good springboard for the future

Spot on. We just ran out of legs after quarter time.
Injuries and a lack of finals experience played a massive part of todays loss. Now we've had a good sighter... I reckon we can put the last little pieces into place and go for broke next year.

Special mention to our leaders who were playing hurt for the last two games... and Blacres... who has been playing with a banged up collarbone for the last 3 weeks.

Extra-special mention... Dutchie... what a ****ing pickup at the draft last year. A few more kilos on his body, and he will be a ****ing weapon.

Next year... it's ours for the taking!

Pitt is awesome back up should TDK miss. Hopefully the 2 ruck experiment is over, we played our best football with one ruck and JSOS. We lose too much playing two rucks. TDK will evolve even more over summer with another preseason. Pitto deserves to be on the list as back up only. Nothing against him but nothing of note around the ground and his ruck work is satisfactory without being outstanding. Perfectly fine in the team if TDK is out for whatever reason but two rucks, sorry don’t like it.
Pittonet offers us very little around the ground. Never seen a ruckman who can't jump and so slow. Needs a massive preseason to work on his running and jumping.

I dared to dream after that start.

However the second quarter demonstrated a lack of composure with the ball and Brisbane’s defenders, especially, tore it open.

Could we have controlled the footy? That’s what the coaches and players will ask themselves. Being second to the ball in crucial moments. Defenders kicking goals. Great when we do it. Terrible when it happens to us.

There was still hope at half time but the third quarter cemented our fate. To think it was a 3 goal quarter is annoying. A couple of goals from our chances would have been nice but none of the set shots were easy.

I’m grateful that we took the game on in the last quarter. It took courage to have a crack. It could have resulted in a blow out but we pegged back the deficit.

In the end we weren’t good enough. I think it hurts more because it’s 16 points. Not far away.

I’m not interested in having a crack at players. It’s the team that loses. Brisbane clearly had the better players. Our blokes need to reflect, look at their experiences and try to become better players.

Sorry guys, it may be my fault. Wasn’t going to drink but when we went five goals up decided to crack a beer 🍺
I'm blaming the hospital... they made me go up there to pick up my mum. And the nurse who was discharging her was a filth supporter.

Mots, Dutchy, Bot, Moo, TDK, Walshy, Fog, Kempy, Binnsy, Cots, Durds and hopefully philpy (if the club don’t delist) need to have massive preseasons to keep our senior core honest. It’s this youthful underbelly that’ll get us into the 4 next season. Crippa, Acres, Doch, Newman and a few others need to rest their bodies so they can get cherry ripe this time next season.

Our gameplan is extremely intense so we just need to time our run without it affecting the confidence of the playing group. That’s the biggest learnings out of this season. Got to stay even keeled when things aren’t going well and that’s for us supporters too. On to next season. GBs!!!!

Pittonet is a liability. Offers absolutely nothing outside of ruck contests. Big O went forward and made an impact tonight. There's no planet that Pittonet does that.
His tandom work with TDK has been one of the rising ruck duos in the league. Find another Guinea Pig.

Injuries and a lack of finals experience played a massive part of todays loss. Now we've had a good sighter... I reckon we can put the last little pieces into place and go for broke next year.

Special mention to our leaders who were playing hurt for the last two games... and Blacres... who has been playing with a banged up collarbone for the last 3 weeks.

Extra-special mention... Dutchie... what a ******* pickup at the draft last year. A few more kilos on his body, and he will be a ******* weapon.

Next year... it's ours for the taking!
I don't think it was a lack of finals experience. Finals "experience" is overrated. What good did that do for Melbourne and Port? The Collingwood side of '02 almost pinched a flag against one of the best sides of the modern era and they hardly had any.

What played a bigger role than injuries and experience is our connection to F50; we do not take as much advantage of our gun forwards as we should. Either our forward line is clogged up and we kick 3 on 1 to Curnow, or don't hit up free players and kick 3 to 1 on Curnow. We play like Curnow has Wayne Carey marking-like ability, as good as he is, he's not that.

Jordan Boyd is a player and a half. Amazing return after so long out. Really hope he can find a spot in the 22 next year
He found it. Today. On the verdant tundra of the Woolloongabba.

Autopsy 2023 Preliminary Final Blues brave season comes to an end