Half-forwards:Tom De KoningHarry McKaySam Docherty
Forwards:Lachie FogartyCharlie CurnowJesse Motlop
Followers:Marc PittonetAdam CerraSam Walsh
Interchange:Jordan BoydMatthew CottrellGeorge Hewett
Jack Martin
Emergencies:David CuninghamBrodie KempMatthew Kennedy
Matthew Owies

Pitto won’t be dropped, but if looking at his stats last night as an example of his success is questionable. How many tap out did Melbourne have no nominated ruck? Let Max take an easy grab for a shot. Where was he when Oliver almost kicked the sealer and Max was on the goal line. Pitto is a toiler... has had no impact around the ground even for a relieving mark. His use seems to be an early punching bag for the opponent ruck to tire them so as we can unleash TDK on them when they’re a bit tired.
Acutually I thought Pitto beat Gawn on the night, and as for the question of where he was when Gawn brain faded and touched the winning Melbourne goal, if you watch the vision, you will see Pitto right there, where he should be. Might even have touched it first.

Stats are not the only measure of a game.

Acutually I thought Pitto beat Gawn on the night, and as for the question of where he was when Gawn brain faded and touched the winning Melbourne goal, if you watch the vision, you will see Pitto right there, where he should be. Might even have touched it first.

Stats are not the only measure of a game.
Looked like Kemp (in front) got a finger to it.

Newman but team defence was pretty much non-existent during those times

Did he?

Newman seems like such a bad match up for Cameron to me...Cameron has way more leg speed and likes to get out the back. Surely we use Saad or Cincotta.

Newman would seem a far better match up for someone like Raynor.

That would be a terrible decision.
Owies has been pretty poor the last 2 weeks. Motlop was much better on Friday, and was unlucky not to have made a bigger impact last week. If 2 umpiring decisions had gone his way, it wouldn't have been such a close game.

Motlop is a killer, the kind of player who can win you a game. Owies isn't that at the moment.

I reckon Motlop has to play...shaky start vs Melbourne but his 2 goals were class...he's capable of kicking snaps and goals out of nothing.

Agree Owies has been very quiet in our 2 finals with 1 goal in each game and low disposal counts, though he's been ahead in the pecking order all year up until now.

I think they both play anyway. Kennedy and Cunners to go out for McKay and Martin.

Forward line: McKay, Curnow, TDK (forward/ruck), Martin, Owies, Motlop and Fog (forward/mid) seems about right.

Only thing is neither Mckay or Martin can cover Cunners' midfield minutes. Those might need to go to Doc, not sure the risk of that though given his shoulder.

This is entirely fair and why I wasn't going to ask initially. I can't give you anything but my word that I'm stuck here in Brishane due to my physical health. Given the health my eyes I'm not allowed to fly.

Thank you for considering it though. I appreciate that
Hey Wick,
I don't know you personally i only know you from around these neck of the woods and you seem like a pretty genuine guy. You're welcome to my barcode if you get stuck.
Im in Melbourne and wont be going to Brisvegas,im waiting to go to the Big Dance💙

In 5 out of Brisbane’s 6 losses this year, they’ve lost both the clearances and contested possessions. This is where we win the game IMO.

They’ve only lost both of these stats in a win ONCE this year, in round 21 against Freo when they probably should have lost. Otherwise, when they win one or both of these stats in a match, they win the game.

The surge with handball through the middle has dried up somewhat. GWS and Collingwood gather numbers at half back and play blitz ball. At our best we were more daring but still different to that model. I feel like we’ve found a decent middle ground but we need to take some risks with handball if are to win a premiership. Good thing is we have room to improve and we are in a prelim.

We tried doing that a lot against Melbourne and stuffed it up a lot, I don’t think we aren’t trying to do it just not quite connecting.
Hopefully this weekend it clicks🤞

In 5 out of Brisbane’s 6 losses this year, they’ve lost both the clearances and contested possessions. This is where we win the game IMO.

They’ve only lost both of these stats in a win ONCE this year, in round 21 against Freo when they probably should have lost. Otherwise, when they win one or both of these stats in a match, they win the game.
Thanks for these stats, Reg. And thanks too to Arr0w for highlighting.

I feel much better about the game having seen this. I know we lost both stats to Melbourne, but they are (with us) the best in the business on these measures. And while we lost clearances, our centre square clearance dominance was essential to our win.

Tough contested footy can beat the Lions.

Wondering if we need a Melbourne venue to watch this game

ferrisb you would be a great organiser 😁

Each state could do the same
How about everyone get to the ground, if you can’t get a ticket, raw from outside.

How amazing would is be if our members showed up in force despite not getting a ticket :).

Beautiful weather up here btw!!

Just a random thought... you're a Victorian, and you don't barrack for Carlton or Collingwood and you hate them both, who do you barrack for this weekend? Lions and Giants? But is that what you want at the G at the GF? Certainly you'd want a Carlton v Collingwood GF because you know the house would be rocking...? But that means you'd have to want them to win this week... Maybe you just pick the one Vic side you hate the most and hope they win this weekend and then lose to the non-Victorian side in the GF.
Oh, it's a good time to be a Blue...

Yep, it's our best chance. I have long had the Lions down as the premiers for this year, so don't think I underrate them or disrespect them. All the same, they are not as unbeatable as some make them out to be. The way to beat them would be pressure and contest (sound familiar?). Port did neither in the first week of the finals. Some other teams came close to beating them at the Gabba late in the year - Crows, Saints, Cats.

Don't get me wrong - it will take unrelenting pressure/contest for the full 120min. We'll also have to find 13+ goals. 10-12 probably isn't going to cut it. But, it's not out of the question.

I reckon Motlop has to play...shaky start vs Melbourne but his 2 goals were class...he's capable of kicking snaps and goals out of nothing.

Agree Owies has been very quiet in our 2 finals with 1 goal in each game and low disposal counts, though he's been ahead in the pecking order all year up until now.

I think they both play anyway. Kennedy and Cunners to go out for McKay and Martin.

Forward line: McKay, Curnow, TDK (forward/ruck), Martin, Owies, Motlop and Fog (forward/mid) seems about right.

Only thing is neither Mckay or Martin can cover Cunners' midfield minutes. Those might need to go to Doc, not sure the risk of that though given his shoulder.
Martin certainly could.

How many minutes are we talking about? Not many i would have thought....

Rd 14 onwards.

When harry plays, Charlie averages 3.9 goals (median 3.0) and our score percentage for the match averages 153% (median 169%).

Without Harry, Charlie averages 2.6 (median 2.0) and the team score percentage average is 137% (median 122%).

Looking forward to having him (& Martin) back in the side.

Seem to remember Martin looked extremely dangerous through the middle at his best at GC, he can do it.

Need him forward mostly though.

I saw some fundamental errors from Marchy against the Melb. He certainly owned up those mistakes. And structurally he makes up for it in other areas.

Last week I pointed out the fact that TDK had to lift.

This week, Celeb needs to continue reading plays and stick those intercepts. The ability is there, just needs to starting rising to the top.