Fixture 2025 Fixture

It's also the lowest attended games for us
Saturday Twilight is the #2 most popular slot for our fans.

It's perfect for me and my family. Have heaps of time in the morning to get out and do plenty, then can watch some footy, then plenty of time to go out afterwards or get the kids home and fed.

Satdy twilight is a winner, you might need to catch up.

I couldn't give a rats toss bag about a little sun in my eyes. I grew up in the outer at Alberton and Adelaide Oval watching the Magpies, sun is just part of it.

This is what you get when you buckle every time the AFL so much as gives you the side eye. Thanks Koch and Richo.

Zoom In Season 1 GIF by The Roku Channel
Yep, they are so gutless. The afl treats Port with disdain. That's on those idiots.

I grew up in the outer at Alberton and Adelaide Oval watching the Magpies, sun is just part of it.
Good on you - reckon there's a fair % of people here - including me know a fair bit about watching games at Alberton Oval too - some as kids going back to the 60s.

But comparing Alberton Oval to Adelaide Oval is a silly comparison.

For starters Alberton Oval is not a seated venue except for the stands and even then you can move around anywhere you want.

Secondly most diehard supporters at Port Saturday arvo games at Alberton (including me) choose sit or stand on the western side of the ground, looking away from the sun as it sets in the afternoon.

In contrast, most of the people talking about the sun issue at Adelaide Oval are season ticket holders who have fixed seats on the eastern side of the ground meaning they are looking right into the sun in mid-afternoon/twilight games.

I think it's a fair point to make, especially in the early or late parts of the season when sun glare is a big issue.

There's a reason why the SACA members stand and coaches boxes are on the western side of the ground ;)

The sun is in my eyes for the entire ****ing game. Also it makes it difficult to do either an afternoon thing before the footy or a night thing after the footy

The sun is definitely an issue. Why do you think it's difficult however to do something in the arvo before the footy or a night thing after the footy for a twilight game?

Can easily have lunch somewhere before the game, and the game is over by 615 so the night is still young, can go out for dinner in the city or North Adelaide after the match etc.

The sun is definitely an issue. Why do you think it's difficult however to do something in the arvo before the footy or a night thing after the footy for a twilight game?

Can easily have lunch somewhere before the game, and the game is over by 615 so the night is still young, can go out for dinner in the city or North Adelaide after the match etc.
I prefer night games - atmosphere is a bit better, and don't have to worry about the sun - but twilight games have a big advantage of not making it difficult to time meals so you don't have to buy a $500 turd sandwich at AO.

Richo saying 10 of our first 14 games are on free to air.

Assuming Collingwood (R1), Richmond (R2), North Melbourne (R7) and Footscray (R8) are the Foxtel games.
Yep they are all Saturday games in the first 8 rounds.

So gone from 3 games on delay per season, since start of 2017-22 + 23 and 24 tacked on covid TV deals, to 4* games on delay.

* I have been saying for about 6 weeks that 7 Adelaide can't show Port or crows Saturday games at all between Rd1 and Rd 8. Its only been revealed the last 10 days or so, that 7 Adelaide indeed can show Saturday games of the 2 SA teams on a 2 hour delay, and no later than 8.40pm on a Saturday night.

Same will happen in WA, NSW and Qld for the home state TV market teams.

It's funny because we had more than our fair share of Thursday/Friday night games this year so we've gone from lots to basically none for no apparent reason.
Went from 3rd to 2nd in the minor round and from out in straight sets to playing a PF in September.

This is a made by Melbourne based TV executives fixture, especially Ch 7 executive re 1 Thursday night, no Friday nights, and only 1 home and 3 away Saturday night games draw in first 15 rounds / 14 games.

Had to laugh at the article on the back of The Australian today, which isn't on line and was written by "Staff Reports."

Headline says - Pies served up a horror slate for openers.

Will post the article - I took a picture of it - later, if it doesn't breach Big Footy's copyright rules crackdown - Chief , Ford Fairlane

Bearing in mind that it's not just the time but the opponent and weather that affects home crowd sizes I just did a quick scan of this years home crowds. (apols if errors).

The top home crowds in order (rounded to nearest 000) were:

1. 52k v Adelaide Saturday 7pm (Showdown)

2. 48k v Essendon Friday 7.40pm (Gather Round)

3. 41k v Carlton Thursday 7.30 pm

4. 40k v St Kilda Friday 7.10 pm (Anzac Day game)

5. 38k v Melbourne Saturday 7pm

6. 38k v Sydney Saturday 7pm

7. 36k v Freo Saturday 7pm

8. 36k v Hawthorn Sunday 2.50pm

9. 33k v West Coast Sunday 3.30pm

10. 33k v Brisbane Saturday 1.15pm

11. 32k v Western Bulldogs Saturday 1.15pm

12. 28k v Richmond Saturday 7pm (very wet)

Draw your own conclusions. But crowd numbers are not what the broadcasters and hence AFL are interested in.

Had to laugh at the article on the back of The Australian today, which isn't on line and was written by "Staff Reports."

Headline says - Pies served up a horror slate for openers.
The article I glanced from that same page written by Hun sports journo Jay Clark was focussed on Carlton's dream fixture, describing it as 'like a couple of early Christmas presents, Carlton on Thursday peeled back the wrapping paper to find they will play only two double up games against 2024 top-eight sides next season'.

He also described the 'red carpet being rolled out' for the 'showtime Hawks'.

But I liked these words about the Dees draw was what I liked best:

'the Demons have a run that is softer than a duck down pillow....Remarkably Melbourne will play only one double up game against a top 8 side from 2024 which is Hawthorn.'

Obviously written for a Victorian audience it had no mention of all of the draws for teams outside that state other than describing us as 'shaky looking'

Only 1 MCG game seems pretty unfair
It's a stuffed system. If the MCG has to get Grand finals every year, then every side should get a minimum of three games there, with non-Victorian sides having one of those within the last 4 rounds. If that means a few less for Victorian sides there, then so be it. Worst of all worlds (I.e. typical A/VFL) at the moment.

It all gets back to having half of the so-called 'national' AFL competition based in just one city and six of them (one third of the competition) being tenant clubs of the ground the Grand Final is played on.

There was momentum to change that situation a couple of decades ago with a couple more amalgamations but that chance has passed us by. We are just stuck with a heavily compromised competition.

Good on you - reckon there's a fair % of people here - including me know a fair bit about watching games at Alberton Oval too - some as kids going back to the 60s.

But comparing Alberton Oval to Adelaide Oval is a silly comparison.

For starters Alberton Oval is not a seated venue except for the stands and even then you can move around anywhere you want.

Secondly most diehard supporters at Port Saturday arvo games at Alberton (including me) choose sit or stand on the western side of the ground, looking away from the sun as it sets in the afternoon.

In contrast, most of the people talking about the sun issue at Adelaide Oval are season ticket holders who have fixed seats on the eastern side of the ground meaning they are looking right into the sun in mid-afternoon/twilight games.

I think it's a fair point to make, especially in the early or late parts of the season when sun glare is a big issue.

There's a reason why the SACA members stand and coaches boxes are on the western side of the ground ;)
The worst part of sitting at Adelaide Oval back in the day, on the concrete terraces in the outer, before the temp Chappell stands went up, was the sun reflection off the scoreboard late in the 4th quarters. It meant you couldn't make out the damn scores. Lucky we were usually comfortably in front. Sun in your face though, meh, just raise your hand like a visor, chuck a hat on or wear some glasses and she'll be right. Winter sun is weak.

Honestly, the fixture is fitting for us in a "you get what you deserve you spineless losers" type lens, but holy hell the first year of the media rights deal that is the new norm is "we're not even trying to hide we're the VFL and we only care about "big Melbourne clubs".

• No primetime games in SA outside of the weekend they have to (and even the biggest timeslot there doesn't even have an SA team).
  • No primetime games in NSW after "opening round"
  • Any time there's a public holiday in a Monday they've attempted to shoehorn in a "this will be considered a traditional game soon" "blockbuster" but every one is some combination of Victorian drivel
  • "Hawthorn play exciting footy so they get a bunch of primetime games" but GWS who have played a similar style for longer don't even get one token primetime appearance
  • 1 Thursday, 0 Friday for Port
  • 1 Thursday, 1 Friday for Adelaide
  • 0 Thursday, 1 Friday for Sydney
  • 0 Thursday or Friday for GWS
  • 1 Thursday, 0 Friday for GC

Are someone like KFC going to renew with us or just move on to the two other clubs they have in their pockets where their branding will actually be seen?

If the national clubs had any balls they'd stand up to this but they're all AFL controlled and/or just losers in general. West Coast might be the only one with pull and they've got their own issues. Richardson will just sit there and take it like a good little stooge.
Well said and all I can say outside Port games the AFL won’t get my viewing eyes.

Fixture 2025 Fixture