Autopsy 2024 Rd 0 - Harry kicks the winner vs Lions

Who played well for the Blues vs the Lions in Round 0?

:carlton: Good morning all :carlton:

About last night ...

seinfeld dancing GIF

This win is on par with some of the greatest wins we’ve had over the last couple of decades. The ‘99 PF was really special, but, I reckon, it was so emotionally draining that when we fronted up for the GF the players were flat after the first quarter or two. This win is even more special as it comes at the start of the season and getting this belief is invaluable. We went against all odds - missing a bunch of crucially important players, playing away against a very strong opponent, and coming back to win from 46 points down is just massive. The challenge now is continue winning, especially against sides that we are expected to beat. The next two games are going to be very important, we have to win convincingly.

We did lose the following week after beating Essendon R3 in 2001 as well v crows in pouring rain at princes park.

Let’s hope we don’t have a repeat v Richmond (of either the rain or the loss)

Terribly dull commentary. And between J Selwood ( whom I had thought would be great) and N Buckley on Fox, we have the English language left in a mangled heap at the G. Thanks guys. I tried turning on sub -titles but no help.
Confused Girl What GIF by Identity

After Cripps marked and before he kicked the goal

Joel Selwood: Cripps is a genuine leader now

He’s lost more brain cells than I thought, Richo level stupidity

I think Jordan Boyd will be regarded as one of the best 5 kicks in the afl by year end. The kicks he attempts AND hits are phenomenal. That stat which takes into account difficulty of kick will show it. Just next level last night.

Boyd, mcg, Newman saad and williams bringing the ball out of the backline is just amazing.

And L Fogarty….my Lord mate. You’re a LOcK for mine now. Can’t believe I wrote that. We’ve never had a better tackler. And he’s just become more composed with ball in hand now. Gives us enormous bite.

Cuners looked very dangerous. The muggy conditions didn’t help his usually super clean ball handling. Had a great preseason. In for a big year.

Best game I have seen kemp play. No high flying ridiculous attempts at marking. No getting lost. Huge improvement.

Fogarty reminds me of those role players we had in the 90s up to early 2000s which we haven’t really had since then until now.

Like a Hulme, Hogg, Freeborn type. Will do the selfless stuff which helps the superstars shine.

Elijah this morning chatting to Ollie, reflecting on when Ollie asked him to join him at the Blues

View attachment 1923255

Tough to find a spot for Elijah at the moment.

Martin and Motlop still to come back up forward, Walsh to come back in midfield.

I do think he’s best 22 but he might have to do some time in the reserves.

Think we'll need another tall. Gov is too good aerially to have him play most of the time as a lockdown. Marchbank or Kemp rotating as the other tall, with Weiters, Gov, Saad, Williams, Newman and Boyd is probably our best setup

Exactly what I was saying - 7 defenders (1 on the bench). The other lockdown defender comes from Young / Marchbank / Kemp, leaving Gov as the interceptor.

If Weitering comes directly back in, that 2nd tall / lockdown position is very competitive.

This was our first win against Brisbane since 2019

That was David Teague's first game as caretaker coach and in that game we had another comeback win.

Brisbane led by 37 points in that game as well
Etihad /Marvel & Cripps monstered it with 4 snags too IIRC.

Not sure when we had last a win up at the Gabba vs BL (COVID we had some games there, loss vs PTA/Robbie Gray, Collingwood/Stephenson, a win vs NMFC)?

The starts of game had memories of the final up there in ‘96. We have played a few finals up there.

Early days but looks to be paying off:

View attachment 1923183
Open day match sim/training session this year, boys were doing their run/sprints throughs up the middle of the ground, noticed and posted he showed on a few occasions a good turn of pace…
He maybe quicker than he looks or generally uses his actual true pace in games…

Tough to find a spot for Elijah at the moment.

Martin and Motlop still to come back up forward, Walsh to come back in midfield.

I do think he’s best 22 but he might have to do some time in the reserves.
He can play on ball/wing/forward.

Given our injury runs I can see him getting a sub role at least pretty soon.

Autopsy 2024 Rd 0 - Harry kicks the winner vs Lions