2025 Pre-Season chat

I did see in one of the training vids that Polkinghorne was wearing the number 2. Not sure how much to trust but was the same session as Smith #3. Also think I saw 27 either on Retschko or Ivisic in one of the clips but again not 100%

Would make sense if Retschko wanted 27, given that was Menegola's number - and he was an elite runner/fitness freak too. Wouldn't surprise if he modeled some of his game on him too

Some entertaining stuff here.

The 6th-10th prediction is fine. The text throughout the whole article on other teams compared to Geelong in 2024 is the amusing bit.

2007 GF rematch locked in šŸ”

I quite enjoyed reading this, too. I love being underestimated and it sounds like we will be again in 2025.

The idea that we were just as close to losing in straight sets as we were to getting into the GF is nonsense. Written like someone who doesn't watch the game, just does footy tipping based on ladder position. We absolutely smashed Port (at home). And we gave the best team a huge run for their money and could easily have beaten them if a few things had fallen our way.

Bring on 2025!

I quite enjoyed reading this, too. I love being underestimated and it sounds like we will be again in 2025.

The idea that we were just as close to losing in straight sets as we were to getting into the GF is nonsense. Written like someone who doesn't watch the game, just does footy tipping based on ladder position. We absolutely smashed Port (at home). And we gave the best team a huge run for their money and could easily have beaten them if a few things had fallen our way.

Bring on 2025!
I think the wording was a bit abrupt but the general order in which he placed the sides made sense to me.

I argued a 6th to 10th finish for us next year is what I'd expect over and over again in the Bailey Smith trade thread and I stand by that.

Bring on 2025!

So Geelong were potentially one loss away from going out in straight sets?
What about Brisbane! They barely scraped by GWS who literally did everything in their power to hand the Lions the win.

I think the wording was a bit abrupt but the general order in which he placed the sides made sense to me.

I argued a 6th to 10th finish for us next year is what I'd expect over and over again in the Bailey Smith trade thread and I stand by that.
5 positions is a lot. If you had to narrow it down to 2, what would it be?

I'll go with 4th to 5th.

5th to 6th being a close second.

IF there was an 84 point turnaround in the QF, and then Geelong lost to the team who lost to the team Geelong beat by 84 points in the SF, THEN Geelong would have straight setted.

That's a ripper.

IF there was an 84 point turnaround in the QF, and then Geelong lost to the team who lost to the team Geelong beat by 84 points in the SF, THEN Geelong would have straight setted.

That's a ripper.
So, so close to being the biggest top 4 frauds in history.

Call us Port 2.0.

Some brilliant mental gymnastics by the article writer.

New photos of today's training. There's one in there of Conway standing next to Wiltshire who's listed at 180cm yet it looks like the world's tallest man next to the world's shortest man.

TOwzOTAB.JPG

Almost all in order with draft picks?

Do you also include the new recruits in that number assignment?

Looking at when they signed, there isn't necessarily an order to number assignments across all new recruits - especially when you consider that our first 3 additions have their numbers spread throughout the available the numbers

I know there was a bit of talk of Burke getting #2, but maybe that went with #41 so he'd have a locker beside O'Connor

Non-draft signings, in order:
Bailey Smith, #3
Cillian Burke, #41
Jack Martin, #19 (predicted & TBC confirmed tomorrow)

ND picks:
#44 - Jay Polkinghorne, 2
#52 - Jacob Molier, 20
#56 - Lennox Hoffman, 23
#69 - Keighton Matofai-Forbes, 31

Rookies:
#12 - Xavier Ivisic, 25
#23 - Patrick Retschko, 27
#31 - Joe Pike, 37

Not sure using hypotheticals to justify your case helps your argument. If it does, then why hasn't he mentioned that Brisbane should have been sent home after the second week of the finals? Surely that has more relevance that saying we would have been knocked out in straight sets HAD we lost the first week, which applies to any top 4 club, mind you.

But that's journalism standards for you these days.

I reckon the author has said something similar about us in the past, so doubling down is an interesting policy considering how many have tried and failed dismally when doing likewise.

That's a ripper.
I honestly don't know why they bother at this point. The risk/reward factor isn't there.

If he's finally right, and we do slip a bit, then congratulations I guess? Only took 15 years for the chickens to come home to roost, but we got there eventually!!

If he's wrong, like he's been repeatedly, then you just continue to look like an idiot over and over again.

Particularly in today's media landscape where clubs post 'edits' and such that contain those poor predictions. You can't really hide behind bad takes like you used to.

I imagine Michaels does it for clicks tbh. ESPN aren't exactly known for their AFL coverage, you have to spread the word somehow.

The injury list is unpredictable enough to make closing that estimate impossible. I'll just guess and say 8th.
I mean I'd go even further and say injuries/fitness can be the difference between 3rd and 12th. Its such an even comp and luck varies so much that predicting any kind of slide or climb up the ladder is complete guesswork.

2025 Pre-Season chat