Game Day 2024 Draftmatmas live celebration and melt thread

I heard some very ordinary stuff about him while assisting at StK. apart from trying to make something so much more complicated than it should be…spent lot of time on massage tables. Basically strutting around as you would imagine. Didn’t last long

I heard very similar at both the Saints and GWS. No real capacity or desire to actually put in the hard yards to teach. Liked to tell stories about Dermie did Dermie.

][emoji6]][emoji6][emoji[emoji6]][emoji6][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]" data-quote="Mr Magic" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
we did not badly need a KPF

no team has as many prospects us us

When we got to pick- we didn’t badly need a KPF? Really?

You were happy with a nearly retired Lynch, an ACL riddled Lefau, a very average Kosi and an untried Fawcett…??

Pretty sure when we picked our preferred KPF option in Faull we needed one … badly.

I heard very similar at both the Saints and GWS. No real capacity or desire to actually put in the hard yards to teach. Liked to tell stories about Dermie did Dermie.
I’ve met him a few times and listened to him speak at a few sportsman’s nights at footy clubs and that definitely seems on brand

Seemed super self indulgent and not the type who would be a good teacher

Smillie is a hybrid and project

What he does against the kids is up for debate and lets get serious, Cripps best year was this year and who is to say Smillie can even get near nor is in his best interests for Smillie to emulate that anyway

RFC is about winning premierships, not collecting brownlows

Lalor may well be a forward that helps in the midfield. The jury is very much up for debate,

Again to win premierships it is about the team, the best combinations and best way to kick a higher score than oppositions on GF day, rather than worshipping players

Nah. Lalor had rarely played forward prior to 2024. He was forced there in a school game as he was underdone and cooked, and he kicked 6-goals in a half. Smillie’d best and eventual long-term position is permanent midfield - he won’t be CHB or a flanker in the future.

Then we have 2 x likely top-5 picks of which one and probably two will be midfielders:

So in 2026:

Hopper: 29yo
TT: 28yo
Ross: 25yo
Macauliffe: 21yo
Lalor: 20yo
Smillie: 20yo
Hotton: 20yo
New draftee: 19yo

(Who knows about Seth Campbell, MRJ or other options who may emerge)

Even if they don’t, the future of our midfield is well and truly under control.

I’ve met him a few times and listened to him speak at a few sportsman’s nights at footy clubs and that definitely seems on brand

Seemed super self indulgent and not the type who would be a good teacher
No idea if he’s a decent person or not but certainly in regard to his commentary he either lacks self awareness of what he’s subjecting us to, or is some sort of narcissist in that he thinks we are in awe of his thoughts.

The waffling, the using fifty words when a far more concise ten would do. Attempting to be a thesaurus when simple language will more than suffice; I mean, it is only footy.

When we got to pick- we didn’t badly need a KPF? Really?

You were happy with a nearly retired Lynch, an ACL riddled Lefau, a very average Kosi and an untried Fawcett…??

Pretty sure when we picked our preferred KPF option in Faull we needed one … badly.

Just a bit of devils advocate here.

Before the draft started key forwards we had 6 on the list and 1 ruck/forward and chose to keep them all.

Lynch 32 outright quality kpf. but it was important we look for his replacement given his age and injury with a decent pick.. For you you think it was Faull me id have taken any number of three others instead. Thus i think Faull was a reach and may have been there at our next pick anyway.

Koschitzke 24 yr old kpf traded for just last year.
Lefau 26 yr old who people are talking up. We have had no luck with injuries with him
Fawcett 19 yo taken at pick 43 just last year. Injuries or glandular fever managed to derail another tall.
Gray taken in the msd this year after showing a bit in the vfl for essendon.A late season injury definately cost him at least a debut.
Bauer who was progressing okay and showing some signs taken in the msd 2023.another working thru injury.
Also had Ryan a ruck forward i have no comment on him.
Thats 6 potential key forwards and a ruck fwd.we certainly had the numbers and three were are still very young. So how badly did we need a key forward is the question.

Going by any metric Faull was a reach at pick 14 and there was a very good chance he would be there at pick 21 along with several similarly ranked talls.

This draft there was only one tall clubs were falling over themselves to get their hands on. Alex Tauru we deemed Smillie a better option.

For me and i have said it before at pick 14 Allan or Murphy over Faull everyday of the week. These two would have been in front of Faull on nearly every clubs board. Im still not sure what we see in him to have us overlook these two players.Not when there were so many better credentialled talls still there to be had just 6 picks later.

Then we come to tall defenders on the list before the draft started. Did we need one badly is the question again.
The honest answer is no. Maybe we could do with another highly rated kpd but we were not lacking for a couple of quality kpds or depth.

Balta who knows they may keep trying him forward anyway. After the haul of tall forwards id be shocked if we did.
Gibcus a high quality kpd taken at pick 9 and if he gets a good injury run will be a star.
Miller going by a lot of comments here people think he will be starting 22 for a while to come.
Young a bit of a battler imo
Blight who we only took in the msd at age 22 having dominated wafl footy.
We could also put Bauer here who projects as a genuine utility and Gray had played in defense as well.
We had numbers and in this case we had quality with Gibcus and Balta but chose to use pick 21 on another kpd who by the way looks a far better player and athlete than Faull.

For me a haul of Lalor, Smillie, Hotton Allan/Reid before we even looked at a tall would have been manna from heaven. If Harrison Oliver was still there at pick 21 i probably would have taken him as well leaving two picks for Armstrong and Shanahan/Sims/Whitlock which would still have given us the Lynch Riewoldt sort of quality replacements we needed to go with all the other talls we already had.

Will have to wait and see. We could miss out on the next Josh Toy

Played against Josh Toy at school footy. Our team had quality players who had various careers at AFL level.
Kieran Harper
Aaron Young
Jordan Gysberts
Matt Scott
Sam Blease.
And he torched all of them.

I personally think Smillie is cripps 2.0, just hope he doesn't get thrown into HB when he struggles at afl level
We do not want Cripps

We are here to win premierships

We picked Smillie to win premierships, not to be Cripps.

Blair stated he does not like to do player comparisons

Nah. Lalor had rarely played forward prior to 2024. He was forced there in a school game as he was underdone and cooked, and he kicked 6-goals in a half. Smillie’d best and eventual long-term position is permanent midfield - he won’t be CHB or a flanker in the future.

Then we have 2 x likely top-5 picks of which one and probably two will be midfielders:

So in 2026:

Hopper: 29yo
TT: 28yo
Ross: 25yo
Macauliffe: 21yo
Lalor: 20yo
Smillie: 20yo
Hotton: 20yo

(Who knows about Seth Campbell, MRJ or other options who may emerge)

Even if they don’t, the future of our midfield is well and truly under control.

You have to consider Lalor could be the best forward in the game.

Great tackler and defensive pressure who kicks ten goals a game

If Lalor is another Dunstall we are playing him forward, it is that simple. Not saying he is but the point is if it helps us win premierships more he plays forward and then supports the midfield going in.

Likewise Smillie, if Smillie best role for us to win premierships within our team is forward and back and certain scenarios in the guts that is what he should do. It makes no sense for Smillie to run around like Cripps busting himself if it does not help us win premierships. We are not here to worship Cripps, we are here to win premierships.

Smillie came to Richmond to be part of a team to help us win premierships, not to walk red carpets and sip on bubbly.

Remember CFC have won diddly squat in recent years, we are not here to emulate that, we want premierships

Ideally we have highly talented half backers like Tom Brown, Trainor and possibly Smillie. The point is they all cannot play in the one spot, but they can make each other play better with continuity and help each other be more effective individually by understanding each others game and working together better like we did at the beginning of 2017. Do they all play half back at the same time all the time?? Of course not but they can play a number of roles and playing together also helps each other understand their games and the subtle nature of when each shifts due to versatility in other roles like midfield or forward or whereever and that understanding comes from continuity, building knowledge and trust at the formation stage

No idea if he’s a decent person or not but certainly in regard to his commentary he either lacks self awareness of what he’s subjecting us to, or is some sort of narcissist in that he thinks we are in awe of his thoughts.

The waffling, the using fifty words when a far more concise ten would do. Attempting to be a thesaurus when simple language will more than suffice; I mean, it is only footy.
id sum him up as severely disorientated,driven by ego unfortunately, an horrendous trait ,most distasteful,thnk god not one of our recent premiership players had an egotic ( a parasitic ego) issue from my observations except for one,n hes gone to play for another club now 🙏

Harsh on Baker 😔

Reid is whatever to me. Small, slow mid is a phasing out archetype. He does have great hands and IQ so will always have a place in an AFL side but not that fussed we didn't get him.

Berry out of those two for me. Would've locked down our small forward stocks for the next 10 years with Berry and Hotton. It would've also given more flexibility for Hotton to turn into a midfielder and still have a quality small forward down there without him.

They went for the extra tall to try sure up the more important position. I don't mind the approach l but I just hope they chose the right player.
They did butcher it I reckon.

They took Faull expecting a run on talls between that pick and the Trainor pick. The reality was their was then a run on mids & smalls and all of Berry, Allen, Reid, Hannaford, Oliver and Hynes went. Leaving only Dattoli and talls left of the top end talent pool.

We do not want Cripps

We are here to win premierships

We picked Smillie to win premierships, not to be Cripps.

Blair stated he does not like to do player comparisons
Umm ‘taps magic on the shoulder and whispers in his ear’

“He’s not actually Patrick Cripps mate, like he’s actually a person of his own you know”

He’s just as tall as Cripps and plays the same position, hence the comparison

Umm ‘taps magic on the shoulder and whispers in his ear’

“He’s not actually Patrick Cripps mate, like he’s actually a person of his own you know”

He’s just as tall as Cripps and plays the same position, hence the comparison

Newsflash, CFC does not have Tom Brown and Trainor. CFC has a big key position back called Weitering so they play a certain way. They also have McKay that plays predominantly forward and tends to run straight lines

Newsflash, RFC has more versatility in our list and along with Smillie RFC can play better than CFC potentially by playing a different way or do you wish us to be a sheep?? If we are to be a sheep it is easier for others to replicate us and beat us as well later

CFC does not have Balta they are restricted in how they can play.

Patrick Cripps is 29 years old and arguably he has played his best year. Are you trying to tell me the message is RFC are going to wait for Smillie to be Cripps so when he is 29 RFC should be ready to win our next premiership??? Sorry RFC has a different list, I would like to think RFC can win premierships with Smillie being much younger so he and the team can experience more success!!!

CFC does not have a Nathan Broad either that can cover the ground for a taller guy.

It is the team that wins premierships meaning at least 22 players and how they play together against a opposition largely determines the result rather than whether one player plays like another in another team or not

Newsflash, CFC does not have Tom Brown and Trainor. CFC has a big key position back called Weitering so they play a certain way. They also have McKay that plays predominantly forward and tends to run straight lines

Newsflash, RFC has more versatility in our list and along with Smillie RFC can play better than CFC potentially by playing a different way or do you wish us to be a sheep??

CFC does not have Balta they are restricted in how they can play.

Patrick Cripps is 29 years old and arguably he has played his best year. Are you trying to tell me the message is RFC are going to wait for Smillie to be Cripps so when he is 29 RFC should be ready to win our next premiership??? Sorry RFC has a different list, I would like to think RFC can win premierships with Smillie being much younger so he and the team can experience more success!!!

CFC does not have a Nathan Broad either that can cover the ground for a taller guy.

It is the team that wins premierships meaning at least 22 players and how they play together against a opposition largely determines the result rather than whether one player plays like another in another team or not
1733262713209.gif

Are you trying to say coaching is not for you???

Coaching is about the team, not whether one player is Cripps or not

this should have been obvious after the beginning of 2017 when even in the preseason the group seem to play more together

the team wins premierships, not one player, even if the one player is Leigh Mathews or whoever

14/ Allan was still there and would have taken him in front of Faull who i had in a large group of talls who i was sure would be there at around pick 20.
Oh, you're sure are you? Farkin lol.

They did butcher it I reckon.

They took Faull expecting a run on talls between that pick and the Trainor pick. The reality was their was then a run on mids & smalls and all of Berry, Allen, Reid, Hannaford, Oliver and Hynes went. Leaving only Dattoli and talls left of the top end talent pool.
Zero mids in that lot.

Tell me do you think the Cripps project at CFC is a success???

they have not won a premiership yet. Thrown a lot of money around at various players to as well, bringing different players in, it is all on record

do what you want with a drill, I focus on teams trying to win premierships

This is not about Cripps necessarily, of course, we should be focused on winning premierships going forward.

How is the Bontempelli project going in the midfield at the Bulldogs??? They have won one premiership and Jacko thinks the umpires helped them get over the line in 2016

Just a bit of devils advocate here.

Before the draft started key forwards we had 6 on the list and 1 ruck/forward and chose to keep them all.

Lynch 32 outright quality kpf. but it was important we look for his replacement given his age and injury with a decent pick.. For you you think it was Faull me id have taken any number of three others instead. Thus i think Faull was a reach and may have been there at our next pick anyway.

Koschitzke 24 yr old kpf traded for just last year.
Lefau 26 yr old who people are talking up. We have had no luck with injuries with him
Fawcett 19 yo taken at pick 43 just last year. Injuries or glandular fever managed to derail another tall.
Gray taken in the msd this year after showing a bit in the vfl for essendon.A late season injury definately cost him at least a debut.
Bauer who was progressing okay and showing some signs taken in the msd 2023.another working thru injury.
Also had Ryan a ruck forward i have no comment on him.
Thats 6 potential key forwards and a ruck fwd.we certainly had the numbers and three were are still very young. So how badly did we need a key forward is the question.

Going by any metric Faull was a reach at pick 14 and there was a very good chance he would be there at pick 21 along with several similarly ranked talls.

This draft there was only one tall clubs were falling over themselves to get their hands on. Alex Tauru we deemed Smillie a better option.

For me and i have said it before at pick 14 Allan or Murphy over Faull everyday of the week. These two would have been in front of Faull on nearly every clubs board. Im still not sure what we see in him to have us overlook these two players.Not when there were so many better credentialled talls still there to be had just 6 picks later.

Then we come to tall defenders on the list before the draft started. Did we need one badly is the question again.
The honest answer is no. Maybe we could do with another highly rated kpd but we were not lacking for a couple of quality kpds or depth.

Balta who knows they may keep trying him forward anyway. After the haul of tall forwards id be shocked if we did.
Gibcus a high quality kpd taken at pick 9 and if he gets a good injury run will be a star.
Miller going by a lot of comments here people think he will be starting 22 for a while to come.
Young a bit of a battler imo
Blight who we only took in the msd at age 22 having dominated wafl footy.
We could also put Bauer here who projects as a genuine utility and Gray had played in defense as well.
We had numbers and in this case we had quality with Gibcus and Balta but chose to use pick 21 on another kpd who by the way looks a far better player and athlete than Faull.

For me a haul of Lalor, Smillie, Hotton Allan/Reid before we even looked at a tall would have been manna from heaven. If Harrison Oliver was still there at pick 21 i probably would have taken him as well leaving two picks for Armstrong and Shanahan/Sims/Whitlock which would still have given us the Lynch Riewoldt sort of quality replacements we needed to go with all the other talls we already had.

I agree Faull probably went a touch early. But once we identified Faull as our number 1 KPF option (you can agree or disagree, but it’s what the club thought), it was imperative with 8-picks in the top-24 we got Faull.

So when you think logically about our decisions ….once we’d taken our 3 x mids, we rated Faull as best KPF and Trainor as best defender.

If we took Allan or Berry at 11, then Faull gets to 18 …. we take Faull. But then Sydney is next and from all reports they take Trainor. Or if we take Trainor at 18, then all reports are Sydney take Faull at 19.

So the club made sure we got our preferred forward and defender by taking Faull at 11 and Trainor at 18. You can’t win a flag without a spread of exceptional key position players, so that was our focus … flankers like Berry or additional mids like Allan were a far lower priority.

I agree Faull probably went a touch early. But once we identified Faull as our number 1 KPF option (you can agree or disagree, but it’s what the club thought), it was imperative with 8-picks in the top-24 we got Faull.

So when you think logically about our decisions ….once we’d taken our 3 x mids, we rated Faull as best KPF and Trainor as best defender.

If we took Allan or Berry at 11, then Faull gets to 18 …. we take Faull. But then Sydney is next and from all reports they take Trainor. Or if we take Trainor at 18, then all reports are Sydney take Faull at 19.

So the club made sure we got our preferred forward and defender by taking Faull at 11 and Trainor at 18. You can’t win a flag without a spread of exceptional key position players, so that was our focus … flankers like Berry or additional mids like Allan were a far lower priority.

what if Lalor and Smillie do not play predominantly midfield???

they have not done it in the pros and at the end of the day it comes down to teams winning premierships

It is like saying Griffiths is a must and then he gets injured and we win in 2017 by accident with a accidental set-up

Lalor and Smillie might end up midfielders, but nothing is a given at this stage and at the end of the day it is what makes our team play best as to how our players are most valuable in the pursuit of the team winning premierships

Game Day 2024 Draftmatmas live celebration and melt thread