Mega Thread 2024 Media & Miscellaneous Thread

Represents the origin story of the swan river and the outlying islands (rottnest, garden etc.)

The snake (river) tore apart the crocodile and scattered its remains off the coast (islands)

That's the very short version.

Will they be referencing Beeliar Boodjar in any way given it's where we train and are now based?
Whoa whoa whoa... that's too many new words to learn. 😂

I'm still trying to get my head around Walyalup. How is it pronounced... is it Wall-E A-Lup?

wall-e lol GIF by Disney Pixar

Whoa whoa whoa... that's too many new words to learn. 😂

I'm still trying to get my head around Walyalup. How is it pronounced... is it Wall-E A-Lup?

wall-e lol GIF by Disney Pixar
Pretty sure it's Wul-ya-lup

Looked on 50x words, and there's no pronunciation for it, although there are plenty more.

Will need to dig up a welcome to country speech.

Ok so I might be showing my age here (not a boomer!!) but while I love the visuals of the new ‘Stop at Nothing’ season campaign, that godawful song grates on my delicate eardrums. I prefer my tinnitus to that noise. Can anyone write out the lyrics for me so at least I know what they’re going on about. TIA

I'm with you. The visuals are slick but I can't stand the song. Sounds jarringly American and super corny, more like an Wildcats/NBL intro package than a blue-collar footy club. Hope it doesn't find its way into our pregame but suspect it will.

WLD%
1.Geelong1571132.0%
2.Fremantle1580127.4%
3.Brisbane Lions1490125.0%
4.Melbourne1490110.9%
5.Richmond1490103.9%
6.Gold Coast149095.3%
7.Carlton13100109.1%
8.Port Adelaide13100107.7%
9.Sydney13100104.6%
10.Collingwood12101108.0%
11.Essendon1111189.1%
12.Western Bulldogs11120101.1%
13.St Kilda1112092.0%
14.West Coast1012185.6%
15.GWS9140101.5%
16.Adelaide716075.7%
17.North Melbourne518066.8%
18.Hawthorn419085.1%
QF1: GEELONG v Melbourne
QF2: FREMANTLE v Brisbane Lions
EF1: RICHMOND v Port Adelaide
EF2: Gold Coast v CARLTON

SF1: Melbourne v RICHMOND
SF2: Brisbane Lions v CARLTON

PF1: GEELONG v Carlton
PF2: FREMANTLE v Richmond

GF: Geelong v FREMANTLE

Played the squiggle. Seems legit

WLD%
1.Geelong1571132.0%
2.Fremantle1580127.4%
3.Brisbane Lions1490125.0%
4.Melbourne1490110.9%
5.Richmond1490103.9%
6.Gold Coast149095.3%
7.Carlton13100109.1%
8.Port Adelaide13100107.7%
9.Sydney13100104.6%
10.Collingwood12101108.0%
11.Essendon1111189.1%
12.Western Bulldogs11120101.1%
13.St Kilda1112092.0%
14.West Coast1012185.6%
15.GWS9140101.5%
16.Adelaide716075.7%
17.North Melbourne518066.8%
18.Hawthorn419085.1%
QF1: GEELONG v Melbourne
QF2: FREMANTLE v Brisbane Lions
EF1: RICHMOND v Port Adelaide
EF2: Gold Coast v CARLTON

SF1: Melbourne v RICHMOND
SF2: Brisbane Lions v CARLTON

PF1: GEELONG v Carlton
PF2: FREMANTLE v Richmond

GF: Geelong v FREMANTLE

Played the squiggle. Seems legit
That would have to be close to the most even season of all time?

I'm not sure what happened :tearsofjoy: I'm not convinced on the Essendon part either. I may have another bite at the cherry haha

Is that Stan doco out yet?

In other news saw some of the boys at Tony Ailes the other day. Belly and I made eye contact and I gave him the “sup” head nod
Kristen Wiig Sup GIF

He didn't reciprocate.
Yeah mate, was out as of 5pm today on Stan.

One episode, 1.40hr

Was alright, step backwards from last year and felt really rushed unfortunately. Last years series was more insightful overall

Biggest takeaway for me was how upset Grundy was to be given the flick

Yeah the song made me cringe a bit.

Starting this stupid doco now--wish me luck.

Brodie Grundy seems a bit of an odd-ball. I kinda like him.

Is that Stan doco out yet?

Was absolutely woeful, don't waste your time.

I had to laugh watching a sweaty Colin Young run down a hallway for ten minutes having absolutely no influence on anything or anyone.

The doco does confirm Logue was happy to stay for two years on the same money but we turned it down... Bit of a WTF freo for me - either we overpay on second contracts as is rumoured or we did just didn't rate him at all.

I'm a third of the way through this and it's friggin horrible.

The agents are trying to come across like they're the ones making the trades and working out how to make both clubs happy and come to an agreement when in reality they're not doing a goddamn thing lmao. Give me a doco about actual list managers. That would be interesting.

Cannot believe how much of a flog Lobb is coming across as 😂 doing himself absolutely no favors.
Griff at least looks bloody devastated the whole time. Clearly does not want to go.

This is so, so bad and I have no idea why anyone would think this would make for interesting viewing

I'm a third of the way through this and it's friggin horrible.

The agents are trying to come across like they're the ones making the trades and working out how to make both clubs happy and come to an agreement when in reality they're not doing a goddamn thing lmao. Give me a doco about actual list managers. That would be interesting.

Cannot believe how much of a flog Lobb is coming across as 😂 doing himself absolutely no favors.
Griff at least looks bloody devastated the whole time. Clearly does not want to go.

This is so, so bad and I have no idea why anyone would think this would make for interesting viewing
Good advice. I absolutely refuse to watch it. Not paying credence to those wnakers like C.Young; they get ridiculous enough airtime as it is

No current applications for land behind Fremantle’s headquarters as sand patch painted green​

Fremantle has spray-painted green an ugly, undeveloped sand patch behind its Cockburn headquarters ahead of match simulation. But the future of the land remains unclear, writes ELIZA REILLY.

February 24, 2023 - 9:00AM
The sand patch has been painted green ahead of Friday's match simulation. Picture: Supplied

Fremantle has spray-painted green an ugly, undeveloped sand patch behind their Cockburn headquarters ahead of match simulation as the future of the land remains unclear.
The sand hill behind the goals was coloured on Thursday morning in an attempt to soften the blow for prying eyes as a national audience prepares to tune into Friday’s pre-season clash with Adelaide.

The land has remained untouched since Fremantle moved into its new high-performance facility in 2017.
Speaking at a Harbour Masters function earlier this month, CEO Simon Garlick reportedly told fans that the club was hoping to do something about the eyesore but nothing had eventuated.
City of Cockburn Head of Development and Compliance Lorenzo Santoriello told CODE Sports: “There are no current development or subdivisional applications for any of the Mixed Use Residential, Retail and Commercial lots behind Victor George Kailis Oval at Cockburn ARC.”
The undeveloped sand patch to the west hasn't been touched since Fremantle moved into their Cockburn headquarters. Picture: Fremantle FC

One thought is that the Dockers could develop the land themselves. Late last year, the club announced a separate upgrade to its existing facilities which will include AFLW and community changerooms.
The lots are owned by DevelopmentWA, which has indicated it will be a future stage of the Cockburn Central West project that started with the construction of the $109m ARC, the facility that houses Fremantle.
The project intends to serve as an extension to the Cockburn Central shopping centre, serving as a unified town centre for local residents.

I'm almost positive that is not spray painted green. I'd bet my membership it's an oft-used spray on organic material to prep the area for future growth that is very common in large scale civil projects.

Either way though, action at last for those who hated the yellow banks.

Show me the money indicates the standing the agents have within the game, watch Paul Conners try to shmooze with the Dogs group and they pretty much ignore him, they are real estate agents.
Watching Colin Young running (hyperventilating) down hallways and going from room to room like he was having any influence upon proceedings whatsoever was unironically hilarious