Not getting 2 with out 6You’re stupid if you can’t see the benefit of ending up with 1,2,6,13 - it’s not rocket science
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Not getting 2 with out 6You’re stupid if you can’t see the benefit of ending up with 1,2,6,13 - it’s not rocket science
Not getting 2 with out 6
Just what I am hearingHave you got inside information cause that might not be the case
Obviously I don't know the ins and outs but I don't think I'd take Hotton in the top 20. I believe he did his knee in a running drill as opposed to through contact. To me that suggests there is a high likelihood of reoccurrence.Will melt if Giants go Hotton & Hannaford. Very interesting Hotton & Trainor not invited to night 1.
How many campaigners do they invite?
Firstly I never said anything about not investing in rucks, what I said was "Rookie list or trade for a ready made ruck are always the better options."Yes and no. In general early pick rucks are hit and miss. Trading in rucks typically gets you a good B grade ruck - Nank if you are lucky (very good B grade ruck).
But if you can get a good to very good ruck for very cheap (pick 25+) then you can have an essential part of a contending team for a long time cheaply and easily.
If Dodson is at least a B grade tap ruck, and can be a B grade mid we have a powerful part of any future premiership team.
Put another way, if no one invested in rucks (as you suggest) then you have no rucks. Rucks are important to be competitive. Tap rucks rarely are vital to winning - because other tall guys can usually neutralise a good tap ruck, and mids can rove to a losing ruck.
So it is how much it costs you to get a good ruck. Picks after 25 are fine by me as an investment. The key is what our recruitment team think is best. I'm happy with Dodson. I'm also happy with someone else. Or with a trade for a F1.
No ChanceI can't see GWS accepting that. For it to get in the ball park we would also need to offer pick 23 along with it.
Spot on. We also have our rookie pie in the sky rucks so really it will be about trading or FA a Nank replacement.Firstly I never said anything about not investing in rucks, what I said was "Rookie list or trade for a ready made ruck are always the better options."
Now lets use your example - Nankervis.
Pick 35 in 2013 ND , Swans got 12 games from him before trading him.
We traded pick 46 for a 22yo. player thats already had a couple of years in the system.
The pick we traded to Swans they used on Jack Maibaum - 0 games.
Nankervis has played in the 1's since he got to Punt road and he's at 145 games and counting.
muppets on here like you saying we have to trade are deluded and stupid. we have an amazing hand. changing that to get what? there are gems around the teen and early twenties. if you knew anything about footy and kids development it’s about the coaching and the culture. why you would go for fos and lose 2 picks like a smilie and langford or train or or travails is beyond me. but we get muppets in here that see greed before rationality . i will say it again swapping draft picks to reduce our haul is stupid.You’re stupid if you can’t see the benefit of ending up with 1,2,6,13 - it’s not rocket science
And his brother was just delisted by St Kilda after never being able to get his body right.Obviously I don't know the ins and outs but I don't think I'd take Hotton in the top 20. I believe he did his knee in a running drill as opposed to through contact. To me that suggests there is a high likelihood of reoccurrence.
We can just take Knobel as a DFA next year if we want.Spot on. We also have our rookie pie in the sky rucks so really it will be about trading or FA a Nank replacement.
Also if we are going to invest a 1st rounder in that position better to do next year on a Vic kid so they don't **** off home.
muppets on here like you saying we have to trade are deluded and stupid. we have an amazing hand. changing that to get what? there are gems around the teen and early twenties. if you knew anything about footy and kids development it’s about the coaching and the culture. why you would go for fos and lose 2 picks like a smilie and langford or train or or travails is beyond me. but we get muppets in here that see greed before rationality . i will say it again swapping draft picks to reduce our haul is stupid.
Don’t assume you know what I do and don’t know about footy and coaching. it’s a hypothetical trade scenario based on PA/NM rumoured interest in trading so we move up to pick 2. You have to give up something to get something. Calm the farm and have a proper conversation. Don’t get personal by calling people stupid just because they put their ideas out there.muppets on here like you saying we have to trade are deluded and stupid. we have an amazing hand. changing that to get what? there are gems around the teen and early twenties. if you knew anything about footy and kids development it’s about the coaching and the culture. why you would go for fos and lose 2 picks like a smilie and langford or train or or travails is beyond me. but we get muppets in here that see greed before rationality . i will say it again swapping draft picks to reduce our haul is stupid.
depends how desperate NM are to split that pick into two first rounders.Not getting 2 with out 6
I just think their F1 is pick 2 up to about pick 8, that's their range which I think would be an enormous win for us to acquire that.Well look at it this way
If they are desperately looking to trade their F1 (which they are ) who will give them a better pick than #15 ?
Richmond just about own all the picks prior or team that have them wont trade out
#6 - #2 will be the pay back to get #15
There are 6/7 teams wanting to get into this years draft
13 and 29 for 18 and 23 would be much better for everyoneTigers fans, I come in peace
In a hypothetical scenario if Port offered 13 and 29 for 20,23 and 24, is that a deal that you would consider?
disagree. this draft is deep we know these players. do you know next years crop? plus we get another year development. it’s logical . but each to his own. i want to develop now. others don’t. we have 4 years to turn this around. i will repeat i don’t like it nor does it make sense.Nah sorry to burst your bubble mate but I’m with team swap for pick 2. But it needs to be something to benefit us. If you trade pick 6&11 you get 2 & F1 I don’t care what you say that tells me when get one less pick this year and get the most welll rounded midfielder we’ve seen in a draft, plus we get another first round next year which could be used for either cadman or Archie luwodyke. Not sure if you understand but that’s a win situation.
You must be taking the piss.Ok hear me out.
As it stands we hold 1/3 of the picks in the first 24. So how do we cash in and get the best value?
Well let's look at the rumours
- North wants to split pick 2 to get at least 2 picks in R1.
- Saints looking to split pick 8 for multiple 1s.
- Port interested in getting 10 off us as part of a multi team deal with 13 involved.
- GWS possibly involved in the multi team trade and have 15 16 & 21 to deal with.
So here's my plan
FOOK EM ALL
Hold all our picks until the night of the draft and let North come to us when pick 2 is on the clock, desperately looking to trade and get pick 2, their F1 & F2 in 2025 to get pick 11 & 23. Take it or leave it.
Then, when the Saints are on the clock at pick 8 and are looking to trade the deal is pick 8 & 32 for 18 & 20
Now that we've got pick 8 we call GWS and tell them 10 & 24 is on the table for 15 16 & 37.
Essendon having matched a bid for Kako are looking at getting back into the draft and with Melbourne a good chance of fighting us for the spoon as they implode we want the Dees 2025 R1 for 16
Final draft hand is:
1 2 6 8 15 32 & 37 in 2024
1. Lalor
2. FOS
6. Smillie
8. Reid
15. Best Available KPP
32. Best Available KPP/Ruck
37. Davidson
Spot open for SSP
2025:
Our 1st & 2nd
Norths F1 & F2
Dees F1
View attachment 2155765
If we can achieve that I'll be astonished and might go blind from 'celebrating'.Reckon we take 7 players in draft
Sam lalor
Finn O’Sullivan
Josh smillie
Xavier lynsday
Taj hotton
Tom simms
Noah mraz
Two's enough, pardner.Reckon there’d have to be an extra kpp in there
Gerreyn is nothing like Ottens.Now you are talking, Ottens clone !!
They are very GWS-type players. We either take one of them before GWS picks, or hope they've filled their boots in recent drafts.Will melt if Giants go Hotton & Hannaford. Very interesting Hotton & Trainor not invited to night 1.
How many campaigners do they invite?
I pictured you as fatter.
It was a footy drill.Obviously I don't know the ins and outs but I don't think I'd take Hotton in the top 20. I believe he did his knee in a running drill as opposed to through contact. To me that suggests there is a high likelihood of reoccurrence.
That surprised me. Talented. Only 20. We should get him down for SSP.And his brother was just delisted by St Kilda after never being able to get his body right.
disagree. this draft is deep we know these players. do you know next years crop? plus we get another year development. it’s logical . but each to his own. i want to develop now. others don’t. we have 4 years to turn this around. i will repeat i don’t like it nor does it make sense.