Mega Thread 2024 Media & Miscellaneous Thread

This is what footy people in Melbourne think of us. We are a genuine minnow

We can get angry about this and dispute it all we like (i dont agree with and dont like hearing it) - but the fact is for 28yrs, bar a few hot years we've been vanilla, average, poor. We only have ourselves to blame for these comments. We dish up trash which makes us an easy target. I liked our effort on Saturday, but our first quarter was still trash. Our first quarter performances are just another example of something we do which makes us an easy target.

Meh, Freo is a minnow club effectively, the same as the Kings in the NBA and Leicester City in EPL. Embrace the small market identity, hold a grudge on shitty vic bias, complain about players being overlooked or ignored in the media and cry foul on rigged umpiring.

Most importantly I’d argue, disassociate the clubs “personality” from your own. Freo doing poorly or well or how they are viewed in general has nothing to do with yourself. Enjoy footy for what it is as a supporter, just a bit of fun…

Yeah I don't think it make any difference what they think. The vast majority only do fingernail deep analysis. Half of them probably don't even watch the games.

We're ****er than we thought and probably hoped, but it's not outside the realistic range of a group with this demographic.

Most importantly I’d argue, disassociate the clubs “personality” from your own. Freo doing poorly or well or how they are viewed in general has nothing to do with yourself. Enjoy footy for what it is as a supporter, just a bit of fun…

Very reasonable words. You must be new here. Welcome to BF, mate. ;)

When I moved on from NFL to AFL, I had these exact words on my mind. I find I really enjoy the journey and entertainment of the sport and club more than I used to when I was in deep emotionally with my American football team. Sport is no different than a movie or book. It's entertainment, just with a tribal and communial aspect to it. This makes it amazing and unique but also can get too much at times. I'm proud to be a Freo supporter regardless of what the Vic media thinks or what our "status" is in the comp. We'll win one some day. It may be in 2 years, 5 years, or 15 years.

I'm reminded of a T-shirt from one of my former students who was a Detroit Lions fan. I died laughing when I first saw it. Lean into it. It's a hell of a lot more fun when you do. :)

91IM87eeuCL._AC_CLa%7C2140%2C2000%7C81pXIGE8i8L.png%7C0%2C0%2C2140%2C2000%2B0.0%2C0.0%2C2140.0%2C2000.0_UY1000_.png

We can get angry about this and dispute it all we like (i dont agree with and dont like hearing it) - but the fact is for 28yrs, bar a few hot years we've been vanilla, average, poor. We only have ourselves to blame for these comments. We dish up trash which makes us an easy target. I liked our effort on Saturday, but our first quarter was still trash. Our first quarter performances are just another example of something we do which makes us an easy target.
We started our history with poor concessions from the AFL in terms of players and then chose an inexperienced AFL coach. Have never recovered apart from a brief uplift in 2013- 2015 and sprinklings of potential throughout the years.

This is what footy people in Melbourne think of us. We are a genuine minnow

Leadership is the problem. A bit of a hot take here, but I don't think the club has had a feared/respected captain since the Great Pavlich. When we start playing ruthless footy and start belting teams, then we will get media attention. The good news is the fixes are relatively straight forward:

• A quick attacking winger - Stanley?.
  • An Elite small forward.
  • Another experienced assistant coach.
  • Re-jig the leadership team.
You can fix the above in an off-season and while not having pick 4 sucks, it really is not required to fix the above.

Serong is the guy though. I reckon he'll challenge anybody that doesn't toe the line and commit to winning a premiership. Serong (C), Brayshaw (VC) and Young (VC). That's the future leaders of the team.

We started our history with poor concessions from the AFL in terms of players and then chose an inexperienced AFL coach. Have never recovered apart from a brief uplift in 2013- 2015 and sprinklings of potential throughout the years.

This is kind of my point - we always have excuses or at least reasons for a failing (and i agree some like examples you provide are very valid). Freo supporters always have the same chats about we'll be better next time, Player X will improve ya da ya da ya da. We're always blaming something and living in hope for tomorrow and yet, 28 years of history tells us we're a poor footy club who've achieved nothing. Breaks my heart but maybe that's just us which sucks to say. Wish we could have sustained improvement but i cant see it right now.