Retired #21: Dyson Heppell - Goodnight, sweet prince. What a legend! 🤙 - 24/8

Nothing changes for footy fans.. player comparisions and debates that can never have a successful conclusion...

Hird, Buckley and Voss are still being compared and debated.. not just for playing career but for coaching too!

Heppell, Fyfe, Cotchin.. you would take them all without hesitation and I believe they will all be true guns by the end of their careers...!

Whilst I would have Fyfe slightly ahead in the 'school yard pick' selections.. wouldn't be crying too hard at Heppell coming next!!

Midfield of Watson, Goddard inside, Zaka, Heppell, Stanton on the outside.. with melksham, hocking, myers, jetta, kav, dempsey to rotate through/wingers... very very tasty!!

Heppell to be top 3 in crichton this year and top 15 overall brownlow night in 2013

But it still deifes the point of the thread and in the end, it is the wrong place to be discussing it. Boards are effective when discussions are contained in specific threads which are .......for that discussion point.
Fair point.

As a tip, I guess, I've effectively steered the conversation away from the last topic on to this one with one simple post (and title edit).

Start a discussion about anything else, and odds are good this stuff will be forgotten pretty quickly.

Winning fans all over the shop:
Any suggestions?? Got caught out with not having enough DPP last year so I have picked a few.

Backs: Goddard, Gibbs, Duffield, Johncock, Valastuin, Goodes - Terlich Staker
Mids: Swan, Murphy, Heppell, Harlett, Ball, Varcoe, Crouch, O'Meara - Viney Mayes
Rucks: Goldstein Leuenberger - Rowe, Currie
Forwards: Franklin, Cox, Martin, Watts, Broughton, Monfries - Stringer, Macaffer.

thanks

That 1/2 of footy he played vs GWS was easily the best he has played as a pure midfielder at AFL level, we could finally have 5 bloke who could push mid 20s to 30s poss games, in recent years we have only ever had 2 or 3. Best part is they all can kick goals when resting forward.

Watson
Stanton
Goddard
Zaharakis
Heppell

with Goddard, Stanton and Watson taking the tags, I can see Zaharakis and Heppell getting a crap load of the ball this season.

I think Heppell followed closely by Zaka are the biggest benefactors of Goddard's arrival...

Keeps Heppell on the 'outside' of packs and leaves Zaka to play 4th Mid which could lead to some really fast transition play and clearances from stoppages.

I think Heppell followed closely by Zaka are the biggest benefactors of Goddard's arrival...

Keeps Heppell on the 'outside' of packs and leaves Zaka to play 4th Mid which could lead to some really fast transition play and clearances from stoppages.
Rekon Heppell will be played inside, just as he has done through the preseason.

Backed him for the brownlow at 250/1. Reckon he will announce himself as a gun midfielder this year. He will certainly be noticed by the umps as well.

I thought Heppell was our best player early when we needed it the most, faded out of the game late but played really well.

Why would we want to keep him outside for? He was looking very good in the middle in the pre season and i think he will continue that. Just watch out when he gets a more powerful frame!

Dyson has one hell of a media career in front of him.

Hilariously bogan on TFS

Probably one of the most confident talkers at the club. That's from an outside perspective. I don't really know how they all act. He and jobe probably best at it from what I can tell, zaka perhaps but he speaks super fast.

Retired #21: Dyson Heppell - Goodnight, sweet prince. What a legend! 🤙 - 24/8