News 2025 St. Kilda Media Thread

In reference to the 'outs', Paton, Ross, Membrey, Hayes, Bonner and of course Battle, I think my point that they (excluding Battle) won't be much good for our rivals if they are retired or compromised by age etc., is pretty weak. It is like saying we are a car in a race with 17 other cars, and we removed some parts because the bearings in them are getting noisy, and they won't be much use to the other cars as spare parts, being that they are (old parts with noisy bearings'.

Our losses are our losses, period. If our players have aged and fallen off, and been cut from the list, relatively, other teams are immediately better off, unless we immediately trade in better alternatives. And we haven't. (I am not talking future potential here. I am talking from Round One where 4 points are on the table, and they can never be put back there)

That said, we had no choice, and we must evolve, and so must they. Perhaps in every other team, there are three or four who are heading downwards.
I can't argue with the logic but the maths isn't right IMHO.

We're a better side without Bonner.
Hayes was never available, so any warm fit body is an upgrade.

Gained Macrae, Boyed and Carroll.
Lost Batts, Membrey, Pato, Ross, TC, Crouch.

Pato, Ross and TC were finished at the Saints and had no currency, so at least IMO they shouldn't be counted. Crouch is a real loss but effectively out of the team for season 2024 so his value terminated at the end of season 2023.

So ATM, for players that have relevanc to our chances of winning we are better off by way of numbers, with gains concentrated in the midfield.
Losing Timmy hurts forward dept but the on-field loss is very much TBD.
Batts is a big on-field loss which we won't be able to cover for this year at least.

On balance, it's a break even at worst. The rest is down to how it unfolds.

Pato, Ross and TC were finished at the Saints and had no currency, so at least IMO they shouldn't be counted. Crouch is a real loss but effectively out of the team for season 2024 so his value terminated at the end of season 2023.

So ATM, for players that have relevanc to our chances of winning we are better off by way of numbers, with gains concentrated in the midfield.
Batts is a big on-field loss which we won't be able to cover for this year at least.

I reckon Tim will hurt. Second half of the season he was vital. Don't think we have an obvious replacement, someone that can consistently compete like he did for us. Maybe Owens if he can find more consistent form.

Perhaps, but second half of the season was when we were down King and both Caminiti and Sharman were inconsistent (Sharman the better of the two). King being back to his best shifts everyone down a spot and I absolutely believe that Sharman can slot into that 3rd tall role.

Bonner played 20 odd games!!

That HAS to be a loss..in terms of getting 4 points Round One..long term, agreed, no loss.

Paton was fringe but for whatever reason, ever since the broken leg wasn't the same (could be 100% coincidence). ill be interesting to see how the Swans use him.

Sharman has been disappointing, for me personally, because i had huge hopes. Maybe he can still get there.
But Membrey was even more disappointing, despite some terrific games at the very end.
As for King..we say a prayer.

That HAS to be a loss..in terms of getting 4 points Round One..long term, agreed, no loss.

Paton was fringe but for whatever reason, ever since the broken leg wasn't the same (could be 100% coincidence). ill be interesting to see how the Swans use him.

Sharman has been disappointing, for me personally, because i had huge hopes. Maybe he can still get there.
But Membrey was even more disappointing, despite some terrific games at the very end.
Sharman disappointing you reckon, reckon he’ll sit you on your tail this season

I always view how other clubs view our delistings by whether they recruit them. In previous years no one picked up our discards.

We now have
Membrey delisted now at Collingwood
Paton delisted now at Swans
Battle free agent..that hasn't happened in a while, if ever.
Van Ess trying out at Eagles

As John West says the fish we reject makes us the best.

Our 40th-ranked players we delisted are now preferred than other clubs 40th players or the draft.

That's tells me more about the quality of our list....than anything that's written my some moron from Essendon.

Every year they say they won the trade period and they won the draft, it sure shows in their finals performances. A few of their supporters are deluded flogs and have loud voices that unfortunately drown out the rational majority.

Regarding Blues there was a podcast bit like our SaintsTV that was gold. Sack Vossy sack the president sack everyone, their passion was like watching a car crash you could not take your eyes off.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Sharman and Owens are the future. Membrey missed a lot of games in the last couple of years and getting older. Backing in the kids is the right move but leaves us exposed short term.

I think between Owens and Sharman, we can cover his output from the second half of the season (noting King will have come in and take the number 1 defender).

It's a bit risky to move on an older guy for younger players but at the same time, neither of the above player will ever take that next step if we dont clear the space for them to do so.

I think between Owens and Sharman, we can cover his output from the second half of the season (noting King will have come in and take the number 1 defender).

It's a bit risky to move on an older guy for younger players but at the same time, neither of the above player will ever take that next step if we dont clear the space for them to do so.

Membrey covered a lot of ground.
Not sure if Owens or Sharman can do that sort of work just yet, but we'll sort something out.

I agree with the idea that we had to move him on to give others opportunity. Like you say the obvious one is King who makes a difference.

I just found when I was watching some of the games from the second half of the year that I'd underrated Membrey. He crashes packs and is a focal point. I hope Sharman and Owens are watching his tapes to see how they can impact for us because he was really important second half of the season. To be fair, Sharman was good in that period too and we do need to focus on young guys to keep moving forward.

Not sure if Owens or Sharman can do that sort of work just yet, but we'll sort something out.
I'm pretty sure we're either in the same running group or better, so they should have the tank to work further up the ground as the replacement. That said, I'd be keeping Sharman deep because his best attribute is his set shot so I'd rather he stays close and someone else works up the field.

I agree with the idea that we had to move him on to give others opportunity. Like you say the obvious one is King who makes a difference.

I just found when I was watching some of the games from the second half of the year that I'd underrated Membrey. He crashes packs and is a focal point. I hope Sharman and Owens are watching his tapes to see how they can impact for us because he was really important second half of the season. To be fair, Sharman was good in that period too and we do need to focus on young guys to keep moving forward.
If Sharman hadn't finished the way he did last year, I'd definitely be more concerned. But it looked liked it finally clicked for him.

Hall is probably the roaming high half forward.

Tim started 2024 well kicking a few, and finished with 30 goals from 19 games, which is very good result.
But almost half of those goals came after Round 20 or later, not the second half of the season, starting with five against West Coast in Round 20. Round 19 v Adelaide was the nadir, 4 possessions and scoreless. (We lost inside 50s 39:52)

Cooper played 18 (sub multiple times???) and kicked 18, and like Tim, half came from the West Coast game and later.

Overall, Tim was consistently a one goal player, where as Cooper bobbed up for multiples and donuts more often.

We know that we finished the season better than we started, and we know the AFL fixturing is never gonna kind.

I love Cooper and I hope he blossoms. I can’t see Tim getting many games at the Pies, but if he does and kicks 30 odd goals, then we have to consider it a big loss.

Edit: I think we played in a defensive posture a lot more in the early to mid season, but I will check f50 entries. Another factor is the King situation

Saintos The ITK:

This young fella does a pretty good analysis. Sounds like he’s a bit of a track watcher and knows his stuff. Good on you, mate, if you’re on here.

Agreed. Jake has some competition. Alan is in the most improved category. He started out slowly, but has grown in confidence, which shows in his delivery. His content is interesting. Look out, Jake! He's comin' for 'ya! 😄

Saintos The ITK:

This young fella does a pretty good analysis. Sounds like he’s a bit of a track watcher and knows his stuff. Good on you, mate, if you’re on here.

Agreed. Jake has some competition. Alan is in the most improved category. He started out slowly, but has grown in confidence, which shows in his delivery. His content is interesting. Look out, Jake! He's comin' for 'ya! 😄

We're all Sainters here - not in competition! Love what he does, would love to do a vid with him soon.

Seems like we sort of agree then. IMO we've swapped Battle for Macrae and the rest will have minimal consequence this year.
Membrey for Carroll both around the edge of the best 22.
We let go about 6 potential list cloggers for draftees which increases potential.
I think the clean out will be good for the squad.

I do not know if this constitutes media - it is just an Essendon fansite, but to whoever bothered, I give them credit. It is fun to see an outsider's POV. (An Essendon one at that! lol - are they not among the most conceited fanbases??)

Check it out: https://discourse.bomberblitz.com/t/season-2025-st-kilda/33851/3

Among the gems,

My Prediction

For a team that really don’t matter, it is still so much fun to watch them perform so terribly. I think in large part because of the nostalgia, St Kilda being a terrible football team plays such a large part of everyone’s football experience. Combine that with their coach being an arrogant tool and it just feels right that the Saints are mediocre.
Should have posted the whole thing. Absolutely nuffies over there.

There's a group of players at St Kilda yet to make their AFL debut. Some have worked on their craft over years at VFL level, while others are fresh from the draft and pushing hard for selection.

Who do you think will make that jump from VFL player to AFL regular by season's end?

News 2025 St. Kilda Media Thread