2024 Ladder Predictions

I'd be very surprised if
Adelaide finish bottom 4
We finish above them
Adelaide can win the 24 Premiership full stop

Posters who aernt putting them in the top 8 have got rocks in their head

Watch the last showdown match of 23 , where they absolutely annihilated Pt Ade - and Port were trying but were just totally outclassed

That performance by the Crows had , we are going to win a flag in the next couple of years written all over it

Adelaide can win the 24 Premiership full stop

Posters who aernt putting them in the top 8 have got rocks in their head

Watch the last showdown match of 23 , where they absolutely annihilated Pt Ade - and Port were trying but were just totally outclassed

That performance by the Crows had , we are going to win a flag in the next couple of years written all over it
Measuring them against Port isn't a great yardstick, when Port have shown they habitually crumble in finals.

Not sure they Crows win the flag this year, but I think they are a decent chance of making finals. They should have made them last year if not for that goal umpiring error against the Swans.

I am not sold on Adelaide at all but they are clearly in the mix to play finals in 2024.

Premiership? Very unrealistic.

Pointing to one game as evidence as to why they can go deep is absurd.

Do we also point to a loss against bottom 4 Gold Coast and use it as some sort of proof that they won’t make the 8?

I am not sold on Adelaide at all but they are clearly in the mix to play finals in 2024.

Premiership? Very unrealistic.

Pointing to one game as evidence as to why they can go deep is absurd.

Do we also point to a loss against bottom 4 Gold Coast and use it as some sort of proof that they won’t make the 8?
Adelaide need to show they can win away from home. Won 2 games away from the Adelaide Oval last year. Against West Coast and against us early in the year when we were at West Coast and North's level

Tbf they got within a goal from top 4 sides multiple times last year while away from home.

I need to see the forward line go to another level.

Tex had a career year in 2023, but can he repeat it as a 33/34 year old?

Fogarty and Thilthorpe need to take the next step. Fogarty has set a good platform with 2 seasons of 30+ goals in a row, but at 24 years old the time for him to take the next step is now.

Thilthorpe is younger and thus has more time on his side, but he too needs to start showing consistent improvement. The injury to start this season does not help.

Rankine/Rachele are both excellent. But how much will they play forward? There's a lot of talk about them pushing into the midfield. Neither of them are consistent performers, and I wouldn't want my forward line reliant on 2 inconsistent smalls anyway if I'm looking to push into September.

There's a lot of buzz about them. I just don't necessarily see it happening for them this year.

Well, here's my post-preseason ladder after selecting a winner for each game. I am surprised I have Carlton, St Kilda, and Fremantle so low. Skeptical about it tbh, but I may as well fully back my selections. Not like I'll 100% get things right anyway.

Also, West Coast will probably pick up more wins than just 1. I just don't know where it'll come from though. Still, I think they'll end up wooden spooners.

And it's not illegal to be optimistic about Richmond's season so STFU about it in advance thanks :)

WLD%
1.Brisbane Lions1850127.0%
2.GWS1760120.9%
3.Collingwood1760114.9%
4.Melbourne1580112.4%
5.Port Adelaide1490112.3%
6.Adelaide13100112.1%
7.Richmond13100108.0%
8.Geelong13100106.7%
9.Essendon13100105.2%
10.Gold Coast12110103.0%
11.Sydney12110101.7%
12.St Kilda11120100.0%
13.Western Bulldogs1013099.5%
14.Carlton1013098.8%
15.North Melbourne716085.5%
16.Hawthorn617076.1%
17.Fremantle518081.8%
18.West Coast122060.3%

QF1: BRISBANE LIONS v Melbourne
QF2: GWS v Collingwood
EF1: PORT ADELAIDE v Geelong
EF2: ADELAIDE v Richmond

SF1: MELBOURNE v Port Adelaide
SF2: COLLINGWOOD v Adelaide

PF1: BRISBANE LIONS v Collingwood
PF2: GWS v Melbourne

GF: BRISBANE LIONS v GWS

I need to see the forward line go to another level.

Tex had a career year in 2023, but can he repeat it as a 33/34 year old?

Fogarty and Thilthorpe need to take the next step. Fogarty has set a good platform with 2 seasons of 30+ goals in a row, but at 24 years old the time for him to take the next step is now.

Thilthorpe is younger and thus has more time on his side, but he too needs to start showing consistent improvement. The injury to start this season does not help.

Rankine/Rachele are both excellent. But how much will they play forward? There's a lot of talk about them pushing into the midfield. Neither of them are consistent performers, and I wouldn't want my forward line reliant on 2 inconsistent smalls anyway if I'm looking to push into September.

There's a lot of buzz about them. I just don't necessarily see it happening for them this year.
You need our forward lines to go another level?

We were the highest scoring team last season.

Thilthorpe is out for a while, but the forward line still should be as potent.

We need more improvement from both our midfield & defensive pressure. Particularly periods where the opposition get run ons.

Preseason they have been working on game play in close games. Winning more of the close games will be important & hopefully as we get more players past 50+ game mark, this will improve with experience.

1. Brisbane
2. GWS
3. Collingwood
4. Port Adelaide
5. Carlton
6. Sydney
7. Melbourne
8. St Kilda

9. Fremantle
10. Gold Coast
11. Western Bulldogs
12. Geelong
13. Adelaide
14. Essendon
15. Richmond
16. Hawthorn
17. North Melbourne
18. West Coast

On Pixel 7 using BigFooty.com mobile app
If we finish bottom 2 again, we'll be putting in a call to old mate Laura for another 5 first round draft picks

The footy world will be in shock if that call is not made.

This is not the year for a sharp climb.

I like your style...
Lol, well maybe they won’t finish that low, but I am concerned about their offensive ability. They had a 6-game offensive purple patch from Round 14 to Round 20 last year. Outside of that, what decent scores did they have last year?

• 152 points against wooden spooners West Coast in Round 7. Sydney scored 205 points against them for context.
  • 107 against bottom 2 North Melbourne in Round 4.
  • 91 points against bottom 4 Gold Coast in Round 23.
  • 90 points against Geelong in Round 2 (I rate this one).

Outside of these 10 games, the highest score they scored is 74 points. For a team with 2 Coleman medallists in their side, I think that’s pretty poor. They started this preseason exactly the same, scoring 56 points against Geelong and 63 points against Melbourne.

In comparison:
  • Collingwood had 19 scores above 74 points including 10 scores that are 100 points or above
  • Brisbane had 20 scores above 74 points including 11 scores that are 100 points or above.

Even GWS had 9 scores above 100 and a total of 20 scores above 74 points. These sides have about as much scores above 100 points as Carlton have above 74 points.

Carlton have a great defence and a solid midfield, but they can’t rely on offensive purple patches if they want to be consistent finalists. They need consistent avenues to goal outside of Curnow and McKay.

We’ll see how it goes this season, but I’m not convinced right now.

West Coast aside, I don’t think there’s any team you can categorically and definitively stake as being a bottom 4 finisher from the outset. Hawthorn’s injuries haven’t helped but they’ve proven to pull out competitive performances against top performing sides even with a weakened list.

Reckon it’s gonna be a logjam in the ladder over the course of the season.

West Coast aside, I don’t think there’s any team you can categorically and definitively stake as being a bottom 4 finisher from the outset. Hawthorn’s injuries haven’t helped but they’ve proven to pull out competitive performances against top performing sides even with a weakened list.

Reckon it’s gonna be a logjam in the ladder over the course of the season.
Nothing is ever guaranteed, but just looking at the improvement required at North and/or drop-off required from 3 teams above them makes me think it is unlikely that North escapes the bottom 4. Especially when they got younger.

To get ahead of Freo (14th 2023) they need to make up 7 wins and 25%

That also assumes that neither Hawks or GC improve.

You need our forward lines to go another level?

We were the highest scoring team last season.

Thilthorpe is out for a while, but the forward line still should be as potent.

Yes I think it does. But that doesn’t necessarily mean more scoring, a greater distribution is a greater need.

I don’t think you can be relying on a 33/34 year old Tex to replicate his 2023 heroics. Others need to step up around him.

Yes I think it does. But that doesn’t necessarily mean more scoring, a greater distribution is a greater need.

I don’t think you can be relying on a 33/34 year old Tex to replicate his 2023 heroics. Others need to step up around him.
Sure, but that isn't another level, rather changing the contribution amongst the players.

Pretty sure the likes of Rankine will increase their contribution.

2024 Ladder Predictions