List Mgmt. 2024 Draft - Post Trade Period Edition

Pick 1

• Finn O'Sullivan

• Sam Lalor

• Jagga Smith

Results are only viewable after voting.

If North were smart that's what they'd do. They'll get their best offers once teams know who we've picked.

Seems highly unlikely that anyone trades before draft night.

The draft order is really hard to predict, smillie or Jagga could get to Melbourne at 9 in crazy outcomes.

The value of each pick is gonna fluctuate based on who’s available at what pick and how much another club wants them. Which means until the pick is on the board it’s harder to validate its value. Gws wouldn’t want to move up today to 10 to find out Saints are taking Armstrong (or whoever) on draft night. Now they’ve got to get 6 or get shanahan (or whoever) who might have made it to 15.

Puts us an enviable position really with all our picks. We can wait for other teams desperation in a 5 minute time frame to make a deal, including Norfs need for 2 first rounders, or we just take our picks.

When you have a player like Law La that projects to be a Dusty like player

You just have to go for it IMO

Law La has the most upside of any player in the top 10
Stringer mk2 imo.

In all seriousness guys for where your list is at I can't believe that Jagga and Draper are not being mentioned as pick 1.

Both are dynamic players ready to go.

Jagga a 25+ disposal distributor who's slipperer than a squid.

Draper a hard nut accumulator and tackling machine. He showed every list manager how soft Smile is when they both went for that loose ball.

FOS is the next best choice being an all rounder. Could ease in at half back for a year or 2 before hitting the mid/forward role.

Lalor at one is a risk (too much talk about his ceiling).He is 2 years away from being fit enough to run out a game playing half forward let alone midfield.

Langford is slower than a Roman Sun Dial. You would only take this player at 6 or beyond on the proviso you have picked up Draper or Jagga to offset his lack of pace.

A combination of Lalor and Langford (which some of you have suggested ) would be an unmitigated catastrophe. Opposition teams would transition faster than a prairie fire with a tailwind.

Thank you in advance for the expected witty comments.

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk
Thank you.
Your welcome on this board anytime.
Ignore those anti jagga campaigners.
We're slow enough as it is without adding any of Langford/ Smillie or Lalor.

3 things Law la dose that Dusty couldnt be Farkq'd

Tackle
Chase
Leap

We should give him the #1 and not #4
Pity La Law can't do the most important thing.
Pre season.
Rather play cricket with his mates.
No dedication like Stringer

In all seriousness guys for where your list is at I can't believe that Jagga and Draper are not being mentioned as pick 1.

Both are dynamic players ready to go.

Jagga a 25+ disposal distributor who's slipperer than a squid.

Draper a hard nut accumulator and tackling machine. He showed every list manager how soft Smile is when they both went for that loose ball.

FOS is the next best choice being an all rounder. Could ease in at half back for a year or 2 before hitting the mid/forward role.

Lalor at one is a risk (too much talk about his ceiling).He is 2 years away from being fit enough to run out a game playing half forward let alone midfield.

Langford is slower than a Roman Sun Dial. You would only take this player at 6 or beyond on the proviso you have picked up Draper or Jagga to offset his lack of pace.

A combination of Lalor and Langford (which some of you have suggested ) would be an unmitigated catastrophe. Opposition teams would transition faster than a prairie fire with a tailwind.

Thank you in advance for the expected witty comments.

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapa
Blanket ban for all Norf supporters thanks. They are still in denial about Carey and Stevo's missus blowing up their club in Archers dunny.

So you want to replace our fast, good kicking HBF, HFF (who was notoriously an indifferent kick) and utility, all of whom are not midfielders, with (I’m assuming based on your original reply) two midfielders in Draper, the worst kick in the top 6, and Jagga the shortest and least damaging kick in the top 6, who is not super quick.
I don't like Jagga either? I'm a fan of FOS, Reid, etc. If it was up to me we'd take FOS before Lalor.

But would quite like to pick some small forwards and a creative half-backer down the order (Lindsay?). All the more reason I don't want accumulators like Jagga or Langford in our top picks, much less trade up for them.

We shouldn’t rule out anyone and instead just pick the players we think will be best in 5 years not next year.

I'm not just thinking of next year, TT and JH are contracted out to 2029. We're going to have several finishes near the bottom of the ladder before then to pick up a JH replacement (if we want one, we won three premierships without one).

With the exception of Hopper, they are definitely NOT slow!
20m times: TT 3.00, Ross 2.95, KMc 2.93. They are all quick times, KMc elite. Dow was 3.06 which is ave but has elite agility. For comparison, Jagga was 3.04 and FOS 2.99.
So the question is why do they look slow? Is our system not supporting them to spread quickly, or is it slow to get ball to foot or decision making? Don’t know but it’s something other than foot speed.
I don't think the combine results matter, if your team is jam-pack full of inside-mids you'll look slow. 20m sprint speed evidently doesn't determine how you naturally play football. I don't think Yze can start to fix that if we keep drafting them.

Was at a barbie for the races had an interesting chat with an old friend who's a talent scout at the Bloose. He was pretty straight faced and matter of fact when talking about Lalor, FOS, Draper, Smith. He was getting pretty pickled and told me a few interesting tidbits. He LOVES Smillie and reckons we'd be stupid to trade for pick 2. I thought I was smart and asked if he'd let the cat out of the and they're taking Smillie, he said they reckon Cripps is that professional and dedicated if he avoids serious injury he will overtake Craig Bradley's games record so the timings and draft hands don't allign.

He reckons Langford will be the slider who might even fall outside the top 15. Same as Trainor he reckons clubs are spooked big ti.e over his concussions and i was shocked when he rattled off all the retirements. He says he wouldnt touch him inside the top 30 as already too risky. He said the most overrated player is Tauru and its only North hedging their bets as he's a swing man and if he's available at 6 Tigers wouldn't take him and rattled off all the reasons Shanahan and Armstrong are better. He reckons if no pick swaps happen we'll take 2 mids with 1st 2 picks and reckons Smillie at 6 is a steal. Also reckons travaglia is over rated. He said Ashcroft is universally considered the best player in the draft. Also reckons Lombard will get bid on very early in the draft in the top 8 and should be top 5. Was spewing we barely got started talking about the talls and kept getting interrupted by the races and his Mrs who hates footy talk. He was running interesting hypotheticals with who blinks 1st with taking talls but kept losing his train of thought.

He's convinced Saints take 1 KPF, was pretty sure Melbourne take 2 mids. Wowee the gossip about Melbourne. Theyre a rabble and gonna implode. I might check their odds for bottom 4 next year lol. He said Port Adelaide will take best available. Reckons GWS are hard to read and antisocial. Also said Vic clubs have all been lobbying against GC academy, he reckons they've got a production line of 12, 13, 14, 15 yo's coming through and they want change before 2025 draft but reckon the AFL will be forced to act after it. He said Freo were filthy on us as we wouldn't budge ensuring WCE get Bo Allen. This guy our kids went to school together and after the Shai Bolton draft wouldn't shut up about how he fought for Bolton over Fisher but the go home factor was the decider. He reckons Bolton is gonna go berserk in Freo and is backing him for the Brownlow.

I'm catching up with him again hopefully before the draft as I'm dying to pick his brains just got to get my ex to run interference talking about kids schooling and shopping and chick bollocks for me lol. If I get him Johnnie Walker Blue he'll let me watch some of his footage (on mute 😡🤬) I will say this I'm shocked by how unsuccessful the Blues are by how well they look after their employees/ players/ past players/ families.

Thank you.
Your welcome on this board anytime.
Ignore those anti jagga campaigners.
We're slow enough as it is without adding any of Langford/ Smillie or Lalor.
Jagga is slow bro. The fastest I've seen him go was to gtfo the way of a rampaging Lalor...

I don't like Jagga either? I'm a fan of FOS, Reid, etc. If it was up to me we'd take FOS before Lalor.

But would quite like to pick some small forwards and a creative half-backer down the order (Lindsay?). All the more reason I don't want accumulators like Jagga or Langford in our top picks, much less trade up for them.

I'm not just thinking of next year, TT and JH are contracted out to 2029. We're going to have several finishes near the bottom of the ladder before then to pick up a JH replacement (if we want one, we won three premierships without one).

I don't think the combine results matter, if your team is jam-pack full of inside-mids you'll look slow. 20m sprint speed evidently doesn't determine how you naturally play football. I don't think Yze can start to fix that if we keep drafting them.

Sprint speed is one data point in a drafting process. Important to that extent. Agree though that the perception of speed in your midfield will be more determined by the system and players with awareness, composure, knowing when to put the burners on, decision making under pressure. Situationally aware footballers are critical.
However…good to have someone in your mid group you can dish to who you know can bolt away.
Just Do It Running GIF by Rocky

By unbalanced I mean after losing Rioli, Bolton and Baker, and with Prestia and Short both getting worse at kicking, we now have the slowest, worst disposal team in the modern era.

If we end up playing Lalor in the forward half near year (where he won't see the ball) and pick a slow stoppage player like Langford then that'll remain the case. It'll stunt the development of the kids having such a stoppage-based team besides making us unwatchable.

My point is you need to play them, so you can't just draft 6 midfielders. Also I think it's pace and outside class we're desperately missing, not endurance running.

It's not just JH and TT. We have Ross, McAuliffe and Dow who are all slow. Obviously it sucks having a bunch of slow mediocre mids but drafting better versions of them isn't the way out.

IMO if we're going Lalor we should rule out Langford and only get Smillie if he slides.
McAullife, is actually pretty quick, ran a 2.9 at the 23 combine. I’ve seen that speed out of stoppages at VFL level.

What he lacked this year was a tank, so looked slow at AFL level because didn’t have the repeat efforts in him. A couple of preseasons and a new conditioning coach, he’ll be ok.

McAullife, is actually pretty quick, ran a 2.9 at the 23 combine. I’ve seen that speed out of stoppages at VFL level.

What he lacked this year was a tank, so looked slow at AFL level because didn’t have the repeat efforts in him. A couple of preseasons and a new conditioning coach, he’ll be ok.
Top end speed is super deceptive anyway especially in a match situation

Jack Graham was regularly our fastest player by the gameday gps data but if it takes a player 50m to reach that speed it’s useless

Short acceleration speed (IE Dusty) is much more important especially for midfielders

List Mgmt. 2024 Draft - Post Trade Period Edition