List Mgmt. 2024 Father Son watch MKIII. Operation Ashcroft jnr. Featuring various academy boys.

In the business world he would be focused and productive and CEO of a major company by 35.

He is no different to Olympic level athletes, whose dedication and focus we laud.

Sure he will never be a party boy, but that's youth these days. Less drugs, alcohol and sex than my generation apparently.

What he will do is amass a fortune by 30 (his app is going to be popular with teenage footy players everywhere) then live a life a absolute luxury doing whatever the hell be wants.

Wish I'd been him.
Not sure that is true. Now with online/app dating you just don't have to go out to meet girls/guys. It is one of our best advancements as a society :tearsofjoy:
Don't get me wrong people who like going out and partying will always do it regardless, but the apps mean you can stay home, not drink, party or even stay up/out late to meet people to sleep with.

nothint stopping the Lions from putting a kid in a good school footy program in Brisbane while exposing to them academy.

The suns move the kids down from NQ and put them up and into private schools on the GC.

I believe there is a boy from Lions at Marist on some sort of academy based scholarship
$$$
The private schools fund themselves due to wealthy benefactors, outrageous costs for non-scholarship kids etc.
As I said above, I am doubtful that Qld could offer the kind of development and competition Victoria can for decades to come.

$$$
The private schools fund themselves due to wealthy benefactors, outrageous costs for non-scholarship kids etc.
Most private schools get almost as much government funding as State schools get, then there are the student fees, etc on top.
As I said above, I am doubtful that Qld could offer the kind of development and competition Victoria can for decades to come.
From an outsiders perspective, our academy doesn’t offer the kind of development that kids get in Victoria.

Isn’t the Academy just a part time gig for the players?
I cant see how anyone expects the Academy to have the development capability of a full time system anywhere in Australia.
I thought the Academy was basically just a guidance system in place to help them see what a full time system is like with training, eating habits, medical and psychology guidance, recovery.
They only play, what, 5 games for the Academy every year?
Isn’t the rest up to their clubs or Schools to give them the development required to get them ready to be drafted.
And it will be a while away before they get the development to a level that they get in Victoria for example.

The Lions academy at u18 level, will take 60-80 kids out of the club/school system from early November until mid to late March.

Only to pick about 25-27 out of that 60-80, and send the rest back to clubland 2 weeks out from Round 1. Those 'lucky' enough to be selected will play ~6 games for the Lions and then go back to their clubs at about Round 7-8 (unless they make the allies, which is usually only a handful)

so yes, for some of them its ~4 months of training, without playing a single game for the academy and for others its 7 months of training for ~6 games!

It's a wonder the clubs aren't huge fans of the process, especially as they complete pretty high standard QAFL pre-seasons at a good venue at a consistent location and time that is close to home, often with better or equal standard coaches and higher standard players. The academy kids drive to the sunny coast to train on weekends, sometimes ar BHA, sometimes at Nudgee college, sometimes at Zillmere, sometimes at Coorparoo, sometimes at Aspley etc etc. A nomadic existence for 4 months for not much reward for more than 50% of them.

I don't have a better idea how to do it either, as they have to cater for kids spread from Beenleigh to Bundaberg!

Isn’t the Academy just a part time gig for the players?
I cant see how anyone expects the Academy to have the development capability of a full time system anywhere in Australia.
I thought the Academy was basically just a guidance system in place to help them see what a full time system is like with training, eating habits, medical and psychology guidance, recovery.
They only play, what, 5 games for the Academy every year?
Isn’t the rest up to their clubs or Schools to give them the development required to get them ready to be drafted.
And it will be a while away before they get the development to a level that they get in Victoria for example.
The academy should be a full time set up, part of a full time competition.

I’ve had these discussions on the QAFL board.

Many of the complaints from the QAFL clubs is about the part time nature of the academy and the coming and going of the kids between clubs and academy, and being involved in “pointless” competitions right when Colts and QAFL finals are on.

The academy should be a full time set up, part of a full time competition.

I’ve had these discussions on the QAFL board.

Many of the complaints from the QAFL clubs is about the part time nature of the academy and the coming and going of the kids between clubs and academy, and being involved in “pointless” competitions right when Colts and QAFL finals are on.
I agree.
But part of which competition.

How many private schools offering scholarships are there in Melbourne... if there are at least 10 then you could zone one each to a different Vic club and if a Marshall type goes to Melbourne Grammer then he gets to choose whether to nominate for the Brisbane Academy or whichever club (Pies) were randomly assigned that school!

/S

It's a ridiculous loophole.

Part of the reason academies get the concessions is because of the work they put in to develop the local kids, and thats fair enough too.

However Marshall didn't even play for the Lions Academy this year. They have played precisely zero role in his development (which is probably why he is so good!). If you choose to go and board in Victoria, then you are entering that system - classic case of cake and eating it too.

It's sooooo good isn't it. Truly so amazing.

The reason for the Northern Academies was largely due to the fact that being based in non AFL dominated states, the majority of the playing list was from intestate, making it more difficult to retain players.

Don’t lose sight of that.

Also, additional salary cap was removed.

Try telling the GWS the academy system is a rort. The number of players who have left them is a joke, and they do need assistance.

Best 22 of ex-GWS Giants : at end of 2020:

FB: Caleb Marchbank, Aidan Corr, Lachie Plowman

HB: Zac Williams, Sam Frost, Nathan Wilson

C: Tom Scully, Adam Treloar, Dylan Shiel

HF: Will Hoskin-Elliott, Jeremy Cameron, Devon Smith

FF: Jonathon Patton, Josh Bruce, Jacob Townsend

FO: Rory Lobb, Taylor Adams, Jack Steele

IC: Will Setterfield, Matt Kennedy, Adam Tomlinson, Tom Boyd

You can add to that list:
2021:
Jeremy Finlayson

2022:
Bobby Hill
Tanner Bruhn
Jacob Hopper
Tim Taranto

2024:
James Peatling
Isaac Cumming
Harry Perryman

The reason for the Northern Academies was largely due to the fact that being based in non AFL dominated states, the majority of the playing list was from intestate, making it more difficult to retain players.

Try telling the GWS the academy system is a rort. The number of players who have left them is a joke, and they do need assistance.

2021:
Jeremy Finlayson

2022:
Bobby Hill
Tanner Bruhn
Jacob Hopper
Tim Taranto

2024:
James Peatling
Isaac Cumming
Harry Perryman
They are also in a way freeing up the top Vic prospects to the Vic teams. People complain that top tier prospects are walking to the Northern clubs, however, if the Suns or Lions have a top prospect and our picks get swallowed matching that means we aren’t in the live draft picking one of the top interstate players? Sure the Suns got Walter, Read, Rogers in the top 20 last year but you only go back 10 years and there were hardly any QLD players getting drafted? If they hadn’t developed these players in the academy and they didn’t make it onto an AFL list the Suns pick up a Duursma or Sanders last year instead leaving a lesser prospect for North or Dogs to get their hands on.

Just to add to this, the Vic teams once again having access from pick 1 to NGA talents is insane imo. If the Bombers didn’t have access to Kako this year they could still draft a Lindsay, Travaglia, Reid, Berry, Smille ect. in their draft range(In other words they’d still land a highly rated Vic prospect regardless should they choose).

Reading the descriptions and they aliken Levi to Lachie Neale (great) and Marshall to Adam Cerra (🤮). Weve got players being compared to Curnow, Jeremy Cameron, Nick Reiwoldt, Dusty, Luke Hodge, Lachie etc., and the best they come up for with Marshall is bloody Adam Cerra. I hopehe's nothing like Cerra and certainly doesnt have the injury issues that have plaugged Cerra all his career.

Some other kid was likened to Joel Freijah and my first thought was who? Seriously I've never heard of Joel Freijah so perhaps Cerra is complimentary.

Reading the descriptions and they aliken Levi to Lachie Neale (great) and Marshall to Adam Cerra (🤮). Weve got players being compared to Curnow, Jeremy Cameron, Nick Reiwoldt, Dusty, Luke Hodge, Lachie etc., and the best they come up for with Marshall is bloody Adam Cerra. I hopehe's nothing like Cerra and certainly doesnt have the injury issues that have plaugged Cerra all his career.

Some other kid was likened to Joel Freijah and my first thought was who? Seriously I've never heard of Joel Freijah so perhaps Cerra is complimentary.

Cerra's pretty good but is never consistently healthy.

That kind of lines up with my thinking of Marshall and a big part of the reason why he will slide. Just lacks an outstanding attribute which will influence games

I think the argument most people have over the academies are just internal Aussie Rules gibberish.

Registered AFL players in Qld 56,935
Registered Soccer players in Qld 211,923
Registered Rugby League Players in Qld 69,931 plus 70,000 touch football players
Rugby Union around 250,000 across 200 clubs and 450 schools ( I don't really believe that number)
There were 33 Queenslanders on the Olympic swim team

Argue the numbers all you like but Queensland kids have choices - lots of them. The Lions Academy is about trying to encourage kids to make AFL their choice.

It maybe surprising to Victorians but AFL is a medium/minor sport in Queensland. A news program might get 1 or 2 stories a weekend on AFL, 1 during the week but League is on every night, Union, Soccer and Swimming get more coverage than AFL.

A kid like Kalyn Ponga was chased by AFL but settled on Rugby League, now with the Newcastle Knights on $1.4 million p/a
Jack Payne had an athletics career, potentially an olympic discus thrower but the Academy got him to AFL.
Tommy Fullerton was really good at AFL at 16/17 years but chose basketball with the Bullets (until he came back).
Reece Walsh's new contract with the Broncos for a 22 year old signs $5 mil over next 4 years.
We have kids 12 to 14 off to English soccer clubs and if they turn out any good the clubs on-sell their contracts, developing juniors is an industry in English Soccer.

You can probably argue, and you could, 'a rolling stone gathers no moss' in juniors but Carmichael Hunt earned extraordinary money across Rugby League, AFL and Rugby Union - right place right time.

There are heaps of kids coming through junior programs and they earn great money across any of the sports and because of the Draft in the AFL they earn that money faster in any of the other sports on offer if they are top tier kids.

Sending Queensland kids to Victorian boarding schools simply gets them away from recruiters from rugby, union and soccer. Every good AFL kid should be re-located as Private Schools in Victoria. In Qld the Private Schools play Union, some League, Soccer and then AFL. Public and Private schools in Queensland offer choice and kids do change sports in Queensland schools and the majority of Queensland parents are generational NOT AFL supporters.

Argue all you like about unfairness of sports scholarships but it just shows you don't have the broader picture of junior sport in Queensland.

I think the argument most people have over the academies are just internal Aussie Rules gibberish.

Registered AFL players in Qld 56,935
Registered Soccer players in Qld 211,923
Registered Rugby League Players in Qld 69,931 plus 70,000 touch football players
Rugby Union around 250,000 across 200 clubs and 450 schools ( I don't really believe that number)
There were 33 Queenslanders on the Olympic swim team

Argue the numbers all you like but Queensland kids have choices - lots of them. The Lions Academy is about trying to encourage kids to make AFL their choice.

It maybe surprising to Victorians but AFL is a medium/minor sport in Queensland. A news program might get 1 or 2 stories a weekend on AFL, 1 during the week but League is on every night, Union, Soccer and Swimming get more coverage than AFL.

A kid like Kalyn Ponga was chased by AFL but settled on Rugby League, now with the Newcastle Knights on $1.4 million p/a
Jack Payne had an athletics career, potentially an olympic discus thrower but the Academy got him to AFL.
Tommy Fullerton was really good at AFL at 16/17 years but chose basketball with the Bullets (until he came back).
Reece Walsh's new contract with the Broncos for a 22 year old signs $5 mil over next 4 years.
We have kids 12 to 14 off to English soccer clubs and if they turn out any good the clubs on-sell their contracts, developing juniors is an industry in English Soccer.

You can probably argue, and you could, 'a rolling stone gathers no moss' in juniors but Carmichael Hunt earned extraordinary money across Rugby League, AFL and Rugby Union - right place right time.

There are heaps of kids coming through junior programs and they earn great money across any of the sports and because of the Draft in the AFL they earn that money faster in any of the other sports on offer if they are top tier kids.

Sending Queensland kids to Victorian boarding schools simply gets them away from recruiters from rugby, union and soccer. Every good AFL kid should be re-located as Private Schools in Victoria. In Qld the Private Schools play Union, some League, Soccer and then AFL. Public and Private schools in Queensland offer choice and kids do change sports in Queensland schools and the majority of Queensland parents are generational NOT AFL supporters.

Argue all you like about unfairness of sports scholarships but it just shows you don't have the broader picture of junior sport in Queensland.
Where the hell are 450 Rugby Union schools in QLD?

It’s primarily played in private schools, and there aren’t that many private schools in QLD.

I’ll be genuinely shocked if there are more Rugby Union players in QLD than Rugby League players.

Where the hell are 450 Rugby Union schools in QLD?

It’s primarily played in private schools, and there aren’t that many private schools in QLD.

I’ll be genuinely shocked if there are more Rugby Union players in QLD than Rugby League players.
If I didn't know better, I'd say they were counting every private school student that's so much as held a rugby ball.

I remember years ago a friend telling me that back when he had arrived at boarding school from the country he, like everyone else, had to sign up for Union.

On the funny side he didn't even know the positions and they were asking for name and position when you got to the front of the line. So he gave his name and the same position the boy before him said which was forward. You know those really fast skinny winger types whose main desire is to not get tackled? That was where he ended up ... his time in the forward pack was ... interesting.

2021:
Jeremy Finlayson

2022:
Bobby Hill
Tanner Bruhn
Jacob Hopper
Tim Taranto

2024:
James Peatling
Isaac Cumming
Harry Perryman
Delete Tom Scully.
I don't think the Giants lose many they want to keep

List Mgmt. 2024 Father Son watch MKIII. Operation Ashcroft jnr. Featuring various academy boys.