Fixture 2025 draw any news or leaks? (Fixture released today)

If you love footy its totally worth the $25PM
yeh i was a long time subscriber for 20 + years - i took last season off as i straddle the nsw -qld border and so get all lions, suns, swans and giants games each weekend + whatever else 7 had free ot air like friday nights and sat nights. in some weeks i got 5 or 6 games free. at worst it was 3-4. so didnt need it
but with new deal i have to see how this changes, and i wont stand for delayed (away) games for the suns

They've been deliberately obscure with the wording of this I reckon. I reckon we'll end up finding some of the games won't be shown at all, or will be "shown" at some overnight timeslot just so 7 can say they've aired it or something. Like Round 1, Collingwood v Port on a Saturday Night - when is Channel 7 in SA playing that? 10pm on delay?

I think they're keeping it vague and it'll screw people over more than you're expecting.
Yeah I agree with you. The specific details about the new deal are all over the place.

I hope we don’t end up like some sports such as Cricket for example where you now have to subscribe to Amazon for World Cups and Kayo for One Days and T20s.

They've been deliberately obscure with the wording of this I reckon. I reckon we'll end up finding some of the games won't be shown at all, or will be "shown" at some overnight timeslot just so 7 can say they've aired it or something. Like Round 1, Collingwood v Port on a Saturday Night - when is Channel 7 in SA playing that? 10pm on delay?

I think they're keeping it vague and it'll screw people over more than you're expecting.

Under the deal, announced in September 2022, delayed games, or hold-back games, will be broadcast on free-to-air two hours after they start on Foxtel or no later than 8.40pm local time. That means a 4.30pm game would start on free-to-air at 6.30pm; however a 7.30pm match would be shown on free-to-air at 8.40pm.

Not sure why it took until a couple weeks ago for that to come out

Yeah I agree with you. The specific details about the new deal are all over the place.

I hope we don’t end up like some sports such as Cricket for example where you now have to subscribe to Amazon for World Cups and Kayo for One Days and T20s.
This, I have no issue with one subscription for footy, but I would simply never pay for two simultaneous subscriptions to watch the one sport. That's insane. NFL in America is like this too. I think you need up to 3 or 4 to have every single game.

I'm hearing Collingwood to play in Geelong in Round 9. Locking out maybe 70k fans to sit in a rural dump at pork barrell stadium. Bring it on.
It's their home game, they can play it wherever they ****en want.

Get your head out of your arse

Nope, as part of the new Foxtel deal Saturdays for the first 8 rounds are locked to Fox Footy, even in their home markets. So the only way to see the Grand Final rematch anywhere is behind a paywall.
Interstate markets still get their home team games on FTA however on Super Saturday this will be on delay with live coverage exclusive to Fox.
NSW and QLD will get the game on 7mate on a 2 hour delay.

The AFL doesn't work this way. Collingwood are contracted to play 5 away games per year at the MCG and 1 at Marvel so the fixture has to work around this.
Contracted to play 5 away games at their home ground?

What sort of corrupt bullshit is that

Hoping someone might have an idea because I can’t wrap my head around the below:

Dreamtime in 2025 is an Essendon home game. It will be in either R10 or R11.

NM v Collingwood is in the Marvel Stadium double header in R11, that feels like a 7 game given the double header factor. Would this mean Dreamtime is in R10? Because I’d think (even though neither team are fantastic) Dreamtime is a popular fixture for 7. I think it unlikely they’d put both on at the same time.

This would be an issue for Essendon given I don’t think you can play at home in both indigenous rounds. R12 is confirmed Brisbane @ The Gabba, R13 is Kings Birthday Eve v Carlton (away game), R15 is Fremantle @ Optus (meaning R14 bye). If Dreamtime was R10 then Essendon would get four away games in a row, six weeks without a home game. Also, playing R12 on Thursday night and then R13 on a Sunday night is average scheduling. Also unlikely it’ll be a R16 bye as last time was during 2020.

Contracted to play 5 away games at their home ground?

What sort of corrupt bullshit is that
Collingwood are a key tenant of the stadium and signed the deal with the AFL, MCC and Victorian State Government so if you don't like it complain to those parties. The deal was imperative to fund the MCG redevelopment.

Hoping someone might have an idea because I can’t wrap my head around the below:

Dreamtime in 2025 is an Essendon home game. It will be in either R10 or R11.

NM v Collingwood is in the Marvel Stadium double header in R11, that feels like a 7 game given the double header factor. Would this mean Dreamtime is in R10? Because I’d think (even though neither team are fantastic) Dreamtime is a popular fixture for 7. I think it unlikely they’d put both on at the same time.

This would be an issue for Essendon given I don’t think you can play at home in both indigenous rounds. R12 is confirmed Brisbane @ The Gabba, R13 is Kings Birthday Eve v Carlton (away game), R15 is Fremantle @ Optus (meaning R14 bye). If Dreamtime was R10 then Essendon would get four away games in a row, six weeks without a home game. Also, playing R12 on Thursday night and then R13 on a Sunday night is average scheduling. Also unlikely it’ll be a R16 bye as last time was during 2020.
Channel 7 aren't running with any Saturday games in Vic for the first 15 weeks apart from a few marquee ones (of which Dreamtime is listed as one), so I wouldn't think they'll be playing North v Collingwood. I don't think being a not-really-double-header is enough reason to broadcast it anyway.

Based on what you've said it sounds like you'll be Round 11 at the MCG broadcast onto 7, with Kangaroos Collingwood down the road at the same time broadcast on Fox.

Sigh, yet another away game against the pies, we’ll probably get north in hobart for a 4th straight year and yet another home game against the tigers (hosted them more than any other team apart from the crows). The fixturing is just so one-dimensional.

Lions sold out the Gabba 8 out of 11 times last season do you really think opening round had anything to do with that?
Opening Rd and playing a big Vic club (Carlton) resulted in a big 33k GABBA crowd to kick off the season.

Only a couple of big games got above 33k - Pies (GF rematch) on Easter Thursday managed 34k, and the EF got 35k.

AFL would be very happy with the 33k GABBA crowd to kick off the season.

Opening Rd and playing a big Vic club (Carlton) resulted in a big 33k GABBA crowd to kick off the season.

Only a couple of big games got above 33k - Pies (GF rematch) on Easter Thursday managed 34k, and the EF got 35k.

AFL would be very happy with the 33k GABBA crowd to kick off the season.
Somehow you made my post about Collingwood I'm not sure why? I love when Magpies fans think everything is about them get over yourselves

Herp derp.

I was posting about OR being a considered a commercial success and AFL and the NSW/QLD clubs loving it, using the big crowds as evidence.

Talk about jumping at shadows and missing the point.

Herp derp.

I was posting about OR being a considered a commercial success and AFL and the NSW/QLD clubs loving it, using the big crowds as evidence.

Talk about jumping at shadows and missing the point.
My post was about the Lions not needing Opening Round

you Posted about Big Victorian clubs being the reason for this Collingwood had nothing to do with my post you somehow brought Magpies into my post I wasn't even talking about Collingwood

heaven forbid Lions actually selling out the Gabba

yeh i was a long time subscriber for 20 + years - i took last season off as i straddle the nsw -qld border and so get all lions, suns, swans and giants games each weekend + whatever else 7 had free ot air like friday nights and sat nights. in some weeks i got 5 or 6 games free. at worst it was 3-4. so didnt need it
but with new deal i have to see how this changes, and i wont stand for delayed (away) games for the suns
Wait, considering those sides rarely played Friday night games, are you saying you get (essentially) at least five games on free to air every round? sometimes six? and at minimum four?

Looks like they are keeping the floating fixture. As an overseas based Aussie, it makes it very difficult to plan trips back to Aus. Anyone else hate it as much as I do?
If you're flying from Hong Kong to Australia, surely a team playing on Thursday night or Sunday evening is mostly redundant, like you're not going to just come down for a day or two are you?

Floating fixture is good. planning your entire life over a football fixture in 10 months' time is a little bit over the top. if you want a footy trip piss up with your mates then the direct bounce down times are sort of irrelevant – you're going to be in the area for that weekend regardless.

It makes the most important part of the home and away season have the best fixturing. don't get the drama. that period ten years ago where Carlton were getting pumped every Friday night was shithouse.

Fixture 2025 draw any news or leaks? (Fixture released today)