Training 2025 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc

I smell Cez B&F this year

Agree. Highlights why I believe we are a real chance in 2025

Cripps & Weitering as our elites and can’t probably do anymore than they did this year. Newman probably another that played at his peak

Nearly everyone else on our list can improve and significantly from 2024 and that starts with names like Walsh Cerra & Hewett who at their best make a big difference

And this is before we get to the younger talent

If JSOS can be that clever, scragging full back who gets away with what he shouldn't that his dad was...

JSOS has always beaten opponents with smarts more often than athleticism, and he is a ferocious competitor.

On Pixel 7a using BigFooty.com mobile app

My Blue Heaven has put up an extra 30 mins of training footage on YouTube. From that vision Cerra, Cowan, Motlop, O.Hollands, Haynes impressed me. Ison looked great and fit right in. Interesting that Weitering, Haynes, Newman, Saad, O.Hollands, Cowan played a lot of match sim together in defence. What most would consider our probables backline. Maybe tring to build synergy. Disposal looked pretty poor to be honest. Lots of simple missed kicks.

It is December so skills would be scratchy.

The footage of Walsh just makes him seem like he's stacking on mass to play even more inside... except he spent his time mostly failing to impact with his ground level pressure.

Will he reduce how much ground he's covered so he doesn't completely destroy his back and his feet? Will he actually break tackles? Will he bother to release the ball within 3 seconds?

I'm not sure this is a smart change.

The footage of Walsh just makes him seem like he's stacking on mass to play even more inside... except he spent his time mostly failing to impact with his ground level pressure.

Will he reduce how much ground he's covered so he doesn't completely destroy his back and his feet? Will he actually break tackles? Will he bother to release the ball within 3 seconds?

I'm not sure this is a smart change.
I think his back issues caused by overtraining if we're being honest.

Voss confirmed SOS will go back. Maybe just havent seen it yet given he's mostly been in rehabilitation.
Yep. Can confirm Mickey Mouse brief training for 20mins or so before 2pm start saw Jack with the backs. About the only thing to report other than I was impressed with the condition of ALL of the boys. Some nice interaction during signing session with half of the boys.

Few blokes seemingly missing along with Charlie, but in fairness only got a very brief look, and mostly at defenders. Definitely did not see the imposing big blonde ruckman. Couple of others will be looking for tomorrow, I didn’t sight today. Definitely training in the morning, young Billy said “think at 9” when quizzed (aren’t they forecasting 40mm of rain?)

Best on apart from my Mrs who commandeered my white training top to get plenty of signatures while batting her eyes at the boys were Weiters and McGovern, made certain they got to every fan for a photo/signing op, while others mostly worked one side or the other. I was consigned to the camera, (down loads later in the week). In fairness, plenty of the youngsters did a great job with interaction. Can confirm the big pre season of Cooper Lord in good nick and according to my ever loving wifey has gorgeous blue eyes.

Few blokes seemingly missing along with Charlie, but in fairness only got a very brief look, and mostly at defenders...
I'm sorta hoping in an indirect way, with Charlie's minor Knee op, that they don't play him round 1/2 and we put Kemp at Full forward. I'd love to see how he goes being the main focal point for an entire game or two.

Just a couple of random observations for the content starved masses. I don’t get interaction with the group, so as I said “random” 16-18 of the boys didn’t come over “our side” so a few are missing from “assessment”.

The sometimes “fat farm” boys Motlop, Williams and McGovern look in excellent shape, even Gov who is reported to be on “light duties”, signs of recent “cupping” on his shoulders. Motlop and Williams look EXTREMELY fit, genuinely expect big years.

Wry smile and affirmation from Zac when I suggested the Maroochydore ground may not be his favourite venue.

Asked Durds about his shoulder and assured me it was finally right.

HOF stands out a bit, being so lean and rangy, but clearly in decent shape. Reckon will end up in the 2 metre range and will take some filling out.

I reckon Weiters has trimmed down and like others are reporting, Walshy does seem among the more heavily set in the group ATM.

Cowan looking strong and fit. Shared a chuckle when I stated I had a Tassie T-Shirt in my bag, if he wanted to sign it. (I actually did).

Kempy and Ashton caught the eye along with Lord, young Coop seemed chuffed when I pointed out (for my wife’s benefit) “here is the young bloke getting all the rave reviews, keep it up mate”. He was genuinely grateful and humble at the unexpected “notoriety”.

The last casual observation is draftee Lucas Camporeale, wasn’t sure which Campo we had until he signed LC21. Thought Ben was the more robust, but Lucas looks physically game ready, much more than I expected.

Hopefully more relevant game/performance related stuff after tomorrow’s session. Hope the weather holds, think it will be a big one.

Just a couple of random observations for the content starved masses. I don’t get interaction with the group, so as I said “random” 16-18 of the boys didn’t come over “our side” so a few are missing from “assessment”.

The sometimes “fat farm” boys Motlop, Williams and McGovern look in excellent shape, even Gov who is reported to be on “light duties”, signs of recent “cupping” on his shoulders. Motlop and Williams look EXTREMELY fit, genuinely expect big years.

Wry smile and affirmation from Zac when I suggested the Maroochydore ground may not be his favourite venue.

HOF stands out a bit, being so lean and rangy, but clearly in decent shape. Reckon will end up in the 2 metre range and will take some filling out.

I reckon Weiters has trimmed down and like others are reporting, Walshy does seem among the more heavily set in the group ATM.

Cowan looking strong and fit. Shared a chuckle when I stated I had a Tassie T-Shirt in my bag, if he wanted to sign it. (I actually did).

Kempy and Ashton caught the eye along with Lord, young Coop seemed chuffed when I pointed out (for my wife’s benefit) “here is the young bloke getting all the rave reviews, keep it up mate”. He was genuinely grateful and humble at the unexpected “notoriety”.

The last casual observation is draftee Lucas Camporeale, wasn’t sure which Campo we had until he signed LC21. Thought Ben was the more robust, but Lucas looks physically game ready, much more than I expected.

Hopefully more relevant game/performance related stuff after tomorrow’s session. Hope the weather holds, think it will be a big one.

Totally agree with you observations today
Spoke to Gov and he said he is on light training due to a abductor niggle

Nice work as always from our Northern correspondent 👍
The snippet i was really pleased to read was Durdin confirming (touch wood) that his shoulder issues are hopefully behind him now.
There are a few of us here still standing staunch with Durds, a best 22 player when fit for mine.
The lad can football … fast feet, hands and mind and I’m hoping he gets the occasional midfield rotation along with his time forward this season …

Jack Ison (42) looks a good prospect. I didn't see much of McMahon (47), though.
And, I didn't notice Phillips (49, I think?) at all except for him standing on the sidelines.
The guy wearing 49 and following Kreuzer around is too tall to be Phillips, I saw him come out with the team on the Friday a week before the open session and immediately thought "didn't they cut Mirkov". I've watched both of Blue Heaven's video's his report and the extended training session, in his report he was trying to work out who he was too. Someone in the comment's suggested he maybe Flynn Riley 206cm ruckman from Montmorency (Formerly North Knights), who was on our VFL Extended squad last year, but didn't play a game and has re-signed to play this year. I'm not sure Phillips has been training with the squad over the last week, but I could be wrong. I think it's Kreuzer and Riley in the back ground of the picture of Cripps for his pre-season update, taken on the Friday when I first saw him.

I'd love to see him as 3rd banana with H & C getting the key defenders
What I meant was that (regardless of what Fwd position he plays) I'd like to see Kemp as the main focal point to see what he's capable of. I can just see him taking some good grabs with his natural spring and good hands.
I reckon with the Twin Towers and Kemp it will be a very potent combo.

What I meant was that (regardless of what Fwd position he plays) I'd like to see Kemp as the main focal point to see what he's capable of. I can just see him taking some good grabs with his natural spring and good hands.
I reckon with the Twin Towers and Kemp it will be a very potent combo.
Didn't he play as the main forward in 2 of our last three games this year (Eagles and Saints)?

Went well against a weak Eagles team and struggled against the saints?

Our Queensland bf correspondent, scoop coona delivers again …. nice work CB.

Not claiming scoops. Just brief casual chats and a couple of observations. Very much hope it all is borne out. Bits and pieces. I know what it is like hanging out for a little info.

Can confirm the big pre season of Cooper Lord in good nick.
The thing that's impressed me is the increased power and tempo in his running. He's now able to spread from the contest to follow up for multiple possessions in a chain of play. It takes the emphasis away from him being purely an inside mid to potentially being able to take on a more balanced role like Walsh and Cerra. We're still early in the preseason so there's a lot of water to go under the bridge, but I like what I'm seeing.

Training 2025 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc