VFL 2024 VFL Thread

Footscray 16.5 101 (where's _STREET_ when you need him?)
Frankston 11.8 74

Nice to see Lachie Smith giving it to an opponent right on the siren. A ruck with mongrel is a good thing.

Macrae clear BOG followed by Sanders and Gallagher. Busslinger and Keath very good as well and O'Donnell's composure is outstanding considering how little footy he has played.

Baker very good on the wing too and Harmes had some nice moments but is clearly working his fitness back to full strength. Cleary 20 disposals at 100% efficiency was promising and Gardner is now an everywhere man.

Sanders and Macrae, both enjoying another big game.

Sanders was only on roughly 4 clearances (maybe a couple of more?) at 3Q time. Ended up on 11 for the game. It was a big final quarter by him. He also led the game with 7 tackles. Almost chased down Macrae to finish one behind, with 35 disposals. The best thing, 23 of his 35 were kicks. Sanders, 35 Disposals, 11 Clearances, 7 Tackles. No idea on his efficiency by foot though.

Macrae 36 Disposals, 17 Clearances

Gallagher with 25 disposals, 3 goals.

Keath, JOD and Busslinger all shared the love around the backline. Each with between 18-22 disposals, and 8-9 marks each.

Will be a very good ruckman. Just hope we don’t end up losing him for lack of opportunities over the coming years.
I think he needs to grow a beard. Huddo mk 2

Sanders was only on roughly 4 clearances (maybe a couple of more?) at 3Q time. Ended up on 11 for the game. It was a big final quarter by him. He also led the game with 7 tackles. Almost chased down Macrae to finish one behind, with 35 disposals. The best thing, 23 of his 35 were kicks. Sanders, 35 Disposals, 11 Clearances, 7 Tackles. No idea on his efficiency by foot though.

Sanders 35% by foot.

Macrae 15K 21HB 6T 17CLR plus 2 goals
Sanders 23-12-7-11
Gags 14-11-3-6 plus 3 goals
L Smith 4-6-2-3 plus 36 HOs (opponent 47)

Good stats from defenders Keath, O'Donnell, Cleary and Busslinger too.

Nice depth.

Damn! If he can get it up to 60%, he will just about be a complete player.

It will come with time, today he just put it on his boot as soon as he got it. Classic first year player trait. Compare that to someone with 12 seasons under his belt in Macrae who went at 75% by foot and looked composed moving the ball forward.

Not surprised even though he had 35 disposals I thought that was one of his poorer games.

A lot of good players, but thought Macrae, Gallagher and JOD were our best particularly when the game was on the line. Quite a good standard of footy for a VFL game

True, Sanders got a few rough calls against him early on and from then onwards it looked like he was playing angry which cost him his composure.

One of the better VFL games for the season, it's great seeing Frankston in the finals again (all be it the wildcard round).

Gags has a similar style to Jack Viney. So much upside. Love the way he plays.
Sanders kicking is like Oliver. Just dump kicks and hacks forward. However he is clearly under instruction to be more attacking and use his feet so he is learning a new style. This will take time and we can afford to invest in him given our midfield depth and his other attributes.

Bedendo is a highlight reel specialist. Unfortunately his brilliant stuff is all too infrequent and he just cannot get into games and influence - he just doesn’t work hard enough. Clear delist category unfortunately but if they gave him 1 more year I wouldn’t be disappointed. Tell him it’s his last chance and pull his finger out.
He showed a lot of promise in the year he debuted for the senior team and didn't look to out of place on the AFL team. Thought he deserved a slightly longer run after playing both the Swans and Lions both away and not being the worst player or few.

Unfortunately he has not matched that often enough since. Consistency has been his issue. Whether its all the injuries affecting continuity, whether he just hasn't been able to settle down, whether our style doesn't suit him, or whether he hasn't worked hard enough on and off the field, who knows? When he is on he can be damaging, but often you don't notice him. I am bummed because I liked him as a player, rated him. But needed to step up a couple of more rungs and be consistent this year. Won't argue if he gets another year. But he will need to hope we have a couple of retirements, and a couple of trades, and a couple of other delistings. Otherwise he will be strong candidate to make way for the mandatory draft spots.

Arty is another who is on the ropes. This is his third year and he still struggles to find the ball. His pressure rating is solid, and he can have decent tackle numbers. Not counting the ones he misses due to his smaller size. Small forwards don't normally find the ball much. But the best still find it around 12-15 times a game, with the odd 20 disposal game. As well as chip in for a couple of goals. He finishes in the single figures way to often, and doesn't hurt teams on the scoreboard. At this point he seems a pure pressure forward. Vanders and McNeil are more complete in terms of their forward/defensive balance.

Of course there are others as well.

Clearly I would definitely hold onto. He is the type of depth player you want to hold on to. He has shown he is capable of playing at AFL if we need him to. Finds the ball, and works hard.

Hope we can win the VFL premiership this year with all of them at least.

He showed a lot of promise in the year he debuted for the senior team and didn't look to out of place on the AFL team. Thought he deserved a slightly longer run after playing both the Swans and Lions both away and not being the worst player or few.

Unfortunately he has not matched that often enough since. Consistency has been his issue. Whether its all the injuries affecting continuity, whether he just hasn't been able to settle down, whether our style doesn't suit him, or whether he hasn't worked hard enough on and off the field, who knows? When he is on he can be damaging, but often you don't notice him. I am bummed because I liked him as a player, rated him. But needed to step up a couple of more rungs and be consistent this year. Won't argue if he gets another year. But he will need to hope we have a couple of retirements, and a couple of trades, and a couple of other delistings. Otherwise he will be strong candidate to make way for the mandatory draft spots.

Arty is another who is on the ropes. This is his third year and he still struggles to find the ball. His pressure rating is solid, and he can have decent tackle numbers. Not counting the ones he misses due to his smaller size. Small forwards don't normally find the ball much. But the best still find it around 12-15 times a game, with the odd 20 disposal game. As well as chip in for a couple of goals. He finishes in the single figures way to often, and doesn't hurt teams on the scoreboard. At this point he seems a pure pressure forward. Vanders and McNeil are more complete in terms of their forward/defensive balance.

Of course there are others as well.

Clearly I would definitely hold onto. He is the type of depth player you want to hold on to. He has shown he is capable of playing at AFL if we need him to. Finds the ball, and works hard.

Hope we can win the VFL premiership this year with all of them at least.
Out of Bedendo/Clarke/McNiel/Arty/Rypstra who would you be hanging on to? Lot of small/med forwards

Clarke has upside and is doing ok (keep). Bedendo is a mystery (I suspect he won’t get another year - assume delisted). Mcniel I’m not sold on - lower ceiling than Clarke who is a much more natural small forward which is what we need. Arty (delist), Rypstra (hasn’t shown much). Bedendo is the one who would make the biggest difference if he could make it, but Clarke is the one we should keep.

Rypstra (hasn’t shown much).
He has played like 3.5 games. A bit harsh to expect anyone to "show" anything in that. Especially when he has been coached and trained to play the way of another team all season. Reckon he could get another year to actually have time to prove his worth. Otherwise I don't see why we bothered to even draft anyone in the first place.

Bedendo and Jones to go I reckon. McNeil is experienced depth which you need. Clarke shows some things, but given another year. Rypstra will probably be delisted harshly, but I think should get a year to show what he can offer. We have too many similar types, that it stuffs up proper development. Which is why I am not a fan of us loading up heaps on one position. Can only play so many small-medium forwards in the forward line.

True, Sanders got a few rough calls against him early on and from then onwards it looked like he was playing angry which cost him his composure.
There are some similarities with his and Jamarra's first couple years IMO. Some little signs to suggest he takes things pretty hard and maybe just expected things to happen for him a bit. Not a criticism, just an observation.

VFL 2024 VFL Thread