Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion

Surprised the club hasn't silenced him - they used to be pretty rapid with limiting people from commenting if they were being flogs. You could take snippets of his input and send it to the Hawks. I did that with a guy posting racist crap on our Instagram and they took his stuff down and went to investigate if he had a membership also.

Not sure the club can Police Facebook pages though?

Fair point - I read the post as saying the Hawks FB page, not a Hawks FB page. Granted if the unofficial Hawks pages are allowing flogs to vent their spleen and act like trolls they could act to shut down the pages. Happened many moons ago with the Lions - they had no official FB page and the only one there was unofficial and run by a kid and there was absolute trolling and bullying occurring so the Lions got the page shut down and set one up of their own.

Surprised the club hasn't silenced him - they used to be pretty rapid with limiting people from commenting if they were being flogs. You could take snippets of his input and send it to the Hawks. I did that with a guy posting racist crap on our Instagram and they took his stuff down and went to investigate if he had a membership also.

I know who Worps is speaking about. He is connected to the club believe it or not. Ive been told just posts for pure comedic purposes but haven’t seen it personally

Jeepers if he is officially connected to the club, we’re rotten in the inside still.

I’ve got a mate who knows him personally and couldn’t speak any higher of ginni. This bloke is someone who definitely has his head screwed on and whose word I would certainly trust too.

I suppose different sources will report different things and it’s up to us to make of it what we wish.

It could also be that Ginni was having a bad day, or was reacting to provocation by some local hero, if it happened, that is. People occasionally act out of character. Happy to trust your mate on this if he knows him well, and looking forward to our man Ginni make the haters boo for a long time to come!

Jeepers if he is officially connected to the club, we’re rotten in the inside still.
Just because there may be one idiot working at club doesn't mean they're all idiots.

Oh totally agree, just I had hoped Gowers brought some integrity to our team. I guess it is still a work in progress.

Sadly a few idiots impact the whole group, so hoping we’re weeding those ones out ASAP.

If Weddle, DGB and Day all take ‘next steps’ we’d also improve big time.

Who would have the biggest ‘next step’ impact? Interesting to hear others thoughts?

Denver. Having him become a consistent competent KPD (who can swing forward) would do so much for our structure, give Sicily freedom to play offensively (like the first Saints game in 23) and take a lot of pressure off Blanck.

There's not just a spot for him, there's an entire career if he wants to seize it.q

Oh totally agree, just I had hoped Gowers brought some integrity to our team. I guess it is still a work in progress.

Sadly a few idiots impact the whole group, so hoping we’re weeding those ones out ASAP.

How exactly is one employee (if he is even an employee), that says on a Facebook group that Watson is too short, going to impact the whole group? Not every employee of the club is going to be a Hawks fan.

Training today at Bungil Bagora I left before they finished. The first day of training for our new draftees

No Shows
Gunston
Chol
Amon
Will McCabe back in SA getting one last hurrah with the family and friends before he starts next week along with the rest of them above.

Rehab
Reeves: Was in the stands with the rest of us watching on.
Lewis: Had his runners on carrying his footy boots did a lot of running on the far side.
CJ: Is in rehab but he is joining in more of the drills. Taking it slow with him so we avoid any calf or hamstring injuries

I came to training just as The wiz was coming down the stairs today along side Daysy. Welcomed him home to the best club in the land. Everyone else out there. Shook Ratts hand as we coming down to training a warm welcome back to the club by other track watchers as well.

Dimma coming down the stairs. He saw me and he was like hey I am not last out. I was like its all right Dim I didn't mention it lol

Its not hard to pick out the newbies as they are on the skinnier side. Although Bodie was instantly recognisable because of his hair and watto cos he was small and speedy.

For the parts of training that i was there for it was broken down into three groups of 12 or so. One group goal kicking and the other two doing stoppage work and 12 and 12 game play. They rotated on the coaches whistle. Some of these drills were with the football others with a soccer ball where they are throwing the ball as they move from one end to the other. Mostly a team work and running exercise. It appeared hectic but several times Sam pulled them up because they weren't structured or running to support in the right places.

Of the newbies Ginnivan is quicker than I thought and looks sharp and fit. Bodie seems to have a good turn of speed and good hands. Watto so quick with his hands and decision making. Dear took a great contested mark in a pack of 5. Massimo didn't shirk as they came gunning for him rode a big bump and dished it off in one of the drills.

Newk does not like being tackled or brought down in these drills. Every time he has he has looked to tackle out his frustration. Hustwaite and him have had some encounters. Hus actually did pretty well in one such encounter where he just brute forced Newks tackle brushed him off and disposed of it. There is something about this kid he is so composed with the ball in hand and has great vision.

Another piece of play saw BMAC absolutely blow past his opponent who was trying to chase him. I can still smell the fumes a couple of hours later. He looks fit and in for a big season does Bailey. He didn't complete a full pre season last pre season. Was in rehab a lot. Lookout if he can get some composure with his disposal.

Weddle looks primed to take the competition by storm. In one play he made the tackle to dispose his opponent and seconds later he was 60 meters receiving the handball. His recovery and running ability is freakish.

Finally i think for me the play of the day was watching the running of Finn in a play where the ball was kicked forward to Croc on wing who picked it up started running forward. Finn who was behind him kept running in support with chasers from the opposition. Croc then handballed to Ramma just inside 50 and Finn kept running past him and received the ball inside 40 and slotted it from the 10m inside the boundary. He had ran around 120m to make that play.

I had to leave shortly after plenty to look forward to as this preseason progresses. Lots of work to do till next time

Do you think Weddle could become one of elite wingers we need this year as I feel this is one of the positions we still don’t have.

Especially if Amon goes to the back line as I don’t think Morrison is a premiership winger.

Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion

Write your reply...