Mega Thread 2024 Media & Miscellaneous Thread

Beer snobs to the left and Yobbos to the right.

The best side to be on is the middle, just drink what ever you feel like or is available at the time. It's Beer, it's all good.
Stouts for winter, sours for summer, whatever's on tap at functions.

Tawny's, Rum, Scotch for when I want to actually enjoy something.

I can grasp that a lager is different to an ale, and we have IPAs and other derivatives. But the snobbishness is approaching wine levels now.

I liken it to cooking. My lasagna tastes different to my Auntie’s, which is far superior to my Mum’s (sorry mum) but mum’s lasagna still shits all over that awful one my mate’s wife served up that time. Seriously, how can one stuff up a lasagna? But at the end of the day it’s still a ****ing lasagna.

We all have different tastes and preferences, and just because someone doesn’t rate the latest hazy XPA (complete with beard and sleeve tattoo), it doesn’t make their palate any less refined.

tldr? Just shut up and drink your beer.

Being born and bred on the Goldfields of WA, we were raised on Hannans lager which I still maintain, was the best best beer going round. We also has Swan Lager.Swan was that stuff brewed in Perth.Drank it it was a lsat resort.
When I left the Goldfield I became an Emu bitter man. A good drop if very very cold , as all good beers should be, Even bad ones should be as well.
Now if I have a beer, or should I say buy one, I usually try different Pale ales. Some good, some are almost undrinkable.
But have become more of a Scoth drinker when I have a drink. Buy a good or reasonabley good drinkable whisky and just sip away with an ice block in three finger.
Taste changes as you mature.

My Grandmother's lamb roast is better than everyone else in the world's lamb roast.
So you can all stick that in your twisted up knickers.
And I like to wash it down with a can of Export.
suck my dick GIF

The place for Retro guenresy?
Don’t like it, but get it because it’s 30 years since formation.
Would love Purple Haze next season though
A few years ago there was a red and white retro jumper, which was very South Freo. There's never been a jumper that reflects their links to East Freo as well? Maybe an Old Easts jumper like Brian Peake wore in the '79 Grand Final? :)

I'm pretty sure we had a blue and white one at some stage.

Hey! Hoping to get one when the time is right work-wise. Where’d you get yours? All the ones I’m seeing are tiny!
Our little guy came through a breeder in Rockingham a few years ago. He’s a small dog, from a miniature (not toy) poodle cross. If you want a slightly bigger dog get a groodle or labradoodle. The smaller size of those are bigger than Cav’s.

I will be 26 years sober this November and can testify to what E Shed is telling you all about the lack of choice back in the day. As a non-drinking alcoholic, I am being amused by all this fancy-pantsing about piss that's going on. The twittering of dilettantes and amateurs.

It is, I imagine, a bit like being a whore and hearing some teenagers giggling about gobbies.
Congrats. 25 years for me this year.
I have actually really enjoyed the rise of zero beer & wine.

Heaps normal XPA is fantastic & Guinness zero is spectacular.
There are some really decent alcohol removed reds now too.

I used to miss a cold beer on a hot day or a decent red with dinner. Not anymore!

MY favourite Retro guernsey the Mighty Red and White one.
Depending on who is playing, as to what colour my blood is.

Here you go. 2007 v Sydney @ SCG
IMG_3796.jpeg

Being born and bred on the Goldfields of WA, we were raised on Hannans lager which I still maintain, was the best best beer going round. We also has Swan Lager.Swan was that stuff brewed in Perth.Drank it it was a lsat resort.
When I left the Goldfield I became an Emu bitter man. A good drop if very very cold , as all good beers should be, Even bad ones should be as well.
Now if I have a beer, or should I say buy one, I usually try different Pale ales. Some good, some are almost undrinkable.
But have become more of a Scoth drinker when I have a drink. Buy a good or reasonabley good drinkable whisky and just sip away with an ice block in three finger.
Taste changes as you mature.

I always maintained the key benefit of Emu Export was it tasted the same, warm or cold.

That's like saying you wouldn't have listened to the Radio in 1935 with it being the only option other than reading a book. If you were inclined to drink you would have drunk what was available.

I say all this with the fact in mind I am actually not old enough to have experienced at time when one of Emu Export / Bitter, Swan Draft / Larger / Gold was your only choice unless they were fancy enough to have Houghtons White Burgundy available. By the time I reached drinking age the revolution had begun a few years before. Hell you could get McEwan's on tap in the Kardinya Tavern in 1997.

It’s like saying I’d support a different footy team if Freo didn’t exist.

It’s probably true but I cannot imagine and would not want it any other way.

That's like saying you wouldn't have listened to the Radio in 1935 with it being the only option other than reading a book. If you were inclined to drink you would have drunk what was available.

I say all this with the fact in mind I am actually not old enough to have experienced at time when one of Emu Export / Bitter, Swan Draft / Larger / Gold was your only choice unless they were fancy enough to have Houghtons White Burgundy available. By the time I reached drinking age the revolution had begun a few years before. Hell you could get McEwan's on tap in the Kardinya Tavern in 1997.
Then there was Matilda bay mid Brewed on Stirling Highway North Fremantle before CUB took it over and made it in Melbourne.
And during the Americas cup here in Fremantle, there was Bondy's Swan Black, yuk terrible stuff. If I had dtow can , I would get a migraine. Not sure what was in it but, horrid stuff.

There's a series about the interstate start up clubs in the AFL/VFL. Haven't seen the other episodes and it takes a while to get going - but there's some chats with Gerard Neesham, David Hatt and Ross Kelly that I haven't seen before, even if it's telling a history most Fremantle fans know.

Mega Thread 2024 Media & Miscellaneous Thread