Autopsy 2024 Rd 4 Blues win in miraculous escape

Who played well for the Blues in Round 4 vs the Dockers?

Listened to the game on the long drive back from Sydney, good result about to watch the replay.

A huge shout out to the ABC commentators who were good enough to call the game professionally after I was finally able to get hold of them via the AFL app. Started the game with the MMM team through the listnr app as the radio coverage was crap through the mountains, turned it off after the first 2 goals.

The MMM team of Luke Darcy and Brian Taylor should be removed from calling games from here onwards.

After missing all the action, they were name dropping the people and places that had given them freebies during their time in Adelaide while throwing James Brayshaw under the bus saying while his partner was asleep in bed, he was roaming the hotel pissed, trying to get into any room he could on the wrong floor. When they started talking about someone spewing from alcohol I turned it off as the kids didn’t need to hear any more.

Never heard such unprofessional garbage before and hope to never have to sit through it again. Will be deleting the MMM app as a consequence. Still don’t know who kicked the first goal for us as the story about vomiting was obviously much more important.

Utter flogs ruining a game they obviously had no interest in calling, insulting the fans of both competing clubs in the process.

A few random observations:
  • Kemp played really well - he’s all courage to back himself and in the flight - naturally like most young players still evolving he’ll make a errors, they just happen to be amplified down in the backline
  • in games like this I think our mids owe our backs a couple of rounds , they are an awesome unit and our clearances are a concern
  • loved TDK’s game & Crippa’s game
  • I thought we tacked well and umpires gave us bugger all for for it - although frees seemed to even out as the match went on
  • O Hollands has been off the pace for a little while now needs a spell
  • Collectively such a gutsy win !
Go Blues - I can sure eat this winning stuff up !

Listened to the game on the long drive back from Sydney, good result about to watch the replay.

A huge shout out to the ABC commentators who were good enough to call the game professionally after I was finally able to get hold of them via the AFL app. Started the game with the MMM team through the listnr app as the radio coverage was crap through the mountains, turned it off after the first 2 goals.

The MMM team of Luke Darcy and Brian Taylor should be removed from calling games from here onwards.

After missing all the action, they were name dropping the people and places that had given them freebies during their time in Adelaide while throwing James Brayshaw under the bus saying while his partner was asleep in bed, he was roaming the hotel pissed, trying to get into any room he could on the wrong floor. When they started talking about someone spewing from alcohol I turned it off as the kids didn’t need to hear any more.

Never heard such unprofessional garbage before and hope to never have to sit through it again. Will be deleting the MMM app as a consequence. Still don’t know who kicked the first goal for us as the story about vomiting was obviously much more important.

Utter flogs ruining a game they obviously had no interest in calling, insulting the fans of both competing clubs in the process.
Don’t watch the replay mate it was just as bad on Kayo

Cottrell had some massive moments, will be hard to dislodge him from this side
Was actually thinking when it was him having that late shot at goal that if there was anyone in the side I’d choose to have it in that situation it’d be him. And he absolutely split the middle. I reckon he’s almost our most reliable set shot.

Even more improbable than the Brisbane win.

Barely did much right - Freo should be kicking themselves for not putting the game away much earlier.

Lots to work on, but the foundation and hunger is clearly there for this to be a special season.
Their horrible style of footy doesn’t allow them to put the game away.
They relied on free kicks for all but 3 of their goals. 3!
They deserved that loss, and can suffer in their jocks.

Just looking at all the facebook pages and BigFooty threads, nobody cares if our opposition scored goals from frees, they only care that we won and therefore the game is rigged. It is truly us against the world this season. I hope the boys are galvanised.

Their horrible style of footy does allow them to put the game away.
They relied on free kicks for all but 3 of their goals. 3!
They deserved that loss, and can suffer in their jocks.

I have never been bored watching a Carlton game. Plenty of other emotions but never bored. Today I was for a lot of the game.

Freo were rubbish. Football won.

A few random observations:
  • Kemp played really well - he’s all courage to back himself and in the flight - naturally like most young players still evolving he’ll make a errors, they just happen to be amplified down in the backline
  • in games like this I think our mids owe our backs a couple of rounds , they are an awesome unit and our clearances are a concern
  • loved TDK’s game & Crippa’s game
  • I thought we tacked well and umpires gave us bugger all for for it - although frees seemed to even out as the match went on
  • O Hollands has been off the pace for a little while now needs a spell
  • Collectively such a gutsy win !
Go Blues - I can sure eat this winning stuff up !
Kemp also runs huge KMs during the game. And rarely goes off. I think he had 14.6 km today. Top 5 on the ground.

Was actually thinking when it was him having that late shot at goal that if there was anyone in the side I’d choose to have it in that situation it’d be him. And he absolutely split the middle. I reckon he’s almost our most reliable set shot.
Cottrell, Owies, Kennedy & Charlie when he's on.

The freo mids (Serong, Jackson, Brayshaw, Fyfe and Young) had 29 clearances to our mids (TDK, Cripps, Hewett, Cerra and Carroll) 16.

Cerra and Carroll had 2 between them.

TDK best game this year though.
TDK gave us first use but we weren’t very clean under freos pressure

Agree with some of the comments on Ollie. Would be good to see him go back and dominate the VFL for a month and find some confidence. I think that may happen when Walsh returns. Handballing to teammates advantage and kicking through the ball a big focus.

Walsh is coming back next week, but Ejijah is injured so there's the change.

Autopsy 2024 Rd 4 Blues win in miraculous escape