List Mgmt. 2024 Draft - Post Trade Period Edition

Pick 1

• Finn O'Sullivan

• Sam Lalor

• Jagga Smith

Results are only viewable after voting.

Just a thought, not sure if anyone has raised it but knowing how Hartley and his team have operated in recent years it may be wise to set up our ability to tempt the 2025 NGA and father son teams with some F2/3 picks. The rules are changing and the points will be biased to the early rounds in 2025. Clubs wth multiple top end NGA and F/S talent will have difficulty matching early bids due to the change in points value. One off picks will be easier but multiple targets will present immense trade value if your club has the points. Access to some top end NGA’s will present as the clubs will be unable to match early bids. Richmondfc has shown a strong propensity to strategise like this.

As they say, “never waste a crisis”! If the 2025 cohort is as compromised as some suggest (I am not so sure as every group evolves quickly the closer to their time that they get), this presents the wise clubs with unbelievable opportunity.

Will melt if Giants go Hotton & Hannaford. Very interesting Hotton & Trainor not invited to night 1.

How many campaigners do they invite?
Obviously I don't know the ins and outs but I don't think I'd take Hotton in the top 20. I believe he did his knee in a running drill as opposed to through contact. To me that suggests there is a high likelihood of reoccurrence.

Yes and no. In general early pick rucks are hit and miss. Trading in rucks typically gets you a good B grade ruck - Nank if you are lucky (very good B grade ruck).

But if you can get a good to very good ruck for very cheap (pick 25+) then you can have an essential part of a contending team for a long time cheaply and easily.

If Dodson is at least a B grade tap ruck, and can be a B grade mid we have a powerful part of any future premiership team.

Put another way, if no one invested in rucks (as you suggest) then you have no rucks. Rucks are important to be competitive. Tap rucks rarely are vital to winning - because other tall guys can usually neutralise a good tap ruck, and mids can rove to a losing ruck.

So it is how much it costs you to get a good ruck. Picks after 25 are fine by me as an investment. The key is what our recruitment team think is best. I'm happy with Dodson. I'm also happy with someone else. Or with a trade for a F1.
Firstly I never said anything about not investing in rucks, what I said was "Rookie list or trade for a ready made ruck are always the better options."

Now lets use your example - Nankervis.

Pick 35 in 2013 ND , Swans got 12 games from him before trading him.
We traded pick 46 for a 22yo. player thats already had a couple of years in the system.

The pick we traded to Swans they used on Jack Maibaum - 0 games.

Nankervis has played in the 1's since he got to Punt road and he's at 145 games and counting.

I can't see GWS accepting that. For it to get in the ball park we would also need to offer pick 23 along with it.
No Chance

GWS are itching to move up the order they would jump at the #10 for #15 + #16 trade

What i do like about this trade is it gets 1 potential team out of the teams that may trade into future F1st picks and allows us to use the other pick as bait for NorF

Firstly I never said anything about not investing in rucks, what I said was "Rookie list or trade for a ready made ruck are always the better options."

Now lets use your example - Nankervis.

Pick 35 in 2013 ND , Swans got 12 games from him before trading him.
We traded pick 46 for a 22yo. player thats already had a couple of years in the system.

The pick we traded to Swans they used on Jack Maibaum - 0 games.

Nankervis has played in the 1's since he got to Punt road and he's at 145 games and counting.
Spot on. We also have our rookie pie in the sky rucks so really it will be about trading or FA a Nank replacement.

Also if we are going to invest a 1st rounder in that position better to do next year on a Vic kid so they don't **** off home.

You’re stupid if you can’t see the benefit of ending up with 1,2,6,13 - it’s not rocket science
muppets on here like you saying we have to trade are deluded and stupid. we have an amazing hand. changing that to get what? there are gems around the teen and early twenties. if you knew anything about footy and kids development it’s about the coaching and the culture. why you would go for fos and lose 2 picks like a smilie and langford or train or or travails is beyond me. but we get muppets in here that see greed before rationality . i will say it again swapping draft picks to reduce our haul is stupid.

Obviously I don't know the ins and outs but I don't think I'd take Hotton in the top 20. I believe he did his knee in a running drill as opposed to through contact. To me that suggests there is a high likelihood of reoccurrence.
And his brother was just delisted by St Kilda after never being able to get his body right.

Spot on. We also have our rookie pie in the sky rucks so really it will be about trading or FA a Nank replacement.

Also if we are going to invest a 1st rounder in that position better to do next year on a Vic kid so they don't **** off home.
We can just take Knobel as a DFA next year if we want.

muppets on here like you saying we have to trade are deluded and stupid. we have an amazing hand. changing that to get what? there are gems around the teen and early twenties. if you knew anything about footy and kids development it’s about the coaching and the culture. why you would go for fos and lose 2 picks like a smilie and langford or train or or travails is beyond me. but we get muppets in here that see greed before rationality . i will say it again swapping draft picks to reduce our haul is stupid.

Nah sorry to burst your bubble mate but I’m with team swap for pick 2. But it needs to be something to benefit us. If you trade pick 6&11 you get 2 & F1 I don’t care what you say that tells me when get one less pick this year and get the most welll rounded midfielder we’ve seen in a draft, plus we get another first round next year which could be used for either cadman or Archie luwodyke. Not sure if you understand but that’s a win situation.
But there is no need to put people down in here as we all know these are hypothetical trades multiple people in here have stated!! That we do not care if we trade down we still win. But Richmond will do what’s best for them so settle down.

Don’t assume you know what I do and don’t know about footy and coaching. it’s a hypothetical trade scenario based on PA/NM rumoured interest in trading so we move up to pick 2. You have to give up something to get something. Calm the farm and have a proper conversation. Don’t get personal by calling people stupid just because they put their ideas out there.

Well look at it this way

If they are desperately looking to trade their F1 (which they are ) who will give them a better pick than #15 ?
Richmond just about own all the picks prior or team that have them wont trade out

#6 - #2 will be the pay back to get #15
There are 6/7 teams wanting to get into this years draft
I just think their F1 is pick 2 up to about pick 8, that's their range which I think would be an enormous win for us to acquire that.

And they have pick 2 this year, I just can't see any way a competent list manager gives that away for pick 6 and 15, you don't slide back that far and give away a top future pick just for 15 which probably ends up becoming like the 17th or 18th kid taken after FS and Academy.

Nah sorry to burst your bubble mate but I’m with team swap for pick 2. But it needs to be something to benefit us. If you trade pick 6&11 you get 2 & F1 I don’t care what you say that tells me when get one less pick this year and get the most welll rounded midfielder we’ve seen in a draft, plus we get another first round next year which could be used for either cadman or Archie luwodyke. Not sure if you understand but that’s a win situation.
disagree. this draft is deep we know these players. do you know next years crop? plus we get another year development. it’s logical . but each to his own. i want to develop now. others don’t. we have 4 years to turn this around. i will repeat i don’t like it nor does it make sense.

Ok hear me out.

As it stands we hold 1/3 of the picks in the first 24. So how do we cash in and get the best value?

Well let's look at the rumours

• North wants to split pick 2 to get at least 2 picks in R1.
  • Saints looking to split pick 8 for multiple 1s.
  • Port interested in getting 10 off us as part of a multi team deal with 13 involved.
  • GWS possibly involved in the multi team trade and have 15 16 & 21 to deal with.

So here's my plan

FOOK EM ALL

Hold all our picks until the night of the draft and let North come to us when pick 2 is on the clock, desperately looking to trade and get pick 2, their F1 & F2 in 2025 to get pick 11 & 23. Take it or leave it.

Then, when the Saints are on the clock at pick 8 and are looking to trade the deal is pick 8 & 32 for 18 & 20

Now that we've got pick 8 we call GWS and tell them 10 & 24 is on the table for 15 16 & 37.

Essendon having matched a bid for Kako are looking at getting back into the draft and with Melbourne a good chance of fighting us for the spoon as they implode we want the Dees 2025 R1 for 16

Final draft hand is:
1 2 6 8 15 32 & 37 in 2024
1. Lalor
2. FOS
6. Smillie
8. Reid
15. Best Available KPP
32. Best Available KPP/Ruck
37. Davidson
Spot open for SSP

2025:
Our 1st & 2nd
Norths F1 & F2
Dees F1

View attachment 2155765
You must be taking the piss.

Reckon we take 7 players in draft
Sam lalor
Finn O’Sullivan
Josh smillie
Xavier lynsday
Taj hotton
Tom simms
Noah mraz
If we can achieve that I'll be astonished and might go blind from 'celebrating'.

Reckon there’d have to be an extra kpp in there
Two's enough, pardner.

Now you are talking, Ottens clone !!
Gerreyn is nothing like Ottens.

Will melt if Giants go Hotton & Hannaford. Very interesting Hotton & Trainor not invited to night 1.

How many campaigners do they invite?
They are very GWS-type players. We either take one of them before GWS picks, or hope they've filled their boots in recent drafts.

I pictured you as fatter.

Much, much, fatter.

It was a footy drill.

"I was feeling a bit unfit and wanted to hit the track pretty hard. I went all right and got the ball, took a few bounces going forward and was going as quick as I could. I tried to change direction as I was about to kick and then someone came towards me," Hotton told AFL.com.au.

ACLs are usually done when changing direction, or landing awkwardly. Doing one has meant a higher chance of doing another (20% compared to 5%) but they're getting better at both preventing them and repairing/rehabbing them (see W.Ashcroft). You're more likely to do your other knee than your reconstructed one. And we just hired a bloke with a PhD in preventing knees.

And his brother was just delisted by St Kilda after never being able to get his body right.
That surprised me. Talented. Only 20. We should get him down for SSP.

disagree. this draft is deep we know these players. do you know next years crop? plus we get another year development. it’s logical . but each to his own. i want to develop now. others don’t. we have 4 years to turn this around. i will repeat i don’t like it nor does it make sense.

I’ve watched a few that I like early on. That’s all I need to know. Like I also said Richmond will know what’s best mate. I’m not a fan of 8 kids coming out of contract at once. I’m not a fan of all these kids coming in and only half getting game time and some wanting to leave. But I don’t control Richmond you need to not get so wound up. Blair will do what he thinks is best and if that means trade up then that’s what he will do.

Next years draft crop will be top heavy meaning kids at the top are good ie 1-5

wonder if we trade 6+ one of 23/24 to north for pick 2, then trade pick 10 to port for for pick 13 + pick 29 so they can draft travaglia before west coast. Then at pick 29 we might still be able to draft a Sims/Gerreyn if they are both gone there should still be one of Alger, Gross, Moraes, Dodson

I couldn't sleep last night, so finally got around to looking at some video. I definitely haven't got enough knowledge about the juniors as many on here do, but here's who caught my eye (and who didn't)

Pick 1 - Sam Lalor - No alternatives, he's perfect for Richmond, just take him #1

Pick 6 - Smillie is who I really want, but if Melbourne jumped in and grabbed him first then I'd go for Langford over Smith instead. I'm a little nervous about Langford's speed translating to AFL, but he's still that bigger body midfielder we need, ball magnet, good tank, good extractor and good skills. I'm sure there are plenty who would take Langford over Smillie, but I just think he'll be a difference maker at AFL level in time.

Pick 10 - Xavier Lindsay - Lindsay just screams 200+ game AFL quality to me. He has elite disposal, composure, speed, skills, tacking, leadership, etc. Outside of the Top 6-7, he's the one I want more than anyone. Having his best game as BOG in the U18 Champs decider also shows he thrives at an elevated level which typically is a good sign for kids stepping up to AFL.

Pick 11 - Shanahan then Armstrong if he's gone - We need a key forward, I'm assuming one of them should be on the board still at this point. If Smith does slip to our 2 picks at 10/11 then I'd consider taking him here with Lindsay and get a key forward with 18 instead. If all those options are gone already then it means there's been a couple of sliders to consider instead.

18-24 options I like
Berry - Skillful, moves well, I know he's listed as a small forward but seems to get a bit of the ball in the midfield as well. Would be happy to get him on the list.
J Whitlock - I know I already have us taking Shanahan or Armstrong earlier, but in the event they are both gone, or we want another type of tall forward who can also ruck a bit, then I'd take Jack. Looks like he has a good frame for AFL, good mark, mobile enough, clean below his knees, good kick for goal.
Datolli - Another like Berry with good skills up forward and through the midfield. Nice mark, seems pretty tough, I like how he attacks the ball. Seems like a natural footballer.
Trainor - We have enough picks to take the punt on him, I haven't seen his concussion incidents to see how innocuous they were, but I'd much rather take the risk on him than Tauru who has bad decision making/disposal, that's a team killer down back in defence.

This gives us 3 gun mids of different types (Lalor, Smillie/Langford, Lindsay), 2 tall forwards (Shanahan, Whitlock), 1 tall back (Trainor) and 2 more mid/fwd rotation type players (Berry, Datolli). I think that's a good mix of talent to go along with what we already have on the list and the areas we need to focus on. Other roles we can look at in future drafts as ones that are easier to fill with later picks and don't take as long to develop (i.e. hbf types)

I'm sure we'll trade one of our picks into an F1, so one of them will miss out, however I also don't mind the look of Moraes & Hynes as mid types or Barrat if someone else takes Trainor, or we don't like the concussion issues.

Having looked at a bit of video, I can see why the club is hesitant to trade away our picks and I'd be happy to just keep what we have. If we trade up to get FOS then I'm on board, but I can understand why we wouldn't give up 6 and another pick to get him and risk missing out on someone like Smillie or Langford (or Lindsay).

Players I wouldn't target with our picks
Smith - Good extractor, doesn't seem very damaging with the ball, I'd only consider him if he slides to 10/11
Tauru - Bad decision making/disposal for a defender? Even his highlights had him coughing up goals. No thanks, let Norf have him
Allen - Great clearances, but terrible disposal, pass
Hotton - Another with bad disposal, pass

List Mgmt. 2024 Draft - Post Trade Period Edition