Game Day 2024 Draftmatmas live celebration and melt thread

Tell me do you think the Cripps project at CFC is a success???

they have not won a premiership yet. Thrown a lot of money around at various players to as well, bringing different players in, it is all on record

do what you want with a drill, I focus on teams trying to win premierships

This is not about Cripps necessarily, of course, we should be focused on winning premierships going forward.

How is the Bontempelli project going in the midfield at the Bulldogs??? They have won one premiership and Jacko thinks the umpires helped them get over the line in 2016
I never said he was

I’ve never said Smillie was Cripps
So wtf are you on about mate??

People are only comparing the 2 cos of the height and big body mid

No one has said shit about individual awards being priority

Every Richmond fan cares more about premierships than brownlows Magic!
Why would u think different?

You’re pushing a directive that is only in your own mind.
Hence the drilling holes in head gif!

I never said he was

I’ve never said Smillie was Cripps
So wtf are you on about mate??

People are only comparing the 2 cos of the height and big body mid

No one has said shit about individual awards being priority

Every Richmond fan cares more about premierships than brownlows Magic!
Why would u think different?

You’re pushing a directive that is only in your own mind.
Hence the drilling holes in head gif!
you are pushing Smillie as a mid though when in fact potentially he could be more and the team could be more as a result.

I do not use limits

your quote "Smillie and Lalor are both midfielders" post 4463

your quote"Which will be in the midfield. There isn’t much doubt mate" post 4474

Here is another question.

Lets assume Smillie plays in a few positions because he can, it helps him get a breather and he is not labelled/pigeonholed like Cripps, potentially loses a tag if implemented. Lets say Trainor plays in a few positions because he can. Lets assume Tom Brown plays in a few positions because he can. Lets assume our backline is a little bare momentarily. Question, if Tom Sims is rucking and helping up forward is he allowed to go into defence and take telling marks like Max Gawn if he can to help support our defence and give us more ability to win a premiership by helping matchups and overall team potency? Of course Sims is not Gawn but he may have the capability of providing aerial presence of effect in our backline given his traits

I agree Faull probably went a touch early.
There is no logic to this. He went where he went. Who the **** says it was 'early'? What the **** does that even mean?

There's no empirical ordered list of players. They go where teams want them, full stop.

There is no logic to this. He went where he went. Who the ** says it was 'early'? What the ** does that even mean?

There's no empirical ordered list of players. They go where teams want them, full stop.
Too early based on expert BF mock drafts FFS, keep up ;)

you are pushing Smillie as a mid though when in fact potentially he could be more and the team could be more as a result.

I do not use limits

your quote "Smillie and Lalor are both midfielders" post 4463

your quote"Which will be in the midfield. There isn’t much doubt mate" post 4474

Here is another question.

Let’s assume Smillie plays in a few positions because he can, it helps him get a breather and he is not labelled/pigeonholed like Cripps, potentially loses a tag if implemented. Let’s say Trainor plays in a few positions because he can. Let’s assume Tom Brown plays in a few positions because he can. Let’s assume our backline is a little bare momentarily. Question, if Tom Sims is rucking and helping up forward is he allowed to go into defence and take telling marks like Max Gawn if he can to help support our defence and give us more ability to win a premiership by helping matchups and overall team potency? Of course Sims is not Gawn but he may have the capability of providing aerial presence of effect in our backline given his trait He may well play back pocket or forward but he was drafted as a midfielder was he not?

Every player could potentially play multiple positions for whatever the team needs to win premierships though mate

But he was drafted as a midfielder was he not?
Thats not saying he’s 1 dimensional at all

How long is piece of string?
Nothing is set in stone

I agree Faull probably went a touch early. But once we identified Faull as our number 1 KPF option (you can agree or disagree, but it’s what the club thought), it was imperative with 8-picks in the top-24 we got Faull.

So when you think logically about our decisions ….once we’d taken our 3 x mids, we rated Faull as best KPF and Trainor as best defender.

If we took Allan or Berry at 11, then Faull gets to 18 …. we take Faull. But then Sydney is next and from all reports they take Trainor. Or if we take Trainor at 18, then all reports are Sydney take Faull at 19.

So the club made sure we got our preferred forward and defender by taking Faull at 11 and Trainor at 18. You can’t win a flag without a spread of exceptional key position players, so that was our focus … flankers like Berry or additional mids like Allan were a far lower priority.

That is the point we did reach for Faull and i agree it was important that we get a couple of highly touted tall forwards imo it just did not have to be us reaching for Faull at 14 leaving mids that were desperately needed given the list dynamic between mids and key forwards.

Im not sure where you or the club got the idea of Trainor being a serious list need. Not with Gibcus and Balta there with two mature back ups and a few younger blokes who could be developed there as well just how many kpds did we need.
How is that the case. From a list perspective even before the trade period we were in dire need of mids. It became even more dire when Bolton in particular left along with Baker and Graham.

The list of mids at the start of the ND was.
Taranto 27, Hopper 28, Prestia 32 entering his last year, Ross who has played mostly as a wing, 19YO McAuliffe taken with a late nd pick. Dow and Sonsie who both do not look up to it and are both lucky to have got another gig.
That is just 7 mids all up and in taking just three mids this draft it still left us very short on for mids.
Mids were easily a bigger priority for us than talls yet we took more talls than mids and in doing so actually have thrown list balance way out of kilter.Of the mids left on the board id say Reid from a list perspective was the ideal fit but i liked Allan for his versatility.

Imo from the trade period onwards there was a chance for us to get our hands on all of Lalor, Smillie, Hotton, Allan and Reid with just the two talls in Armstrong Shanahan or Whitlock.

Your talking about quality well nm was prepared to give up a future likely top 4 pick to get Whitlock at pick 27 and we took who again at pick 14.
Imo it was foolhardy to leave Armstrong there by taking Trainor even if it was only pick 21 to 23.

I don't just follow what we say or do i question everything and look at what we need for myself.

The one saving grace was the fact of a deep draft but imo we did not address our biggest needs from a list perspective.

Every player could potentially play multiple positions for whatever the team needs to win premierships though mate

But he was drafted as a midfielder was he not?
Thats not saying he’s 1 dimensional at all

How long is piece of string?
Nothing is set in stone
actually I do not subcribe to the theory players are drafted for specific roles unless a very tall ruckman playing in the ruck who has not shown a lot in other roles or other odd situations

when players get drafted they get drafted to contribute to a premiership team.

pigeonholing players at draft time is generally kinda naive in my book

players like Smillie let alone Bont can play multiple roles, why pigeonhole them?? Do you not think Bont has been effective sometimes going forward for the Bulldogs?

**** this was as piss weak attempt at "funny" as we could hope to see today.

Your last chance is up, I warned you, be better, or else.

Found actual GIF of you :heart: MudGuts you big silly

Bring It Reaction GIF

FFS it took thousands of posts to be funny for once well done little buddy

Based on the 25 draft classes from 1995-2019...

Pick 1
200.1 avg. games
16% Premiership players (4)
40% All-Australians (10)
44% B&F Winners (11)
4% Brownlow Winners (1)
4% Norm Smith Winners (1)

Pick 7
155.9 avg. games
24% Premiership players (6)
32% All-Australians (8)
20% B&F Winners (5)
4% Brownlow Winners (1)

Pick 12
114.9 avg. games
20% Premiership players (5)
24% All-Australians (6)
16% B&F Winners (4)
4% Norm Smith Winners (1)
4% Coleman Medal Winners (1)

Pick 14
105.7 avg. games
16% Premiership players (4)
12% All-Australians (3)
4% B&F Winners (1)

Pick 21
86.7 avg. games
4% Premiership players (1)
8% All-Australians (2)
4% B&F Winners (1)
4% Brownlow Winners (1)

Pick 23
77.8 avg. games
8% Premiership players (2)
12% All-Australians (3)
12% B&F Winners (3)

Pick 28
80.4 avg. games
28% Premiership players (7)
8% All-Australians (2)
4% B&F Winners (1)

Pick 58
62.4 avg. games
12% Premiership Players (3)
8% All-Australians (2)
8% B&F Winners (2)
8% Brownlow Winners (2)

Edit: Dane Swan and Lachie Neale were both pick 58's.
Great research. Only thing i would say is drafting has come a long way recently. Id love to see the same stats just for the last 10 years.

Played against Josh Toy at school footy. Our team had quality players who had various careers at AFL level.
Kieran Harper
Aaron Young
Jordan Gysberts
Matt Scott
Sam Blease.
And he torched all of them.

Hole in the heart or something? I think he trialled with us after getting cut from GCS.

what if Lalor and Smillie do not play predominantly midfield???

they have not done it in the pros and at the end of the day it comes down to teams winning premierships

It is like saying Griffiths is a must and then he gets injured and we win in 2017 by accident with a accidental set-up

Lalor and Smillie might end up midfielders, but nothing is a given at this stage and at the end of the day it is what makes our team play best as to how our players are most valuable in the pursuit of the team winning premierships

So your question is … what happens if the two midfielders we drafted in the top-6 as midfielders because that’s where they played
majority of their underage footy as midfielders don’t end up being midfielders…

There is no logic to this. He went where he went. Who the ** says it was 'early'? What the ** does that even mean?

Really? So if Richmond ranked Faull 20th, but were worried he’d go from 12-19 so pick him at 11, did he go a little early?

Teams don’t have every pick, so they go where the team’s pick lands or where it makes sense based on what other teams are likely to do after them, not necessarily where a team would ideally want to select them.

It’s like saying Bailey Smith is worth pick-17 as that’s what Geelong gave for him. No, he’s worth more, but it’s the pick Geelong had so that’s what Dogs received. If Geelong had pick-12 Dogs would’ve received pick 12.

But it’s all guess work. IMO Faull was not the 11th best player in the draft so he went a little early. You have a different opinion. Did Richmond rate him 11th or 20th, but picked him at 11 as they knew others would get him before 20? We will never know.

That is the point we did reach for Faull and i agree it was important that we get a couple of highly touted tall forwards imo it just did not have to be us reaching for Faull at 14 leaving mids that were desperately needed given the list dynamic between mids and key forwards.

Im not sure where you or the club got the idea of Trainor being a serious list need. Not with Gibcus and Balta there with two mature back ups and a few younger blokes who could be developed there as well just how many kpds did we need.
How is that the case. From a list perspective even before the trade period we were in dire need of mids. It became even more dire when Bolton in particular left along with Baker and Graham.

The list of mids at the start of the ND was.
Taranto 27, Hopper 28, Prestia 32 entering his last year, Ross who has played mostly as a wing, 19YO McAuliffe taken with a late nd pick. Dow and Sonsie who both do not look up to it and are both lucky to have got another gig.
That is just 7 mids all up and in taking just three mids this draft it still left us very short on for mids.
Mids were easily a bigger priority for us than talls yet we took more talls than mids and in doing so actually have thrown list balance way out of kilter.Of the mids left on the board id say Reid from a list perspective was the ideal fit but i liked Allan for his versatility.

Imo from the trade period onwards there was a chance for us to get our hands on all of Lalor, Smillie, Hotton, Allan and Reid with just the two talls in Armstrong Shanahan or Whitlock.

Your talking about quality well nm was prepared to give up a future likely top 4 pick to get Whitlock at pick 27 and we took who again at pick 14.
Imo it was foolhardy to leave Armstrong there by taking Trainor even if it was only pick 21 to 23.

I don't just follow what we say or do i question everything and look at what we need for myself.

The one saving grace was the fact of a deep draft but imo we did not address our biggest needs from a list perspective.
We drafted mids with our first two picks and Hotton can rotate through the midfield? We also have no proven A Grade KPP on our list. Given KPP take loner to develop, and we have none on the list that are A grade outside of Balta, we needed a lot of them.

actually I do not subcribe to the theory players are drafted for specific roles unless a very tall ruckman playing in the ruck who has not shown a lot in other roles or other odd situations

when players get drafted they get drafted to contribute to a premiership team.

pigeonholing players at draft time is generally kinda naive in my book

players like Smillie let alone Bont can play multiple roles, why pigeonhole them?? Do you not think Bont has been effective sometimes going forward for the Bulldogs?
I agree with you
No one should pigeon hole anyone

But you said we haven’t addressed our midfield deficiency which I’m saying we have with drafting Lalor, Smillie and Hotton

And we have 2 first rounders next year to get more if needed

I agree with you
No one should pigeon hole anyone

But you said we haven’t addressed our midfield deficiency which I’m saying we have with drafting Lalor, Smillie and Hotton

And we have 2 first rounders next year to get more if needed
yeah nah, you overrate our midfield I think

to me we cannot win a lot going forward unless we need to be a lot stronger in the midfield meaning if good enough the 2 first rounders next year are most likely midfield, but if better players are available in different positions we may have to wait.

Hopefully Kane has a big year but it is what and see who develops

Really? So if Richmond ranked Faull 20th, but were worried he’d go from 12-19 so pick him at 11, did he go a little early?

Teams don’t have every pick, so they go where the team’s pick lands or where it makes sense based on what other teams are likely to do after them, not necessarily where a team would ideally want to select them.

It’s like saying Bailey Smith is worth pick-17 as that’s what Geelong gave for him. No, he’s worth more, but it’s the pick Geelong had so that’s what Dogs received. If Geelong had pick-12 Dogs would’ve received pick 12.

But it’s all guess work. IMO Faull was not the 11th best player in the draft so he went a little early. You have a different opinion. Did Richmond rate him 11th or 20th, but picked him at 11 as they knew others would get him before 20? We will never know.

Yeah. Teams take the players they want at the picks they have. Not everyone wants the same players, so outside of the first few picks any notion of an objective 'order', and therefore whether a player went 'early' or not, is nonsense.

Game Day 2024 Draftmatmas live celebration and melt thread