Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion

With regards to Ryan do track watchers think he has an AFL body / fitness base yet?

If Hardwick does indeed play forward there is a spot for someone to play that mid sized hard nosed defender / offensive Backman hybrid role which seems to be right in Bodies wheelhouse.
I have seen him a bit, think it is optimistic at this stage. Hope to be wrong! I hope he turns into a Grimes type. Under 18 suggests comfortable on the last line.

I gotta say - I'm pumped for this season.

More than for quite some time.

It's not the end of 2024 season finish place - I'd happily take being in contention with the 8 up until the last few rounds as a 'good result' - it's the potential growth that has got me buzzing.

I want to see where Sams footy brain takes us with better personnel and an extra year of coaching into the 'kids' - to see the tweakes and variations that a better fitter squad bring.

I want to see individual improvements - some I think likely (injuries permitting) are:

Duke to score more, and increase his influence- and get top 3 in the Brownlow

Chol to kick 45+

Lewis to get career high goals scored.

Watson and Ginnivan to learn from Punky and become a true small forward 'deadly duo'

Hustwaite to have a real breakout.

CJ to own a wing / HHF role

Weddle to spend much more time roving through the midfield

Reeves to take the next step - more marks, more tackles, and hit the scoreboard regularly, and become a true A grade ruck.

Blanck to take real steps to becoming a genuine 10 year KPD

Gunston to show everyone he isn't cooked - and more.

Ward, CMac, Mackenzie, Butler, Mitchell, CJ, Weddle,D'Ambrosia maybe BMac and Ryan - all make the step up to the next level.

DGB to find a spot, own it, and keep it.

Nash to be finally acknowledged as a very good player by the media

More players in AA squad

Seeing many, many more hawthorn fans at the games - even with the dreadful timeslots!

Genuinely excited for what shapes up to be a season to begin an era of success.

Thrashing the * would be a great start.

Go Hawks in 2024 - and Merry Xmas to the Brown and Gold hordes!

I honestly believe we'll make the 8. We have a terrific squad and the youngsters are driving high standards. The fwd line with Lewis, Chol, Gunston, Bruest, Wingard (later on)
Ginnivan, Wizzzzz, Moore, Ramsden, etc... We have some depth but we can't afford to lose guys like Lewis Sicily and Newk.
I hate the idea of Hardwick moving forward.. Sammy should have trialled him fwd last season.

Dimma fwd won't work. He's a defender all day, and we have no one else to take the small fwds.
It is a strange one, but you’d think Mitchell knows what he is doing (evidence indicates this) sees 2024-25 differently with others (Mitchell, Ryan?) able to take the small forwards. Having options there gives the side versatility

I honestly believe we'll make the 8. We have a terrific squad and the youngsters are driving high standards. The fwd line with Lewis, Chol, Gunston, Bruest, Wingard (later on)
Ginnivan, Wizzzzz, Moore, Ramsden, etc... We have some depth but we can't afford to lose guys like Lewis Sicily and Newk.
I hate the idea of Hardwick moving forward.. Sammy should have trialled him fwd last season.
Hardwick did have a few quarters forward in the back half of the season.

I gotta say - I'm pumped for this season.

More than for quite some time.

It's not the end of 2024 season finish place - I'd happily take being in contention with the 8 up until the last few rounds as a 'good result' - it's the potential growth that has got me buzzing.

I want to see where Sams footy brain takes us with better personnel and an extra year of coaching into the 'kids' - to see the tweakes and variations that a better fitter squad bring.

I want to see individual improvements - some I think likely (injuries permitting) are:

Duke to score more, and increase his influence- and get top 3 in the Brownlow

Chol to kick 45+

Lewis to get career high goals scored.

Watson and Ginnivan to learn from Punky and become a true small forward 'deadly duo'

Hustwaite to have a real breakout.

CJ to own a wing / HHF role

Weddle to spend much more time roving through the midfield

Reeves to take the next step - more marks, more tackles, and hit the scoreboard regularly, and become a true A grade ruck.

Blanck to take real steps to becoming a genuine 10 year KPD

Gunston to show everyone he isn't cooked - and more.

Ward, CMac, Mackenzie, Butler, Mitchell, CJ, Weddle,D'Ambrosia maybe BMac and Ryan - all make the step up to the next level.

DGB to find a spot, own it, and keep it.

Nash to be finally acknowledged as a very good player by the media

More players in AA squad

Seeing many, many more hawthorn fans at the games - even with the dreadful timeslots!

Genuinely excited for what shapes up to be a season to begin an era of success.

Thrashing the * would be a great start.

Go Hawks in 2024 - and Merry Xmas to the Brown and Gold hordes!
I'll settle for a few less things

Hawkies Christmas wishlist

Scrimshaw to become the player we & Sam Mitchell believe him to be capable of.

Butler to own a pressure forward spot.

DGB to give us optimism as a long term player.

Wizard to make the cats defense look silly.

Wingard to return. I've got a big soft spot for him.

Mitch Lewis to play consistently and kick over 50 snags

Bodie Ryan rising star nomination

Gini to get under the skin of pies causing one of their players to get suspended in another great Hawks pies game

We all know what Newk brings to the table a brilliant player/teammate when he is on ……… what will elevate him to becoming a great is doing it consistently week in week out for 10 years. Being able to spend some time forward to snag a couple would be nice as well. He has the character willpower and competitiveness to work his butt off and do it I reckon

I liked listening to commentators during the year who he has won over already that love watching him play.

the numbers between him martin/dgb/petracca might be similar but what will elevate Duke imo is delivering in big moments. When the game is there to be won newk stands up. that's what the best do.

Not about stats its being a genuine matchwinner.

the numbers between him martin/dgb/petracca might be similar but what will elevate Duke imo is delivering in big moments. When the game is there to be won newk stands up. that's what the best do.

Saw it plain as day in the third quarter against Brisbane this year. 14 disposals and multiple score involvements wasn't it?

From memory he scored 85 Supercoach points in that quarter alone or something absurd like that.

We have an inter-club game against WB at Whitten Oval I believe?

Anyone know if it's open to spectators?
I'm only asking as I read somewhere that some teams aren't making these games general admission - I think North Melbourne are one such club.

If we are allowed in - free to Members?

Thanks all.

Friday, February 23
Western Bulldogs v Hawthorn, Whitten Oval, 11am AEDT

Open to all.

If he can match Dusty's big moments in the really big games, we'll be celebrating a flag or three.

The bloke is 21 and has barely played 50 games, give him time…

Reports suggest some St Kilda-aligned ex-players, perhaps influenced by a former team-mate of theirs who was a relative failure as an assistant coach with us, reckon his ceiling is limited.

I'm going to enjoy hearing/watching these supposed experts squirm when our current No.3 proves himself to be a 'lethal' gun over the next decade.
if he has reached his ceiling already, im happy with that limitation.

How do we all feel about Nash? More improvement to come, or did he reach a ceiling last season, being someone who didn’t grow up with the sport?

I believe the former to be the case. Is a beast, could be an absolute MONSTER.
I think his game smarts are just starting to come into it. He has more growth to come.

How do we all feel about Nash? More improvement to come, or did he reach a ceiling last season, being someone who didn’t grow up with the sport?

Given it was his first year as a midfielder I think there's development to come both for his game sense and his synergy with the midfield group.

Projects as a B+ to A grade player that elevates our midfield group through his physical traits.

Nash has been steadily improving in all aspects of his game. He has always had very strong basic athletic capacities. His kicking doesn't' look flash but it is now quite reliable and sometimes very good. He has always had fast hands and great tackling skills as well as a few tricks that derive from gaelic football. His biggest limitation is that he is yet to master overhead marking. If he can add that to his repertoire he will go to another level because his size will give him plenty of asymmetrical contests. It seems to me that he has the commitment and work ethic to take the next step.

Already a much, much, better player than I thought he was ever going to be.

Any further improvement from here is just gravy IMOH.

I'll admit I got this one wrong, what a turnaround!

Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion