Official Club Stuff 2024 AGM - to be held on Friday 6th December 2024, 1 director to be elected by members. Nominations called for.

Sorry to harp on it, but I feel the need to express how the development earlier in the thread that our players can’t be told they’ve failed, because it’ll be too mentally demoralising, has knocked me for six.

I understand times change and attitudes need to change with it.

But that is complete bullshit.

Failing, then learning from and overcoming failure to achieve success, is a fundamental part of sport, and life.

Is it any wonder they’re all happy as Larry down there despite blown opportunity after blown opportunity, they’re told it’s okay.

Pathetic.
Be a man.
Own up to your failures.
Acknowledge you have failed.
Own it.
Vow that you are better than you've shown, that you have to improve, and that you will improve.
Then go out and bloody well do so.

Remy, you're not a horrible person. People don't hate you for failing. They hate you for not stepping up to the plate, and ignoring what had just gone on, without trying to do anything to remedy it.

Let's face it, we're all human. We all fail at times. But we won't eventually succeed until we cop it sweet, stop accepting being molly coddled, and have the courage to admit we didn't do our best at those times, and that we will do whatever it takes to succeed.

People will respect you if you play by those rules.

I reckon Jenny Williams would be much more of a 'disrupter', and in a good way.
Jenny lost me at the height of the bring back the bars campaign. She talked a lot of complete nonsense.

Be a man.
Own up to your failures.
Acknowledge you have failed.
Own it.
Vow that you are better than you've shown, that you have to improve, and that you will improve.
Then go out and bloody well do so.

Remy, you're not a horrible person. People don't hate you for failing. They hate you for not stepping up to the plate, and ignoring what had just gone on, without trying to do anything to remedy it.

Let's face it, we're all human. We all fail at times. But we won't eventually succeed until we cop it sweet, stop accepting being molly coddled, and have the courage to admit we didn't do our best at those times, and that we will do whatever it takes to succeed.

People will respect you if you play by those rules.
I don't know. Whatever happened to the **** you I'm gonna prove you wrong attitude? It doesn't work for everybody, but for a lot of people it used to be a massive motivator. Just doesn't seem to be a thing these days.

Sorry to harp on it, but I feel the need to express how the development earlier in the thread that our players can’t be told they’ve failed, because it’ll be too mentally demoralising, has knocked me for six.

I understand times change and attitudes need to change with it.

But that is complete bullshit.

Failing, then learning from and overcoming failure to achieve success, is a fundamental part of sport, and life.

Is it any wonder they’re all happy as Larry down there despite blown opportunity after blown opportunity, they’re told it’s okay.

Pathetic.

I could be way off base here, but I feel this attitude is endemic in the wider AFL and not just our club.

Sure, there are outliers, but as a whole the industry is self serving and downright patronising to the general pundit. When you see how meek the AFL media is, how insular every decision made at AFL house is and how precious each new crop of draftee's are its not a long bow to string.

It starts from Mummy & Daddy's wallet, with 90%+ of draftees coming from private school backgrounds where your Parker/William/Edward can never do any wrong, and it manifests its way from there through the entire code. Gone are the years where you grew up rough on the Le Fevre to play league footy for the team you idolised and would bleed for. Now, it's a job and heaven forbid there is any direct feedback on performance - what would a clubs net promoter score look like then? These players would have HR meltdowns in any real world situation.

I could be way off base here, but I feel this attitude is endemic in the wider AFL and not just our club.

Sure, there are outliers, but as a whole the industry is self serving and downright patronising to the general pundit. When you see how meek the AFL media is, how insular every decision made at AFL house is and how precious each new crop of draftee's are its not a long bow to string.

It starts from Mummy & Daddy's wallet, with 90%+ of draftees coming from private school backgrounds where your Parker/William/Edward can never do any wrong, and it manifests its way from there through the entire code. Gone are the years where you grew up rough on the Le Fevre to play league footy for the team you idolised and would bleed for. Now, it's a job and heaven forbid there is any direct feedback on performance - what would a clubs net promoter score look like then? These players would have HR meltdowns in any real world situation.
I think there is some truth in what you say, and it's one of the reasons I particularly liked Peter Burgoyne's interview when Jase first joined our club. He was very proud of Jase playing for Port, but made a point of saying that he shouldn't expect it all to just happen for him regardless of his skill and background, that he would only be successful if he worked hard and strived to be successful. And Jase does seem to have stayed very grounded.

I don't know. Whatever happened to the **** you I'm gonna prove you wrong attitude? It doesn't work for everybody, but for a lot of people it used to be a massive motivator. Just doesn't seem to be a thing these days.
I reckon the fk you we are going to prove everyone is wrong stuff is dead and buried.

Players are too busy cuddling each other after the game.
It’s like playing in the back yard at mum’s with your mates.
There’s two sides but after the game everyone has a laugh.

I reckon the fk you we are going to prove everyone is wrong stuff is dead and buried.

More money, the more it becomes a business. Players are business assets now.

It used to be playing for pride, now it’s just a job to most.

The cost of professionalism.

Lol, even in their own figures, when they're trying to ignore the elephant in the room, there is a massive glaring couple of duck eggs there.

"have not finished below 12th"

"Third most wins"

How about the fact 12 other teams have made a GF, and 8 have won a flag.

FFS.

I'm not a " My Dad " kind of guy, but a story that always stuck with me was, as an immigrant to this country at the age of 9, not knowing a word of English, his old man, my Papou, said to him you have to be a doctor. In his Matric, at age 16 in those days, to get through you had to do English. His English teacher at the time Mr Whatshisname said to him "Papa G Snr, you'll never get through this course and get into University" . Whilst he aced Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Latin, he is most proud of the fact he got a C plus in English. It was his **** You to Mr Whatshisname. Whether Mr Whatshisname used it as a genuine motivator or he was just a campaigner, it doesn't matter, it's what the old man used to drive him to succeed.

If CD was seriously pumped when talking about our minor round results, and they showed that slide. I'm pretty sure I would've laughed immediately, out loud, if asked why I laughed, my question would be "where in your table is the number of minor premierships? You know why it is not there, because the results in the minor round just don't matter"

This obsession we have with consistency, creates this minor round success, not because we're a great side, but because we find enough ways to pinch enough games vs our inconsistent opposition . When the pressure, the intensity, the X factor steps up in finals, our consistency gets caught out as not enough to get results.

I'd rather stop kidding ourselves with consistency and let the results just fall as they may, show us where we truly stand and let us make the real change needed to give us a chance of actually doing something. Instead of kidding ourselves that we were actually close last year when in reality we were a country mile off.

We'd be wearing teal body suits if it was up to her and Mark.

what was Jenny saying? I vaguely recall her or perhaps Choco sort of saying to forge your own history instead of always going back to the PBs sort of thing is that it? I don't entirely disagree with that but it's the clubs handling of the guernsey that is disturbing things not us.

Remember throughout the disappointments of 2015-2019 when certain koolaid drinkers assured us we were on the road to a sustainable dynasty that would reap multiple premierships?

This is what that ‘dynasty’ is.

A squad of footballers that as a collective are often more gifted than most of their peers, but are perpetually hamstrung by a complete lack of mental preparation, and a systemic ignorance of what it takes to win big games in September and beyond.

The thing about Koch and certain board members is that the club runs too much like a business and not enough like a professional sporting club.

They look at trends and math out that the more time they spend in the top 8, the more likely a premiership is (and all's well if profits are made year by year).

But that is now how sports work. Premiership windows open and close in an instant. Ours shut after the Bulldogs prelim and hasn't been open since.

The thing about Koch and certain board members is that the club runs too much like a business and not enough like a professional sporting club.

They look at trends and math out that the more time they spend in the top 8, the more likely a premiership is (and all's well if profits are made year by year).

But that is now how sports work. Premiership windows open and close in an instant. Ours shut after the Bulldogs prelim and hasn't been open since.
The top 3 in their graph of most games won, had won 1 flag amongst them. All stable clubs. It's all well and good being 'up' all the time, but clearly it is proven as probably less likely to produce success than many other methods.

I'm not a " My Dad " kind of guy, but a story that always stuck with me was, as an immigrant to this country at the age of 9, not knowing a word of English, his old man, my Papou, said to him you have to be a doctor. In his Matric, at age 16 in those days, to get through you had to do English. His English teacher at the time Mr Whatshisname said to him "Papa G Snr, you'll never get through this course and get into University" . Whilst he aced Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Latin, he is most proud of the fact he got a C plus in English. It was his **** You to Mr Whatshisname. Whether Mr Whatshisname used it as a genuine motivator or he was just a campaigner, it doesn't matter, it's what the old man used to drive him to succeed.
I reckon we need to draft some tough tradies into the club to help toughen up some of the players - both private and public school types.

I always remember Kane Johnson was a tradie from Victoria and he brought a bit of a harder edge to the lovey boy crows and helped them win a couple of flags.

A couple of weeks ago when the Midnight Oil special was on - The Hardest Line - Rob Hirst talked about how they replaced bassist Andrew James, he left for health reasons, with tradie Peter Gifford, as they wanted a more aggressive style of bass playing and that he brought that tradie grit with him - the western suburbs kid, toughing up the north shore kids is basically what Rob Hirst said.

For a few years now I've thought why can't we find some great 15 or 16 year old SA footballers who aren't that interested in school, get them via our corporates to do apprenticeships, not these TAFE level stuff but more like the German apprenticeships that their vocational training organisations sit closer to Uni standard than TAFE standard and they end up with half an engineering degree, mentor these kids through the vast network of skilled members/fans/corporates we have, put them thru our elite footballers academy, don't let them play for SANFL clubs until they are 19, say only play a few games in that year, let them play for local ammo clubs against men, hide them from other clubs and recruit 4 to 6 maybe 8 of them over 2 or 3 years, before the other clubs cotton on to what we are doing.

So they earn money instead of going to school for 2 or 3 years, get a trade that they have for life and something they can do when they finish footy, if they can't get a job within the footy industry, get great education from club supplied mentors, both vocational skills, and footy skills and will probably develop physically quicker as they are doing hard physical work not going to school.

With the frigates and subs being built around Osborne and all our defence contractors we have relationships with, I don't think it would be an impossible thing to do. But as I said before, it would only last for 2 or 3 years if these players picked were stars, that we would have this edge for, but they would come in with a bond built between them over a few years, and basically be told they are going to be the leaders of the club, that we build a team around for the next decade.

Difficult but not impossible to do.

I'm pretty confident Firth was a board member at one stage.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Not for the PAFC Inc before we entered the AFL.

He became president of the Magpies in December 2009 and pushed for the merger in February 2010 before the SANFL said no. I think he had been on the board of the Magpies for two years before he accepted the the board voting for him to become President.

In December 2010, after the Merger finally went thru in November 2010, so he was technically still PAMFC Inc president, he ran for PAFC Ltd board and was voted in, along with Darryl Wakelin, who was running for his 2nd term after being voted in, in 2007 on a ticket with Anthony Toop. Toop didn't stand for a second term.

Brett Duncanson when he was president of the PAMFC Inc in 2006, ran for the PAFC Ltd board, and was rejected by the members. Don't have my old annual reports in front of me, so I can't say who beat him. Next year he was appointed to the board by the SANFL after the club nominated him to the SANFL.

Because John as Magpies president had been voted in by the members, and Brett wasn't, he felt a bit threatened by John that he had more support of the rank and file members. John didn't want to become president of the now merged club. At the time, Gordon Pickhard was trying to find us a venue to develop in the northern suburbs for the pokies. John was a specialist lawyer in liquor and gaming industries and he had several clients close to the couple of venues the club was looking at.

After a couple of meetings Duncanson said John had a conflict of interest and couldn't attend board meetings until the venues issue was resolved. It was BS as all John had to do was walk out of the meeting whilst the Pickhard venue was discussed.

Xenephon's pokies reforms in later part of 2011 put an end to the club looking for a northern suburbs venue as the reforms basically meant the pokies were going to be substantially less profitable, as you could only use coins. In Qld you can use a $100 note and that's why Brisbane make a shit load of money out of their pokies over the last dozen years or so. I think there were (are) restrictions in NSW of $50 and $20 in Victoria at the time.

A few months later in June 2011 the shit the fan with the SANFL trying to take back the licence. The AFL intervened, set up a financial package for us to survive on until we got to Adelaide Oval, and the price was Hayman got sacked as CEO and I think 4 board members had to stand down. John was replaced by his fellow Magpies director Trevor Thiele.

John only told me about the BS conflict of interest stuff with Duncanson a few weeks after he resigned as board member. He played a straight bat with me about it, when I met with him in April then May and pitched a few ideas at him I thought the club should pursue.

Official Club Stuff 2024 AGM - to be held on Friday 6th December 2024, 1 director to be elected by members. Nominations called for.