Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion

Impey, Frost & Ginnivan were training with the main group with Ginnivan doing some extra running afterwards.
Hickmont with Sam worked with the forwards when they split into groups for one activity. Finn was with the backs.
Another heavy running ball drill focus.
Had a quick brief chat with Hale as he was going up the stairs - he thought they had returned in good shape as a group.
Wingard was watching on in training gear.
He should be doing extra extra

To be fair Noel in my opinion has been a fairly balanced poster.

I agree Ginni is young, but we need him to toe the line no excuses! Hopefully he is on the right track and inspired by the fact he is playing for his Hawks.

I am a Ginni fan an he has not even played a game for us yet.

According to the heraldSun Lewis and Jiath are on restricted training programs. Lewis is expected to join in full training soon.
Ginni and Sic in the same team.
Once we get a midfield villain we'll have the full set. Wonder if we can get a Jordan Lewis type midfielder in this draft.

I remember when I was 20, didn’t make some great decisions and nobody knew who I was. Ginnivan would be one the highest profile Vic based players so being out in public getting stopped for pics, signatures etc probably wears thin when he was trying to enjoy his break and he prob told a bloke to f*ck off.
Nothing to see here
It wasn’t this scenario - that’s just being rude. Him and his mate were being absolute flogs and it away poor form. TBH I don’t really care about his off field persona - I care about the 4 year deal and the effect he has on the playing group

Having said that, confident that Sam will sort him out, one way or another, he won’t be gifted games and Sam won’t put up with his off field bullshit

Once we get a midfield villain we'll have the full set. Wonder if we can get a Jordan Lewis type midfielder in this draft.

Harley Reid.

To be fair Noel in my opinion has been a fairly balanced poster.

I agree Ginni is young, but we need him to toe the line no excuses! Hopefully he is on the right track and inspired by the fact he is playing for his Hawks.

I am a Ginni fan an he has not even played a game for us yet.

According to the heraldSun Lewis and Jiath are on restricted training programs. Lewis is expected to join in full training soon.

Based on socials, Lewis has been competing in a pro-am tournament for the last few days...

I've kept an open mind open Ginnivan since we recruited but heard some pretty disturbing news about him since coming across.. Cut a long story short, Jack was actually like an real dic with a mate down Torquay way and not impressing the locals at the time. Can't confirm if he was drunk or not but was acting like an absolute flog (won't go into further details)

If it looks like a d...head, walks like a d...head, talks like a d...head than he probably is....

If you’re offending the toff flogs out Torquay way you’re probably doing something right.

So how much a dick on a scale of one to campbell brown?

It'll be interesting next year.

Ginnivan, Moore and Watson will make an exciting forward line but also an extremely frustrating one. I'm not a fan of intentionally drawing high frees and all 3 of those blokes will be league leaders in that element of footy.

It'll be frustrating as a fan, imagine how much opposition supporters are gonna hate it.

Can’t wait for the height updates about Serong and Wiz.
Tired Oh No GIF by Liverpool FC

It'll be interesting next year.

Ginnivan, Moore and Watson will make an exciting forward line but also an extremely frustrating one. I'm not a fan of intentionally drawing high frees and all 3 of those blokes will be league leaders in that element of footy.

It'll be frustrating as a fan, imagine how much opposition supporters are gonna hate it.
Gin, Moore, and Wizzer won't be deliberately drawing frees. They dont need to.
I'm essence, Talls have the advantage in marking contests... Why shouldn't our smalls have the advantage of free kicks. If it's there then the ump should pay it.

Gin, Moore, and Wizzer won't be deliberately drawing frees. They dont need to.
I'm essence, Talls have the advantage in marking contests... Why shouldn't our smalls have the advantage of free kicks. If it's there then the ump should pay it.
Hate to break it to you mate, but all three already do deliberately draw frees. You'd have to be blind or wilfully ignorant not to see it.

That’s okay
Gerard Whiteley will no doubt back them up much like he did for Selwoods whole career

He wouldn’t change his tune now would be?

I've kept an open mind open Ginnivan since we recruited but heard some pretty disturbing news about him since coming across.. Cut a long story short, Jack was actually like an real dic with a mate down Torquay way and not impressing the locals at the time. Can't confirm if he was drunk or not but was acting like an absolute flog (won't go into further details)

If it looks like a d...head, walks like a d...head, talks like a d...head than he probably is....
I wasn't impressed with the locals the last time I was at the Torquay hotel
:sweatsmile:

I’ve got a mate who knows him personally and couldn’t speak any higher of ginni. This bloke is someone who definitely has his head screwed on and whose word I would certainly trust too.

I suppose different sources will report different things and it’s up to us to make of it what we wish.

Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion