Half-forwards:Tom De KoningHarry McKaySam Docherty
Forwards:Lachie FogartyCharlie CurnowJesse Motlop
Followers:Marc PittonetAdam CerraSam Walsh
Interchange:Jordan BoydMatthew CottrellGeorge Hewett
Jack Martin
Emergencies:David CuninghamBrodie KempMatthew Kennedy
Matthew Owies

Pickett’s bump and jumper punch plus slinging Walsh head first into fence. So much for “protecting players heads”!!!!
The picket one does my head in same action as earlier in year breaks a guys nose and gets less time .. ball had gone past him before he launched off the ground . I thought they give maybe 3 definitely 2 -- maybe one for stupidity

Anyone else think that JSOS is a chance for Saturday? Resigned for two year's, now bring him in along with H and Martin. TDK up there as well at times and Brissie not having Payne available. But then this could perhaps make us too top heavy.

Kennedy for H
Cuners for Martin
Marchy for Hollands
Owies for JSOS
Sub Dow

We might be going in too tall as it is, don’t think JSOS plays again this year unless we cop an injury to a tall from here on in.

Anyone else think that JSOS is a chance for Saturday? Resigned for two year's, now bring him in along with H and Martin. TDK up there as well at times and Brissie not having Payne available. But then this could perhaps make us too top heavy.

Kennedy for H
Cuners for Martin
Marchy for Hollands
Owies for JSOS
Sub Dow

While I'd love to see JSOS play a finals game, having 3 tall forwards and 2 ruckman will make us ridiculously slow.

Brisbane were clearly the best team we played all year in terms of their ability to play the game on their terms imo. We were out of form, but my mates and I all walked away saying "that was like the Geelong game last year" and with the feeling that the flag was theirs to lose (like Geelong last year, albeit not on the level of the Cats last year). The Lions have a different feel about them this year - like they really believe they're the best (which I think is the case) and they're playing with more maturity up forward. I can only assume that since that game we've done a load of work figuring out our best system to beat them, so I'm looking forward to seeing what we produce.

I reckon we've got the talent, but whether we have the system and fitness is another question. I'd be more confident if we were playing more like Carlton 6-12 weeks ago. That being said, anything can happen on any given day and we know our guys will give everything they've got. For that reason alone, we can go in with the belief that we can do this.
Watch the game they played against Gold Coast when GC battered them....

Therein lies the key.

Don't care how we were playing 6 weeks ago...I was 10 rows from the front the other day and both sides were bloody hard and the pace frenetic. We'll give our all that's for sure

Agree.

I was in Row F and some of the bone crunching hits and tackles were so loud I couldn’t begin to understand what players’ bodies go through.

Not many "perfect kicks" in a game. Even the Doc kick needed Gov assisting with holding out an opponent

What impressed me about Hollands, was that he just went quickly to a viable option, kept the ball in motion
Yep, penetrating kick too, even if it didn't go exactly where it was supposed to. Hollands looked good with fresh legs, and it got me to thinking that all that gut-running as an 18-year-old has cost us something with his kicking, all season. Nothing a couple of good pre-seasons won't fix, but there is significant improvement to come, for sure.

The picket one does my head in same action as earlier in year breaks a guys nose and gets less time .. ball had gone past him before he launched off the ground . I thought they give maybe 3 definitely 2 -- maybe one for stupidity

It's an absolute joke the guy jumps off the ground to bump and it's only deemed careless.

There's only two games on this week, media will latch on to any story and run it into the ground to fill time.
I've been living here since we 2015. They've had injuries at this stage of the season before. There's never been OTT media coverage like this one.

I've gotten behind them most years (except this year, obviously).

I know he's been injured. They're just treating this one very differently

Imagine the pressure the kid was feeling... had to know it was the last roll of the dice.

Under those circumstances the kick wasn't too bad at all and Doc made it work so what's the problem?

Wasn’t perfectly executed, but it was the perfect kick. It left for the Dees player to think they had a chance at spoiling, which led them to over-commit and then you know the rest. Saying this all in hindsight of course, but imagine being 18 or 19yo and you have that moment with that roar of the crowd and that pressure. I wouldn’t want it.

I know Lions are favourites especially as it’s at home for them.

But we have a number of genuine elite players that can drag us over the line

If Charlie McKay TDK Cripps Walsh and/or Cerra have a day out we win
Nice to have you back on here Soapy

For me, the game hasn’t changed in this respect. The quicker you move the ball the greater the chance of catching an opponent out of position. Ollie’s kick tumbled properly, hit the target and Doc was off to the races. The whole sequence from Weitering to Acres was perfect. A work of art. That’s what I love about footy.
That sequence is absolute gold.

Up there with:

"James catches, puts up a 3, won't go. Rebound Bosh. Back out to Allen. His 3-pointer. Bang!"

I'll never forget either.

Sent from my SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Kennedy for H
Cuners for Martin
Marchy for Hollands
Owies for JSOS
Sub Dow
The elusive hyphen is crucial.

Sent from my SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Brisbane were clearly the best team we played all year in terms of their ability to play the game on their terms imo. We were out of form, but my mates and I all walked away saying "that was like the Geelong game last year" and with the feeling that the flag was theirs to lose (like Geelong last year, albeit not on the level of the Cats last year). The Lions have a different feel about them this year - like they really believe they're the best (which I think is the case) and they're playing with more maturity up forward. I can only assume that since that game we've done a load of work figuring out our best system to beat them, so I'm looking forward to seeing what we produce.

I reckon we've got the talent, but whether we have the system and fitness is another question. I'd be more confident if we were playing more like Carlton 6-12 weeks ago. That being said, anything can happen on any given day and we know our guys will give everything they've got. For that reason alone, we can go in with the belief that we can do this.
We are definitely playing far more conservative, slowing down play and hugging the boundary more than we were during our dominant period and during that time we defeated some very good in form sides.
Is this due to conserving bodies for the GF, different personnel, players carrying injuries, increased finals pressure?
We are still getting over the line but I'd like to see faster transition from D50, run and handball chains and burst from clearances again, without sacrificing contested footy.