News 2023 St Kilda Media Thread

I still reckon if we'd got Frankston oval with it's prime realestate it could have worked. That Seaford ground looked so half arsed, it was lost in the back blocks of nowhere, had hardly any parking despite being in the middle of nowhere and looked like a public toilet block next to a suburban park more than a club. About 6 months after we had built it, half the sign facing the freeway fell off and we'd put a line of bins and hard rubbish along side the broken sign. We hated it from the moment we took the keys. Most junior clubs have equal or better facilities.

Lets face it, it was a disgraceful decision by Fraser and the board at the time. It condemned the club to years of financial and footballing pain and was a blight on our history - embarrassing really. Matt Finnis ought to be handed a knighthood for the work he did getting us back to Moorabin. It was the seed that started our return to being a relevant football club again.

Agree, great being back at Moorabbin, but Seaford isn't as big a deal as some like to make out - Geelong have had no troubles with their location over the years.

Disagree - I've been arguing this for 10+ years it turns out:

Screenshot 2023-04-26 at 11.54.40 am.png

All the old guys with families on here think it's nice to live down near a bay beach in a relaxed family area, but most 19 year olds probably don't.

Geelong is completely different. Has its own culture and centre of social gravity, so you can go out locally three nights a week if you want. You can also sneak down to the ocean beaches to go surfing if that's your thing. Nearest surf beach to Seaford is what, maybe Point Leo?

Roo has specifically said Seaford was a negative, both at the time and more recently. Not sure it makes sense to argue the point.

Cam Mooney column: Corey Enright deserves some credit for Saints turnaround​

In his exclusive column for the Geelong Advertiser, Cats legend Cam Mooney reveals his shock All Australians from the Saints, and the man who turned the team into contenders.

Cam Mooney

2 min read
April 25, 2023 - 5:26PM
Geelong Advertiser

0 Comments

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 20: Corey Enright, Defence Coach of the Saints in action during the St Kilda Saints training session at RSEA Park on April 20, 2023 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Photos via Getty Images)

Coming into the season, I don’t think anyone expected much from St Kilda.
Just looking at their injury list, especially their key forward stocks, along with a new coach, it just seemed like the odds were stacked against them.......

Sorry i cannot get this article

Lets face it, it was a disgraceful decision by Fraser and the board at the time. It condemned the club to years of financial and footballing pain and was a blight on our history - embarrassing really. Matt Finnis ought to be handed a knighthood for the work he did getting us back to Moorabin. It was the seed that started our return to being a relevant football club again.

Definitely a stupid call made worse by a substandard oval in the middle of nowhere. Finnis got us back but his austerity measures cost us years of on-field pain. Trying to stuff your core business to pay down debt isn't a great business model.

Come on man, when was the last time you were at a local league clubs facilities? Seaford had its issues but its tiers above almost any local club.

I've been to lots of local clubs. Lots of money has been spent on grounds in the last decade.

My son played soccer and footy so we went to some incredible facilities. Check out some of these, Seaford looked like a local ammos club ground.

In his exclusive column for the Geelong Advertiser, Cats legend Cam Mooney reveals his shock All Australians from the Saints, and the man who turned the team into contenders.

Cam Mooney

2 min read
Geelong Advertiser
0 Comments

Just looking at their injury list, especially their key forward stocks, along with a new coach, it just seemed like the odds were stacked against them.......

Where's Mooney been all season? Enright gets credit every week!

Disagree - I've been arguing this for 10+ years it turns out:

View attachment 1670557

All the old guys with families on here think it's nice to live down near a bay beach in a relaxed family area, but most 19 year olds probably don't.

Geelong is completely different. Has its own culture and centre of social gravity, so you can go out locally three nights a week if you want. You can also sneak down to the ocean beaches to go surfing if that's your thing. Nearest surf beach to Seaford is what, maybe Point Leo?

Roo has specifically said Seaford was a negative, both at the time and more recently. Not sure it makes sense to argue the point.
Interesting to see what the younger players would think about being drafted to a team in Tassie. I think there are going to be retention issues.

Cam Mooney

2 min read
Geelong Advertiser
0 Comments

found it

HE MAN WHO TURNED SAINTS INTO CONTENDERS: MOONEY

In his exclusive column for the Geelong Advertiser, Cats legend Cam
Mooney reveals his shock All Australians from the Saints, and the man
who turned the team into contenders.

Coming into the season, I don’t think anyone expected much from St
Kilda.

Just looking at their injury list, especially their key forward
stocks, along with a new coach, it just seemed like the odds were
stacked against them.

But the Saints have been the biggest surprise packet in the AFL, by a
street too.

Watching how they finished last year, then to lose your star key
forward Max King on the eve of the season, it’s just been a
fantastic turnaround in such a short space of time.

With Ross Lyon coming in you just knew they were going to be better
defensively and they weren’t going to leak as many goals, but there
were still question marks around whether they could kick them.

But their forwards are playing really good footy, they’re now a
smart team where they’re not just bombing it onto the forwards’
heads anymore, they’ve got a few different avenues to goal that are
really exciting.

Jack Higgins, Mitchito Owens and Dan Butler are their three leading
goal kickers, and they’re all smalls, which just shows you how
creative they have to be to make space.

A lot of it comes down to the coaching too, Ross Lyon has a knack of
turning a player that is not seen as a star into an All Australian
talent.

Mason Wood has become that player, he’s been a breakout player that
no one really saw coming.

He looked like he was going to be a very talented let down, he was
delisted by North Melbourne and thrown a lifeline to continue at St
Kilda, and now he’s the most improved player in the game.

That what ‘Rossy’ does well, especially when he gets to a new
club, he can make a couple of people that is outside everyone’s
scope into really good players.

He did it with Sam Gilbert for the Saints in his first stint, he
turned Sam Fischer from a good player to a great player as well, he
has that history of being able to get these guys onto another level.

Another one is Callum Wilkie, he’s been outstanding and would
currently be an All Australian key defender, he has always been good
but he’s gone to another level.

Even the way they’re using Zaiyn Cordy has made him an improved
player than what he was at the Western Bulldogs.

You’ve got to tip your hat to Corey Enright, who is down at St Kilda
coaching their backline, he’s got them moving the ball so well out
of the backline.

There weren’t too many in the AFL that could move the ball with such
smarts like him, he had this ability coming out of the back line to
just always make the right decision.

So you throw Ross Lyon in there and you throw Corey Enright in there
from a coaching point of view, and defensively the way they operate
and then move it out of the back is super impressive.

There’s always one team that comes from outside of the eight to
challenge for a top four spot, it’s always hard to pick who is going
to do it at the start of the season.

St Kilda could be that team. We’ll have to watch to see if they drop
off at all or if they keep it going, but they have been amazing to
watch this year and will be a dangerous side for any team.

Originally published as Cam Mooney column: Corey Enright deserves some
credit for Saints turnaround

Seaford was a massive blunder that just rubber stamped the decade of garbage that we all went through.
Monumental blunder by dick heads that really did not understand our identity at all.
Nice try and all, but fml dumping the pokies would have been a much better business decision.

I've been to lots of local clubs. Lots of money has been spent on grounds in the last decade.

My son played soccer and footy so we went to some incredible facilities. Check out some of these, Seaford looked like a local ammos club ground.

Spiffy, none of them look like they come close to the Seaford facilities in general size, gym access, pool access, administration though.

Critisize Seaford for being too far away, backwater, soulless, bad decision etc.. which is all true but its dumb as shit saying it was a bad facility as far as actual football training ability.

Herald Sun Footy Podcast: Jon Ralph reveals latest AFL trade whispers​

One Victorian club is set to make a huge splash in the off-season as it prepares to raid rivals for top-level talent. Latest trade whispers.

less than 2 min read
April 26, 2023 - 12:00PM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom

3 comments

[PLAYERCARD]Darcy Parish[/PLAYERCARD] could be on Stephen Silvagni’s trade radar. Picture: Michael Klein

Darcy Parish could be on Stephen Silvagni’s trade radar. Picture: Michael Klein

AFL

Don't miss out on the headlines from AFL. Followed categories will be added to My News.
Follow
St Kilda could be set to make a huge splash off-season as the Saints chase A-Grade players to improve their list.
The Saints have been the surprise story of the 2023 season, sitting on top of the ladder in Ross Lyon’s second spell at the club.
And News Corp AFL journalist Jon Ralph says the Saints’ experienced list management duo of Stephen Silvagni and Graeme Allan could be planning some major moves.
“This is a club that is trying to build a war chest to go for some A-Graders, not list cloggers,” he said on the Herald Sun Footy Podcast.
“Right now some of those list cloggers and some of the B-Graders have turned them into the side they are now.
“The feeling there with Graeme Allan and Stephen Silvagni is that they are just cooking up a little brew and they are going to go hard at the end of the season.
Listen to this week’s episode of The Footy Podcast below:

“The player managers out there are really aware of the fact that Rossy is saying, ‘I want one of all of them. I want a star midfielder, I want a star defender and I want a star forward as well’.
“We don’t exactly know who those players are but players like Mitch Georgiades, players like Mason Redman, there are going to be star free agents around like Darcy Parish, so I’m sure they are some of the people that St Kilda will be kicking around.”

The Saints have 17 players who are currently out of contract at the end of the year.
Ralph said Hunter Clark could be one player rival clubs look at.

More Coverage​

Trade watch: Big Blue may be pushed out, Cats lock up prospectKFC SuperCoach: Top round 7 trade targets revealed
Also on the podcast, legendary Herald Sun photographer Michael Klein revealed the chattiest player on the footy field.
“Jack Riewoldt is always good for a bit of chat, Jack is pretty chatty. I like it,” he said.

What a load of rubbish from Jon ralph

“We don’t exactly know who those players are but players like Mitch Georgiades, players like Mason Redman, there are going to be star free agents around like Darcy Parish, so I’m sure they are some of the people that St Kilda will be kicking around.”

So basically, Ross would like elite players on every line, he can’t name any particular name that we are connected to, but here are some out of contract players. Fin.

Jon Ralph:

So basically, Ross would like elite players on every line, he can’t name any particular name that we are connected to, but here are some out of contract players. Fin.

Don't know why he restricts it to out-of-contract players, or for that matter even AFL players, or for that matter even sportspeople.

"Clayton Oliver, Jeremy Cameron, Nick Daicos, Tom Trbojevic, Erling Haaland, Adriana Lima, I'm sure these are some of the names St Kilda will be kicking around."

Don't know why he restricts it to out-of-contract players, or for that matter even AFL players, or for that matter even sportspeople.

"Clayton Oliver, Jeremy Cameron, Nick Daicos, Tom Trbojevic, Erling Haaland, Adriana Lima, I'm sure these are some of the names St Kilda will be kicking around."
Hearing LeBron in the ruck/forward position

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app