Training 2025 Pre-Season - Standards are currently being driven

Lmac gets shat on even more these days because he is co-captain. Is it his fault there are no better options to captain the club atm? Jy is in the same boat.

Lmac bleeds blue and white and gives it his all on the track and on weekends. A lot of people carry on, wanting him out of the team. He might not be in our best 12 players but he is AFL capable.

People need to remind themselves that Shane Clayton is a NM premiership player (if they are old enough).

The whole 23 won’t be superstars. He is a B&F winner ffs. I think people need to lay off a little.

Boo hoo mate, Lmac is a shit co captain no matter how you shape it

:p

Boo hoo mate, Lmac is a shit co captain no matter how to shape it

:p
Lmac shouldn’t be captain because I believe the captain should be in the top 10 players at the club, top 6 really.

But who here really knows what his captaincy skills are like? I think we just go off the fact the team keeps loosing.

Great to see whitlock putting on size.
The fact we've had him up against larkey so early has me thinking he'll be next up if there's an injury.
Clubs obviously put their time into him and know what he can do.
He hasn’t put on any size. He’s the same as he was a month ago..

You think one month in the gym and you will notice gains? 😂 come on

Just got home from an absolutely fantastic morning with the QLD supporters club.

Massive shoutout to Jade from the footy club who went above and beyond to ensure that despite me being in a wheelchair following major surgery recently (I can currently walk but very limited on my feet at the moment) was able to access the ground to meet the players as the Southport club itself has very limited disability access out onto the ground.

I managed to meet quite a few of the players in the end, got a few photos and they were absolutely fantastic young men.

Credit to the club and the supporters club for making this happen.
Hope you're good mate.

We didn't have to use those picks on established players. And the trade didn't use one either, it was 17 + Fisher for 21 + 25.
I know you'd rather someone else but we ended up with Fisher and Wil Dawson instead of what became picks 29 and 33 or 34.

Because the guys we have on field are better?
I would suggest even the highest rated KPP play min games. Look at Cadman, Walter and Read to an extent.

I think the ones who do play early usually rely abit more on athletisms... i.e Caddy or are a third option i.e Morris

W Dawson was athletic talent but had little in the way of experience. He will benefit from off-season and exposure throuigh VFL. I was surprised that he played anything last year in fairness.

MatLock will rely on size long term aswell as athletism. Also being unsure of where to play him will take working out. same as Dawson in that space really.

Slight note on Duurs. Was very athletic and smart footballer. Slightly concerned about first year. I thought he sould be a slow burn but a watch tyhis year and next for me.

Something left field as an idea and I wish could happen but won’t.
Wouldn’t it be nice to play a scratch match against a top 8 team, either before or after Christmas.

I know it’ll never happen and the sides will never be full strength, but I’d love to see us go up against a Hawthorn or Bulldogs half way through the summer, just to get an idea of where we are at.

There’s always a wake up call delivered to us in February and then we go into round 1 with less confidence and it’d be nice to see how we’re going a couple of months out of the season opener.

You could call it the summer series or something like that.
But yes, I know it just will never happen.

I’m with you. Maybe just have 10 players on each side - the ones who really need the hitout. And you could play it on one of the soccer pitches or rugby fields if all the ovals were being used for cricket. And reward goals from a long way out - maybe call those ‘zooper goals’ or something. I reckon there’s something in it. Some real X factor.

W. Dawson played seniors last year, surely it's not out of the question at all.
He did play but it was probably too early and the same with Zane not having the size added to compete.
Both did their shoulders coming up against bigger bodies in packs or a bump shoulder to shoulder.
That's why I think we'll be cautious with Matt and that's why they added Darling so the kids get more time.
I would think Will Dawson plays before Matt or perhaps Matt gets a few games against similar age profile teams like Tigers (on Armstrong or Faull), Bombers (GMan or Caddy?), Saints (Tauru?) or play on his brother at Port perhaps.

There will always be some heavily tracking the careers of players taken around that pick no matter how Daniel performs for us sadly.
Any other draft year I wouldn't have really cared about moving a pick in the mid/late 20's for a mature player.
It potentially cost us getting both the Whitlocks (if we trade the F1 for 27 and F2 regardless of Daniel).
Some will say it cost us our F1 but I suspect we always intended to trade it, so the talk about what might have been with the F1 being a potentially elite kid or mature trade target is likely a futile discussion.

We definitely need Caleb's ball use and experience even if he's a bit of a defensive liability (but so is Fisher fwiw), and it may well be worth pick 29 to help push us along. The side benefit of moving Colby up the ground helps as well.
I'll be getting behind the new additions and will try not to look in the rearview, but this is Big Footy, so you know there will be people who bring it up just like they did the Harley Reid game this preseason lol.

I’m with you. Maybe just have 10 players on each side - the ones who really need the hitout. And you could play it on one of the soccer pitches or rugby fields if all the ovals were being used for cricket. And reward goals from a long way out - maybe call those ‘zooper goals’ or something. I reckon there’s something in it. Some real X factor.
What a great concept. It would make exciting tv viewing. Imagine, fireworks, smoke bombs and flames shooting up when a Zooper Goal is scored and the commentators getting all hyper and hoarse from the screaming...

You ought to sell the plan to the AFL for big bucks.

I know you'd rather someone else but we ended up with Fisher and Wil Dawson instead of what became picks 29 and 33 or 34.
The trade was fine, the choice of Fisher and the length of his contract wasn't though. In a year we'd gone from Clarko talking about looking for players to play in our next premiership to signing Fisher and Stevens on four-year deals.

I know, but who else would you have traded in and would that have given us the same opportunity to move up six spots?

Other teams play their young KPPs from their first year - thinking the Kings for example. I am not sure why we shouldn’t be given him games in 2025 if he is seen as capable.
Yeah we've had a few young players cop some pretty nasty injuries because they played too early. I think they need to be ready before we put them on the park.

Drove down to Southport yesterday with my 11 year old. I've been to plenty of club training sessions at Arden St but the access and time given by the players yesterday was absolutely incredible.

Spoke with Paul Curtis for about 15 minutes from all things family to his football. He said the inclusion of Darling will be a great benefit to himself Lakrey Zuhaar ect. Told me Clarko gave them an absolute spray after west coast game last year. Also mentioned the leadership thats being brought in. said that they were all learning a lot from the players that had one flags and what it took to be in a successful team. Parker had also said that north train as hard as sydney. When i asked about what it is that weve been lacking he said it was stuff as simple as a missed tackle or a player being out of position. Said that Sheezel is an absolute freak. I asked what it was about him, mentioned hes not the quickest, fastest or strongest but it just knows where to be always

Watched a few of the boys having snap shots from the pocket with wind blowing across. Almost impossible to kick and watched colby dob 2 out of 5 on his right foot. Blokes a freak.

Griffen Logue seems to bring great energy and banter to the group.

Spoke with the warlord who shaved off the seedy mo. I asked him what he new about north hatred with essendon. Said that L Mac gave a speech in the rooms the first time he played them and reckons the hatred was real (he cant stand them now either haha)

I asked each player who to look out for next year, every single one of them mentioned Colby

From everyone I spoke to yesterday, there seems to have been a massive shift in the perception of where we are at. The confidence is there and the guys seem to really be enjoying themselves.

Training 2025 Pre-Season - Standards are currently being driven