Fixture 2025 Fixture

Port Adelaide​

Geelong, Hawthorn and Sydney twice. Brisbane at the Gabba. GWS in Canberra. The Western Bulldogs in Ballarat. Ouch.

Remarkably, the Power have away games against all their fellow top-seven teams of 2024, plus Collingwood and Fremantle, who narrowly missed the eight (who they also both play twice, by the way).

Even the AFL want Hinkley gone.

Re the early bye teams who play in Opening Round.

Byes in following rounds;
Rd 2 GC and GWS
Rd 3 Brisbane, Collingwood, Geelong, Sydney - we play swans in Rd 6
Rd 4 Essendon and Hawthorn - we play hawks in Rd 5 Gather Round

Rd 1 Opening Rd teams Hawks v Ess play each other ( they both have a bye Rd 4), Sydney v Brisbane play each other
Rd 2 GC and GWS have the bye and no Opening Rd teams play each other
Rd 3 Opening Rd teams Hawks v GC play each other and 4 teams have the bye
Rd 4 no Opening Rd teams play each other

These 8 teams get their 2nd byes in following Rounds and the Rounds we play them are in brackets.

Rd 14 - Collingwood (1), GC (24), Swans (6)
Rd 15 - Hawks (5)
Rd 16 - Brisbane (17), Geelong (10), Essendon (3), GWS (13)

Port's bye is Rd 12 ( first bye round along with Carl, Norf and WB) so we don't get disadvantage playing team who had their 2nd bye before we had one.

Double up games, distance between games. Bolded round is home game.

Hawthorn Rds 5 and 19
Sydney... Rds 6 and 15
Adelaide. Rds 9 and 20
Geelong.. Rds 10 and 21
Fremantle Rds 11 and 22
Carlton... Rds 16 and 23

I don't give a shit about having a poor commercial fixture

It's more when the clubs that gets given shit fixtures with barely any great timeslots get given more equalisation money - and then people cry out no fair is what angers me

We have genuinely good to elite midfielders that will drag us to enough wins even with a hard draw, as usual what happens from there is the issue and will continue to be.. see you at the footy in shit timeslots yay!

Also they don’t want us to play the hawks at the G, again the vfl are pathetic
Probably will show up how pathetic the Hawks crowd really is. Last 2 times we have played them in the minor round at MCG was 2011 a Saturday arvo 27k and 2010 a Sunday arvo 21k, when they were on early on in their long run of success.

We have played Collingwood at the MCG on a Saturday arvo in last 2 years and this year's crowd was 65k, last year's was 60k.

Only first round / first game of the season we have lost in Hinkley's tenure, have been 2015 v Freo at Subi by 7 pts and 2023 v Lions at Gabba by 11 pts.

Collingwood at the MCG on a Saturday night big crowd - they have got 65k and 60k last two years on a Saturday arvo against us, will be a big test that tells us a fair bit about how we will go in 2025.

Then again we got smacked in both games early in the seasons, and finished 3rd in 2023 and 2nd this year.

One of the worst fixtures I reckon we've ever had:
  1. Double ups against sides who would all be expected to be in top 8 contention
  2. Sole matchup against reigning premiers is away
  3. Travel to three backwater games in Canberra, Tas, and Ballarat
  4. Only one game at the MCG, and it's round 1
  5. An absolute turd sandwich of timeslots for home games.
The only saving grace is that travel schedules aren't too bad. Only one trip to WA and one trip to QLD. No travelling in back to back weeks, while having rounds 4-5, 9-10 and 14-16 at home back to back. That last one is a small, but not insignificant break leading to finals.

I’ve always thought a good draw is playing bottom teams away, and good teams at home. We aren’t making the 8.

The club has in the past requested Saturday home twilight games as they reckon we get good crowds as people who have morning and/or early afternoon sports commitments can still get to the game. But they used to start between 4.05 and 4.30 local time.

Now its a bit earlier - probably for Fox Footy's needs. Dwayne Russell about 4 months ago was pushing that Saturday twilight is the new super timeslot to help make Fox Footy's Super Saturday coverage - well super. AFL must have listened to him re Port getting games in that timeslot.

I've always found the Sunday 2.50pm games are a good time to go to the footy and a lot better than 12.40pm or 4.10pm Sunday games

Home Games
R2 Port Adelaide v Richmond | Saturday 22 March | 3:45pm | Adelaide Oval
R7 Port Adelaide v North Melbourne | Saturday 26 April | 3:45pm | Adelaide Oval | ANZAC ROUND
R10 Port Adelaide v Geelong | Saturday 17 May | 3:45pm | Adelaide Oval | SDNR
R15 Port Adelaide v Sydney | Saturday 21 June | 3:45pm | Adelaide Oval

R9 Port Adelaide v Adelaide | Saturday 10 May | 7:40pm | Adelaide Oval

R4 Port Adelaide v St Kilda | Sunday 6 April | 2:50pm | Adelaide Oval - A Ch 7 national game
R14 Port Adelaide v Melbourne | Sunday 15 June | 2:50pm | Adelaide Oval - A Ch 7 national game

R5 Port Adelaide v Hawthorn | Sunday 13 April | 6:50pm | Adelaide Oval | GATHER ROUND

Away Games
R3 Essendon v Port Adelaide | Thursday 27 March | 7:30pm | Marvel Stadium - A Ch 7 national game

R8 Western Bulldogs v Port Adelaide | Saturday 3 May | 1:20pm | Mars Stadium

R1 Collingwood v Port Adelaide | Saturday 15 March | 7:35pm | MCG
R11 Fremantle v Port Adelaide v | Saturday 24 May | 6:10pm | Optus Stadium | SDNR
R13 GWS v Port Adelaide | Saturday 7 June | 7:35pm | Manuka Oval

R6 Sydney v Port Adelaide | Sunday 20 April | 3:20pm | SCG - A Ch 7 national game

I think REH posted a while back about no FTA television for Sat games for the first 7-8 weeks ?

I'm going to head over to watch us lose in round 1, should be fun.

Playing a team off a longer preseason, with a game under their belts, at their home ground where they've had 70+ point turnarounds against us in our last 2 games there is a recipe for disaster.

Only 3 games in Melbourne sucks for me. It's the same as 2017, we only had 3 games in Melbourne that year + Geelong & Ballarat.

I'm happy we play North Melbourne at home. First time since 2019 and only the third ever time at Adelaide Oval. But if they're going to make it more like WWE and schedule us to play Hawthorn twice, we should be playing them at the MCG instead of Launceston. Only 1 game at the MCG too and that's our very first game, so it's safe to say we won't be winning any finals there next year. Commercially terrible too with the last of prime time games, even more so that there's no Saturday Night free-to-air anymore.

Probably the shittest fixture we've ever had.

Fixture 2025 Fixture