Autopsy 2023 Preliminary Final Blues brave season comes to an end

Who played well for Carlton in the Preliminary Final vs Brisbane?

Couple things I should say.

I was critical of Marchy over Kemp... I was wrong.

I was critical of Holland's in as he wasn't ready for finals... I was wrong.

Plenty of up side for us. Don't throw the baby out with the bathwater. Was an incredible run and we can improve from here.
Still think it was probably the wrong move. Even though Marchy was better than last week feel like the backline functions better with Kemp in it. Love Hollands especially effort wise but think keeping Owies in over him would have improved our forward structure.

We had a crack, disappointing to not capitalise after the start but we looked tired.
Just too many carrying knocks by the end I think.

The selections were justified in the end.
Boyd and Marchbank were especially good down back.

Come back bigger and stronger next year.

Congrats to the Lions, were the better side and obviously hope they flog the Pies next week.

Interesting that Harry, Boyd and Hollands and Martin to a certain extent all looked fresh. Just shows how gassed we were as a group

Thought Harry was really good, Boyd in the best and Hollands never stopped trying.

Martin had an almost game

Harry was one of the shining lights with Boyd, team was battered and bruised. You could tell. They gave their all. Disappointed but not at the players, they did us all proud.

If you are basing his quality on just winning clearances rather than his overall game, you are missing a few vital components

No matter who he plays for, he will be behind the pecking order of every midfield

Surely there are other aspects of this autopsy thread that we can focus on
You actually placed the emphasis on it whereas I just added speed to the things we needed and put (Dow in brackets)

In fact,

Despite my absolute pride in our season

What part of Dutchy's 11 possession make you think it was a pass? He got smoked.

What part of Cotters 8 possies give him a pass?

What part of crippas 13 possessions for a starting mid make you think it was a pass?

I'm fine for someone to disagree but a snide remark from someone with literally nothing objective to back them up is a bit rich.

What an amazing season, and really, we shouldn't lose that game after qtr time if there weren't some absolute passengers.

We will grow.

But down lie to yourself and say they all played well.
We needed all 22 to have a good or great game to win some didn’t get there unfortunately. There are some what ifs that are probably still there even if they played Dow Cunningham.Did you you get to the game your neck of the woods

In fact,

Despite my absolute pride in our season

What part of Dutchy's 11 possession make you think it was a pass? He got smoked.

What part of Cotters 8 possies give him a pass?

What part of crippas 13 possessions for a starting mid make you think it was a pass?

I'm fine for someone to disagree but a snide remark from someone with literally nothing objective to back them up is a bit rich.

What an amazing season, and really, we shouldn't lose that game after qtr time if there weren't some absolute passengers.

We will grow.

But down lie to yourself and say they all played well.
When did I say they all played well? You described dutchy and cotters as being non- existent. Clearly they weren’t as you then proceeded to quote their stats. There is a difference between non- existent and not playing well.

I’m under no illusions as to where we are at, what we have achieved this year and what a missed opportunity this game was.

I reckon the players do to.

Don’t think selection made a difference tonight. Swap Dow, Kemp, Owies or Kennedy for any of our bottom 6 and the result doesn’t change.
Owies out was a surprise.

Granted he’s not a huge possession earner but he’s kicked 27 goals & big ones at crucial times.

As angry and disappointed as I am at throwing away a GF opportunity, being 5 goals up…

Proud of the boys… We had a great season Prelim is a huge positive for the club and fans…

We need to find an
  • elite distributor (Coleman)
  • Big body mid forward (Rayner, De Goey)
  • Midfield speed
  • Goal kicking small forward
How good was Boydy?

Can't really be disappointed, we did so well to get where we did and didn't give up at the end. Yes it would've been nice to play the Pies in the GF but coming back interstate, there was always a chance we'd be running on fumes by GF day anyway. Brisbane is the best chance for stopping them from equaling our flags.

On to better things next year!

I may be wrong Thy, but I think 36k is about maximum. I am sure someone will set us straight.
regardless, the baggers who went up and the qld fans all did us proud - the noise was amazing - hats off to all who cheered on the boys

We needed all 22 to have a good or great game to win some didn’t get there unfortunately. There are some what ifs that are probably still there even if they played Dow Cunningham.Did you you get to the game your neck of the woods
Yeah mate, was great to get to and very proud.

Annoying that there is some loss of objectiveness.

Had them on the ropes at home.

Amazing 1st quarter.

Incredible season turn around.

3 finals of experience for the team will be invaluable for 2024.

Just ran out of puff against rested speedy Lions which is understandable after 3 intense finals in consecutive weeks.

Next year top 4 finish with double chance and week of rest and we get to the big dance.

Hold your head high Blues team you have far surpassed expectations and done us proud. Well done!! 💙💙💙💙💙

Autopsy 2023 Preliminary Final Blues brave season comes to an end