Training 2023 Training - reports, pics etc

Great turn out for a wet Wednesday morning.

Not a huge amount to report. Squad was split into groups & they rotated through a few different drills.

Didn’t see…

Cottrell
Boyd
Young
Weitering
Cowan
Kennedy
Martin
Walsh

Walsh was running laps but before I arrived.
I overheard someone say they saw TDK but I didn’t see him out there.

Cuningham was out there but only saw him running boundary.

Not a huge amount to report. Squad was split into groups & they rotated through a few different drills.

Didn’t see…

Cottrell
Boyd
Young
Weitering
Cowan
Kennedy
Martin
Walsh

TDK and Cowan did the early drills with the main group.

Cuningham is a bit of a worry. Rumours he hasn’t been training with the main group and today seen only running laps at the open session. Will be interested to see if there’s any progress in his activity at the next open session in a week. Club hasn’t notified of any official injury. Concerning for a guy who was given a one year deal as a last chance to prove he can contribute.

Thanks to any for news and reports. As I live some 1,500 km away, the curvature of the Earth means I can't see what's happening with my binoculars...
CHATEAU-DINING-CHAIR-SIDE.jpg

3 Sea Eagles report sudden stress fractures after training with carlton blues in melbourne...........

Didn’t see…

Cottrell
Boyd
Young
Weitering
Cowan
Kennedy
Martin
Walsh

Cowan was definitely out there

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Cuningham is a bit of a worry. Rumours he hasn’t been training with the main group and today seen only running laps at the open session. Will be interested to see if there’s any progress in his activity at the next open session in a week. Club hasn’t notified of any official injury. Concerning for a guy who was given a one year deal as a last chance to prove he can contribute.
Unfortunately, his body just doesn't seem to be built for the rigours of AFL footy.
41 games in 7 seasons, 4 in the last 2 and a season high of 12 games.
Will be 26 in March.

I hope Walsh isn't pushing himself too hard. A back injury isn't something you want to rush. Could be compounded in the coming years if he doesn't get it right.

Wow just saw Buckys training report. Geez its pretty grim.
I wouldn't read too much into today's session - probably one of the more nondescript and less intense training sessions I've attended. Even the running drills were more of a jog than anything else....with the players chatting, laughing and acknowledging the crowd as they slowly trundled by. If I was a cynic, I would guess that the session was as much for the fans as it was for the players - it was only the terrible conditions that spoilt it for those who bravely rocked up - and unfortunately not too many of the players stuck around after for the fan engagement (unless they came back out after I'd already split).

Weiters and Martin not out there - again I personally wouldn't read too much into that given the type of session it was....they were probably just attending their Grand's 80th B'day or off getting their legs waxed.

There were a heap of players who joined in the main session in bits and pieces - especially the first part - then headed back inside or just did a bit of light work. Even Charles headed back inside before the match sim began. Chances are that most are on modified programs of varying degrees, but will be back in the thick of it when training intensifies over the next 4-6 weeks. The conditions may have played a part as well - who knows.

For mine, the only things of any real note were:
  • couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the #18 doing strides along the boundary - not jogging - but doing 70-75% strides!!!
  • Cunners also doing similar to Walsh along the boundary - I'd expect he'll up the intensity over the next month, but no need to rush him with the amount of time he's been on the sidelines
  • I was personally rapt to see Fog out there as well doing some light work...he's been a bit of a mystery man of recent times, but nice to see him back
  • players like Pitto, Zach, Gov and Durds out of the main group early and did laps or light work - but not worried at all about them
  • Kemp doing drills with the midfield group. Looks a super athlete now, and I reckon that's his spot...big bodied mid with pace and marking strength. He's a player to keep an eye on this year - could be a bolter
  • Dow also looked to be moving quite well, and looks like he's bulked a little as well. Hopefully the penny's dropped for him. Carroll also looks like he's getting more confidence - expect that we'll also be seeing a fair bit of him this year
  • Lem hurt his hand/arm in a one-on-one - looked fairly innocuous - went off to get it seen to, but returned a few minutes later
  • big Dom still has a long way to go - incredible athleticism, but still lacks the basic skills required at the top level

Apart from that, as I mentioned it was a bit of a nothing session, so not a lot to really write home about....except I get this feeling that Lachie Cowan is gonna become a bit of a cult figure with Carlton supporters....there's a lot to love there - reckon he'll be a ripper in a few years.

Training 2023 Training - reports, pics etc