Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion

Hope all is well with you mate. I guess getting involved with help lines or in general volunteering helps others and you can share this story.
An opioid overdose is one of the more easily preventable OD deaths if the information and resources were available or more widespread. Apparently, something like 80%+ of Naxalone administration by non-trained people was effective in stopping an overdose in its tracks. Harm reduction information is extremely important, even for those who will never touch drugs in their life, as it could help them save one in the future

So Sports Integrity Australia (Aust Gov agency) who did the test & notified the AFL & Smith of the result are as corrupt as the AFL & didn’t want the AFL’s image tarnished.

Melb was 4th after that game on 64pts (round 23 & final round)
Carlton was 5th on 54pts

We were 16th on 28pts
GC were 15th on 36 pts.

Stripping the club of the 4pts would achieve zero

Really what should happen but won’t is Smith getting a lengthy ban.

Ban the individual who made their own choice to put something illegal into their body.

Hardwick forward - when one considers the pros to the forward line and leaves aside the hole in the backline - it will be pretty sweet seeing a defensive forward with his skills i.e. locking it in the forward 50 etc. His knowledge of observing small forward craft would be quite up there too. And it could speak of depth in our defensive stocks…Hmm…maybe this is actually a bit

Will Ferrell Reaction GIF
From what I understand ( and makes sense to me ) is that Hardwick is training with the forwards to teach our young small forwards , exactly what a defender doesn’t want them to do ! In other words how to be most dangerous. I expect him to play back come round 1 .

That’s all well and good but what is his current consumption of illicit drugs like?

The way Mitch has plucked Newk out of no where, moved Nash into the middle, Moore close to being delisted to now being a leader at the club etc ……. the man has got an amazing eye for footy and being brutally honest telling players on how to become an AFL player. If he wants Dimma to train with the forwards or Amon down back to benefit the team so be it. I’m sure he has his reasons ….. right behind you Sammy!

Wouldn't he be able to do that better if he was playing as a defender and manning them up?

We found out that Hardwick was a good lockdown defender almost by accident.

He was the dominant forward of his draft year and arrived at a club that had no room for him in their forward line.
First and foremost, he is an extremely good player, and shone in our backline, perhaps because of his quality rather than it being his best position.

Really good players can often play well in any position. Think Dusty, Dangerfield etc. They kick goals when they go forward because of their quality. We've done the same with Hodge, Ayres and Knights in the past when we needed a goal kicker.

The truth is we don't know if Hardwick is a better forward or back just yet, but I am up for us finding out this year.

It is entirely possible that he is as good, or even better as a forward, and if that is true, I'd argue that he would then be of more value to the team playing forward.

Think of what he might offer:

As an example for hardness and tackle pressure to youngsters like Watson and Ginnivan
As a protector for our younger players.
I can even imagine him 'shaming' by example, the likes of Wingard to up their game and apply more forward pressure.
As a goal kicker (My guess is he might challenge Lewis for scoring, in a similar way that Roughy did with Franklin, or Derm did with Dunstall)
As a second leading option to give our midfielders something viable to kick to, and in doing so, open up our forward line to create more options.

I would say that we'd have a fair idea after 5-6 games.
I see little downside, but the potential for a sharp improvement in the functioning of our forward line.
We can always move him back if that really is his best position.

Lost a mate to overdose aged 14 back in 1979

Best mate's sister was getting her stomach pumped six months later.

Headmaster's daughter was the school supplier. Of course the school was clean.

I've known many users of all ages, all types of drugs, from very casual to full blown addicts in and out of jail and for all sorts of reasons. From what I have seen none of them were better for it.

Drugs are a major concern especially for mental health.
I will stick with my beer fridge!

Drugs are a major concern especially for mental health.
I will stick with my beer fridge!

I'll stick with my kegerator. Much cheaper way to drink good beer. Then again, it sounds like beer is considerably cheaper here, outside of sporting events and concerts that is...

We found out that Hardwick was a good lockdown defender almost by accident.

He was the dominant forward of his draft year and arrived at a club that had no room for him in their forward line.
First and foremost, he is an extremely good player, and shone in our backline, perhaps because of his quality rather than it being his best position.

Really good players can often play well in any position. Think Dusty, Dangerfield etc. They kick goals when they go forward because of their quality. We've done the same with Hodge, Ayres and Knights in the past when we needed a goal kicker.

The truth is we don't know if Hardwick is a better forward or back just yet, but I am up for us finding out this year.

It is entirely possible that he is as good, or even better as a forward, and if that is true, I'd argue that he would then be of more value to the team playing forward.

Think of what he might offer:

As an example for hardness and tackle pressure to youngsters like Watson and Ginnivan
As a protector for our younger players.
I can even imagine him 'shaming' by example, the likes of Wingard to up their game and apply more forward pressure.
As a goal kicker (My guess is he might challenge Lewis for scoring, in a similar way that Roughy did with Franklin, or Derm did with Dunstall)
As a second leading option to give our midfielders something viable to kick to, and in doing so, open up our forward line to create more options.

I would say that we'd have a fair idea after 5-6 games.
I see little downside, but the potential for a sharp improvement in the functioning of our forward line.
We can always move him back if that really is his best position.
I know he kicked a lot of goals at TAC level but I think this might be re-writing history. Wasn’t even all Australian at u-18 level.

I'll stick with my kegerator. Much cheaper way to drink good beer. Then again, it sounds like beer is considerably cheaper here, outside of sporting events and concerts that is...
Yeah nah alcoholism takes a few people out. And alcohol fuelled violence too. Doesn’t stop me liking a drink but to put it on a “not as bad as illicit drugs” pedestal is somewhat misleading

Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion