List Mgmt. 2024 Trade & List Management Thread

3rd round...future 3rd round that is.
When WCE ring Brady and Will on a possible Darling trade:
Get Out Of Here Season 1 GIF by Blunt Talk

Imagine if there was two of them wanting out....

That hypothetical would quite literally set the place into meltdown and the fans frothing at the mouth…..
They do say crazy things happen in the silly season….now that’s something to cross fingers for 😉

I'm not saying final pieces.... adding and tweaking pieces is going to be a constant over next 5 yrs. I'm saying we are at the stage to forgo draft this year to trade rather than draft.... that will improve us immensely and quicker... then we can dabble back to the draft. We will be still getting a top 10 pick next yr.... neither way is a dead set, Mel did it this way and they quickly improved. Ade tried to add a couple of mature/cream but still need a couple of elite kids...

Bottom line is we might not have the choice and the draft is the only option. But it's clear our first is being shopped so will see what if anything it lures in and go from there.... fort trade is before draft.... otherwise many would have spent before we get to trade

Also add that saints didn't have any early picks it when it went for it with Howard, Jones Hill Hannebury and Butler.... looking back which is always easy... hill really the only success in terms of consistent footy, but at a cost of what a mil a yr?

Crows did have a few good kids in with Rachelle soligo Fogarty Thilthorpe around the time they brought in Dawson and rankine

Clear our 1st pick is being shopped? By who? I have not heard that at all in any media or from club. Acquisition of experenced players towards end of careers to add experience and replace Shiels, yes. But that would only cost backed draft picks.

If this is being talked about, it is purely speculation from media

Clear our 1st pick is being shopped? By who? I have not heard that at all in any media or from club. Acquisition of experenced players towards end of careers to add experience and replace Shiels, yes. But that would only cost backed draft picks.

That's the intention! You aren't meant to hear

That hypothetical would quite literally set the place into meltdown and the fans frothing at the mouth…..
They do say crazy things happen in the silly season….now that’s something to cross fingers for

Could be closer than a hypothetical with Bergman stating similar

Let me preface this by saying I think (also hope) he will sign an extension but IF he were to request a trade, what would we realistically expect in return for LDU?

Would be be worth more on the open market right now than Sheez?
He’s going to re-sign so this question is a moot point Mute Point

Lukosious is 195cm and still only 23 years old.

For all of our faults as a team, ball use is still one of the main issues in preventing us from capitalising on a dominant midfield and also protecting an inexperienced defence from woeful turnovers.

We are last in the AFL in scores from turnovers and are also last for inside 50 efficiency, something Lukosious would immediately improve.

What would he cost? Future second?

Talk was he wanted to play but I reckon halfback rebounder he’d be killing it.

Houston would have a huge impact and is exactly the type of player that we should pay up for.

A 186cm, AA defender with experience and still only 27... We really need that combination of size and clean disposal. It can push McKercher up the ground, too.

Talk was he wanted to play but I reckon halfback rebounder he’d be killing it.
Exactly.

He was drafted early as a gun running backman and over the past couple of years the Plastics plonk him on a forward flank..

A club like Geelong will pick him up for some magic beans and he'll be AA in two years time..

I'm not saying final pieces.... adding and tweaking pieces is going to be a constant over next 5 yrs. I'm saying we are at the stage to forgo draft this year to trade rather than draft.... that will improve us immensely and quicker... then we can dabble back to the draft. We will be still getting a top 10 pick next yr.... neither way is a dead set, Mel did it this way and they quickly improved. Ade tried to add a couple of mature/cream but still need a couple of elite kids...

Bottom line is we might not have the choice and the draft is the only option. But it's clear our first is being shopped so will see what if anything it lures in and go from there.... fort trade is before draft.... otherwise many would have spent before we get to trade

Also add that saints didn't have any early picks it when it went for it with Howard, Jones Hill Hannebury and Butler.... looking back which is always easy... hill really the only success in terms of consistent footy, but at a cost of what a mil a yr?

Crows did have a few good kids in with Rachelle soligo Fogarty Thilthorpe around the time they brought in Dawson and rankine

Forgoing the draft before Tassie comes in would be the worst list management blunder we could make and especially when its a deep draft like this year. We may well only need another strong draft.

As for the Dees build, they mostly they gave up 2nd and 3rd round picks with only 1sts for Lever and May.
Hogan, Jackson and Bedford hurt. Toumpas a bust. Found a few gems in the 2nd round picks.
I'd argue we're two years off trading 1st rounders but I guess I view it as the Sheez draft as year zero.

2012 - Traded for Dom Barry, Dawes, Pederson, Rodan. Drafted Hogan (Mini), Toumpas (4), Viney (26), Kent (48)
2013 - Traded for Dom Tyson, Bernie Vince. Drafted Salem (9), Kennedy-Harris (40), Hunt (57)
2014 - Traded for Jeff Garlett, Lumumba, Frost. Drafted Petracca (2), Brayshaw (3), Neal-Bullen (40), O McDon (53).
2015 - Traded for Melksham (pick 25) and Tomas Bugg. Drafted Oliver (4) and Weidemann (9).
2016 - Traded for Lewis, Hibberd (pick 29), Patrick McKenna and Linden Dunn. Drafted Mitch Hannan (46).
2017 - Demons traded for Lever (10 and F1 (19)). Traded Jack Watts to Port for pick 31 (Fritsch). Drafted Petty (37).
2018 - Traded for Kolodjashnij and May (pick 6) and Preuss. Drafted Sparrow (27), Bedford (75).
2019 - Traded for Langdon. Drafted Jackson (3), Pickett (12), Rivers (32)
2020 - Traded for Ben Brown. Drafted Bowey (21).
2021 - No trades. Drafted Van Rooyen (21 - Premiers), Howes (39), Woewodin.
2022 - Traded Jackson, Weidemann & Bedford out, Scache & Grundy in. Drafted Jefferson (15).
2023 - Traded for Billings & Fullarton. Drafted Windsor (9), Tholstrup (13)

But not sure how you can say it's clear our first is being shopped. If its being shopped it's probably for multiple 1sts.

I think shopping our first is very much a BF thing, that would be crazy to shop our top 2 pick.

We will have a nominated player to draft first, i.e. smilie, if we miss him, then we trade down with whover has pick to get armstrong (say pick 11) to boost our tall stock plus another.

I don't believe we need trainor as you can get by with free agents like haynes, houston, broad. There will be plenty of those in the years to come.

Most of the teams in the window will need mids and the best keys in 2024 will start around the 10th mark.

WC pick 3(atm) could be dangled in front of GC for picks 6 and 12 to get a pick in before the Lombard bid and gives the Eagles exactly what they need, multiple throws at the stumps not single pick 1,2 or 3s esp this year being so even and there next pick being in the mid 20s. I agree with Montagna that they haven't even hit rock bottom yet and it could get potentially real ugly when Tasmania comes in and takes everything, makes sense all round

Correct, for the next 3 years, it's all about scrambling for picks so the other 11 clubs will be paying premiums for high picks.

While i dont see us having absolutely top picks, it would still be within 10 over the next few years, we could nab a few very useful players.