Jivlain
Hammelmann Appreciation Society

- Sep 19, 2015
- AFL Club
- Brisbane Lions
- Other Teams
- Swansea City
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 23
The Golden Ticket - MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
I remember years ago a friend telling me that back when he had arrived at boarding school from the country he, like everyone else, had to sign up for Union.If I didn't know better, I'd say they were counting every private school student that's so much as held a rugby ball.
Delete Tom Scully.The reason for the Northern Academies was largely due to the fact that being based in non AFL dominated states, the majority of the playing list was from intestate, making it more difficult to retain players.
Don’t lose sight of that.
Also, additional salary cap was removed.
Try telling the GWS the academy system is a rort. The number of players who have left them is a joke, and they do need assistance.
Best 22 of ex-GWS Giants : at end of 2020:
FB: Caleb Marchbank, Aidan Corr, Lachie Plowman
HB: Zac Williams, Sam Frost, Nathan Wilson
C: Tom Scully, Adam Treloar, Dylan Shiel
HF: Will Hoskin-Elliott, Jeremy Cameron, Devon Smith
FF: Jonathon Patton, Josh Bruce, Jacob Townsend
FO: Rory Lobb, Taylor Adams, Jack Steele
IC: Will Setterfield, Matt Kennedy, Adam Tomlinson, Tom Boyd
You can add to that list:
2021:
Jeremy Finlayson
2022:
Bobby Hill
Tanner Bruhn
Jacob Hopper
Tim Taranto
2024:
James Peatling
Isaac Cumming
Harry Perryman
Same, I went to a catholic school back in the UK and your choices were union and league or union and soccer withI remember years ago a friend telling me that back when he had arrived at boarding school from the country he, like everyone else, had to sign up for Union.
On the funny side he didn't even know the positions and they were asking for name and position when you got to the front of the line. So he gave his name and the same position the boy before him said which was forward. You know those really fast skinny winger types whose main desire is to not get tackled? That was where he ended up ... his time in the forward pack was ... interesting.
Frejah played most of the year for the dogs and is a really promising 18yoCerra's pretty good but is never consistently healthy.
Reading the descriptions and they aliken Levi to Lachie Neale (great) and Marshall to Adam Cerra (). Weve got players being compared to Curnow, Jeremy Cameron, Nick Reiwoldt, Dusty, Luke Hodge, Lachie etc., and the best they come up for with Marshall is bloody Adam Cerra. I hopehe's nothing like Cerra and certainly doesnt have the injury issues that have plaugged Cerra all his career.
Some other kid was likened to Joel Freijah and my first thought was who? Seriously I've never heard of Joel Freijah so perhaps Cerra is complimentary.
I thought the same, I consider the sport pretty much dead but they did just poach that young player from the NRL for $5 million, a bit of 'old school' money perhaps.Where the hell are 450 Rugby Union schools in QLD?
It’s primarily played in private schools, and there aren’t that many private schools in QLD.
I’ll be genuinely shocked if there are more Rugby Union players in QLD than Rugby League players.
yep it was a little harder to find Registered Players like the other sports put out and your right, I reckon it's an exaggerated number although the number of schools may be correct there certainly not that many players going onto to be adult players.If I didn't know better, I'd say they were counting every private school student that's so much as held a rugby ball.
I'm not sure if anyone has brought this up but we have 6 list spots but 7 draft picks something doesn't work here
That was Gubby Allan.Guy inherited the messNed Guy, isn’t he the one who screwed up the Collingwood salary cap?
Simple Count 27 34 42 43 49 60 and 66 is 7 picksWho says we have seven draft picks?
Anything over the number of list spots (six) goes away, so we don't really have access to 66 once we get to draft day.Simple Count 27 34 42 43 49 60 and 66 is 7 picks
Its not second rate in Qld, it's probably 5th rate or ever 6th rate. The only one watching a local match is the bloke reluctantly walking his girlfriend's dog that stops as the dog does its business and he is glad to get a break from the mutt.just for the record again, I totally agree with the existence of academies and think the Lions (and the other 3 northern clubs should have exclusive access to their zones)
I just don't agree with shipping a kid off to Victoria, to be part of CTL and have almost no academy exposure at all, and retaining the exclusive access. I see the point that Clarky is making, but all it does is perpetuate the backwards thinking that footy in QLD is 2nd rate.
Reasonable points. I'd still suggest that if theyre choosing between League and AFL and the Broncos say "we can sign you straight in, you can stay 10 mins from your family", and the Lions say "you'd go into the draft and have a 90% chance of being forced to live elsewhere", we'd see a drop in participation. Agree with your points about the lions academy needing a lot of work too.just for the record again, I totally agree with the existence of academies and think the Lions (and the other 3 northern clubs should have exclusive access to their zones)
I just don't agree with shipping a kid off to Victoria, to be part of CTL and have almost no academy exposure at all, and retaining the exclusive access. I see the point that Clarky is making, but all it does is perpetuate the backwards thinking that footy in QLD is 2nd rate.
I think you need to think this through a little bit.Simple fix,make Clubs that are going to bid on father son or academy players declare their intentions 48 hours before the draft.
Well aware that I'm tempting fate by posting the following response here but here goes anyway.
You think that a vic based AFL club, all of which have zero direct connection to private schools, would somehow persuade those schools (bribe them?) to offer scholarships to Brisbane based kids in order for those kids to be available in the open pool so they might have a slim chance of having a draft pick that lands close enough that they might pick them?
This is some deep state #VICBIAS conspiracy stuff right here.
I get what NGA's are meant to be. If they get some young African kids off the streets and into the game in Melbourne - great. If they reach some Middle Eastern kids in West Sydney like Rugby League has - fantastic. Importantly if an NGA can bring an Aboriginal kid from some far remote community where his life was tough, put him in a boarding school in Melbourne where he gets a better education and also plays AFL then that is a really good thing.Reasonable points. I'd still suggest that if theyre choosing between League and AFL and the Broncos say "we can sign you straight in, you can stay 10 mins from your family", and the Lions say "you'd go into the draft and have a 90% chance of being forced to live elsewhere", we'd see a drop in participation. Agree with your points about the lions academy needing a lot of work too.
What do you think about the NGAs? In my opinion, they are a far bigger rort.
They were raised as a way to increase indigenous participation, despite Indigenous participation being at twice the population proportion.
Kako this year. Likely top 10 pick. Born in Melbourne. Raised in Melbourne. Grew up In Melbourne playing AFL. But his parents were born overseas so Essendon get priority access. Ugle-Hagan obviously. Hell, Andy McGrath went pick 1. A few years later he'd have qualified as NGA. I just dont get it.