List Mgmt. 2025 List management

On the radio they were going through AFL list profiles. They said Freo have 4 players over 30 when starting the season. I can only find 3:
Fyfe, JOM, Walters

Aish turns 30 in Nov and Pearce 30 in June. No others that I can see. Oscar Mac and Luke Ryan are 28.

On the radio they were going through AFL list profiles. They said Freo have 4 players over 30 when starting the season. I can only find 3:
Fyfe, JOM, Walters

Aish turns 30 in Nov and Pearce 30 in June. No others that I can see. Oscar Mac and Luke Ryan are 28.
Probably referring to Pearce who will be 30 during the middle of the season.

How long til we hear about AB’s new contract? Everyone reckoned it would be the old Christmas present jobby, but nada. When do we lock in the last piece of the midfield puzzle?

Is it a bit morbid to think possible delistings/retirements already for the end of 2025?
Fyfe and Walters are the obvious ones, then
Aish,
Erasmus (50/50. Make or break year)
Worner
Jones
Deelan
Hopefully Omac and Narkle get a good crack at it this year.
Everybody wants to be the nice guy, but it's actually pretty poor list management that JOM, Banners and Brodie all have a spot for 2026

Is it a bit morbid to think possible delistings/retirements already for the end of 2025?
Aish,
Worner
Jones
Deelan
Strangely enough Banners still has a contract for next year.
We have 2 or 3 NGA prospects. And it is the last draft before Tassie. Will be interesting to see how hard they cut, but I'd expect at least 5 would be gone:
  • all of the older ones Fyfe, Walters, Aish likely gone. We have younger replacements ready to go.
  • MacDonald and Narkle could have a role as depth even if they aren't regulars. But 1 year deals only.
  • Delean probably needs a very good year.
  • not sure Odin would even be considered for extending if Riddle shows anything?

We have 2 or 3 NGA prospects. And it is the last draft before Tassie. Will be interesting to see how hard they cut, but I'd expect at least 5 would be gone:
  • all of the older ones Fyfe, Walters, Aish likely gone. We have younger replacements ready to go.
  • MacDonald and Narkle could have a role as depth even if they aren't regulars. But 1 year deals only.
  • Delean probably needs a very good year.
  • not sure Odin would even be considered for extending if Riddle shows anything?
Plus we need to free up a spot for Pickett.

We are actually carrying some decent players as depth who may have some trade value, or perhaps value as part of a trade.

Erasmus, Cooper, Voss, Ollie Murphy. Players who are developing but who may struggle for Best 22.

If Pickett is a serious option, or if we want to improve our draft position, something could happen.

We are actually carrying some decent players as depth who may have some trade value, or perhaps value as part of a trade.

Erasmus, Cooper, Voss, Ollie Murphy. Players who are developing but who may struggle for Best 22.

If Pickett is a serious option, or if we want to improve our draft position, something could happen.
Would any of these guys get us any more than a future third? (At best).
The only guys I can think of that will get us some sort of capital would be Darcy (and maybe Noddy depending on his year) I reckon even Luke Ryan and Switta are too old to get us a first rounder.

We don't need firsts though if these NGA's project as expected.

We'll need seconds and thirds.

We don't need firsts though if these NGA's project as expected.

We'll need seconds and thirds.
Draper will be upgraded to the main list so it'd be even more handy if one or two fall through all together but are still somewhat draftable.

If that's little chance of it happening we should be planning what to do with our Category B spots by mid season. Not sure we can afford to do nothing with them whilst our ladder position, list squeeze, Tasmania and possibly club 20 (can't see the AFL staying at 19 teams for long) impact our draft position significantly.

Aish,
Worner
Jones
Deelan
Everybody wants to be the nice guy, but it's actually pretty poor list management that JOM, Banners and Brodie all have a spot for 2026
It’s not bad list management to lock in depth for multiple years. If we start to perform and win stuff, watch other teams come for them as our stars all have long contracts.

Unproven kids will do less on game day than JOM, Banners & Brodie. It’s just that you don’t add potential to their output as well as projecting what they look like in 2-3 seasons.

Aish,
Worner
Jones
Deelan

Here are all the out of contract players, and where I see them.

Can't believe Brodie still has another year left.

Gone
Fyfe, Walters
Delean
Odin Jones - unless he makes a miracle recovery.

Playing for a contract
Narkle - surely playing for contract
Aish
Reidy - probably need to keep him
Aiden Riddle
Neil Erasmus - I think we keep him, but I also think he will have a big year. A lot will change in the first 10 rounds
Worner
McDonald

Move to rookie list
Brodie

Re-sign Now
Brayshaw
Sharp
Pearce

Here are all the out of contract players, and where I see them.

Can't believe Brodie still has another year left.

Gone
Fyfe, Walters
Delean
Odin Jones - unless he makes a miracle recovery.

Playing for a contract
Narkle - surely playing for contract
Aish
Reidy - probably need to keep him
Aiden Riddle
Neil Erasmus - I think we keep him, but I also think he will have a big year. A lot will change in the first 10 rounds
Worner
McDonald

Move to rookie list
Brodie

Re-sign Now
Brayshaw
Sharp
Pearce
Didn’t Worner just sign a 2 year contract last year?

It’s not bad list management to lock in depth for multiple years. If we start to perform and win stuff, watch other teams come for them as our stars all have long contracts.

Unproven kids will do less on game day than JOM, Banners & Brodie. It’s just that you don’t add potential to their output as well as projecting what they look like in 2-3 seasons.
Banners has had some decent form and probably deserved the length of his contract extension, but
  • there is no way Brodie should have got the length of extension that he did, and
  • there is no way we should have initially signed JOM for 4 years initially??? He had injury concerns and 2, or at max 3 would have been fine.

It may be interesting depending on how the Tassie team gets built, and if compensation is available. For example, Voss may be very useful in an inaugural team.

By the way, I'm not trying to flog off our depth. Very happy to have these guys there. Just shooting the breeze about holding onto them.

Don't see why Jones is necessarily gone unless it's a career ending injury. He's still not 20 I'm pretty sure. Plenty of time to develop if he can return day one of pre season for example.

I would think it is pretty routine to cut guys who are long shots (late/rookie/mid-season draft types) after 2 or 3 seasons have gone by and they haven't done anything. Look at Kuek, Stanley and Williams. I'd be very surprised if Odin Jones is on the list for the 2026 season.

Don't see why Jones is necessarily gone unless it's a career ending injury. He's still not 20 I'm pretty sure. Plenty of time to develop if he can return day one of pre season for example.
No harm holding him as a rookie, but if Riddle looks promising, and with players like Reidy, Voss, MacDonald, Nicholls, Davies and Murphy as talls who will struggle for opportunity, I think there's pressure for spots.

List Mgmt. 2025 List management