22,927 attendance for Collingwood home game

View attachment 396262
View attachment 396264

maybe you can teach me - i'm looking here and it says north made almost 20x essendon's profit....

edit: before anyone brings in the ASADA/WADA fees, that was only $5M in fees

Oh sweet jesus...

Why yes, I will help you understand.

Here's the thing - your posting is utter stupidity. There's no debating that, but the motive for it falls in to one of two categories. It's either;

a) You genuinely don't understand the financial circumstances of both clubs, and as such think your 'profit' has somehow put you past Essendon in a financial sense

-or-

b) You thought you were being funny, and that people were going to slap you on the back for how funny you are - without realising that most people, especially North supporters, realise how utterly stupid it looks.

Stupid, because only a ****in breathtaking display of idiocy would drive someone to compare the financial muscle of North Melbourne against one of the larger clubs, in this case Essendon.

I mean, geezus...

Essendon is, quite literally, even in the immediate aftermath of the supplements scandal where they set one of the largest losses in league history, worth more than three times what the entirety of the North Melbourne Football Club is.

Do you even comprehend that as a statement? You could liquidate the entirety of the North Melbourne Football club - literally sell off every asset and brand, sell every desk, football, and whiteboard, sell everything that isn't nailed down, and then everything that IS nailed down at your entire club - and it wouldn't be enough to buy the first floor of the facility Essendon has at Tullamarine.

But of course, none of this is news to anyone except you - which is why you don't see people making such foolish claims.

Oh sweet jesus...

Here's the thing - your posting is utter stupidity. There's no debating that, but the motive for it falls in to one of two categories. It's either;

a) You genuinely don't understand the financial circumstances of both clubs, and as such think your 'profit' has somehow put you past Essendon in a financial sense

-or-

b) You thought you were being funny, and that people were going to slap you on the back for how funny you are - without realising that most people, especially North supporters, realise how utterly stupid it looks.

Stupid, because only a ****in breathtaking display of idiocy would drive someone to compare the financial muscle of North Melbourne against one of the larger clubs, in this case Essendon.

I mean, geezus...

Essendon is, quite literally, even in the immediate aftermath of the supplements scandal where they set one of the largest losses in league history, worth more than three times what the entirety of the North Melbourne Football Club is.

Do you even comprehend that as a statement? You could liquidate the entirety of the North Melbourne Football club - literally sell off every asset and brand, sell every desk, football, and whiteboard, sell everything that isn't nailed down, and then everything that IS nailed down at your entire club - and it wouldn't be enough to buy the first floor of the facility Essendon has at Tullamarine.

But of course, none of this is news to anyone except you - which is why you don't see people making such foolish claims.

genuine melt
tl;dr

How can you tell if you didn't read it? :drunk:

Trust me, that's nowhere near a melt for Jade. :D
well, i read the first few sentences and they were just name calling, it's like when caro or another media personality have a melt regarding comments about them - just come out with creative adjectives about how 'obsurd' or ridiculous' the comment is and then call them stupid without actually addressing the point in hand.

briefly glancing over the rest of the post, it looks like they may have done accounting 101 and know what a balance sheet is, but still didn't address shit.

Oh sweet jesus...

-or-

I mean, geezus...

I'm not going to question your knowledge on AFL and specifically you probably know a lot more than I do. I also see that Essendon is and has always been a stronger club than North Melbourne money wise, numbers wise and success wise. North fans have always been jealous of Essendon more than anything because they wish they were them, but now your talking to someone who supports one of those traditionally larger clubs who are in many ways very similar to Essendon.

The thing I can't stand is Essendon fans acting like they have been given the hardest punishments in AFL history, the whole club has been wrecked and this year has been a romance of a club coming out from the dead. You know why supporters from other AFL clubs aren't buying into the romance, they know and you know very well Essendon wasn't punished very hard at all. Perhaps because the crime wasn't the clubs fault as such, but you can't say "even in the immediate aftermath of the supplements scandal where they set one of the largest losses in league history" because my views are losses aren't just financial, they are also understood by how the team plays on the footy field, for the reputation of the club, the membership numbers, playing list and club culture and to a smaller degree financial.

Compare Essendon to the Carlton Sallary Cap breach and for arguments sake, the crime was much worse. Financially we were hit hard with being fined almost $930,000, Essendon was fined $2 million, but that has been staggered over 3 years, we had to pay up front and take a lone from the AFL just to stay a float. It was Essendon fans irronicly who wanted us kicked out of the AFL. So how come there was never any talk of Essendon being kicked out of the compitition.

Yes Essendon lost most of their list for the entire 2016 season, but we all knew that Essendon would get their players back who were still at their peak and even though they were kicked out of the draft for 2 years, they didn't really need those picks for that amount of time because they had their list for 2014 and 2015 seasons which was running at its peak. By the time they had their players taken out, they then got their pick 1 in the 2016 draft and all their picks from 2015 draft. So really Essendon have always had a stable list exept for 2016 which was just 1 season.

Carlton on the other hand had the oldest list in the AFL in 2002, they had just won the wooden spoon when the findings came out so our list was poor to start with. Essendon had a finals bound list for 2013 despite being kicked out of the finals. We lost our picks for 2002 and 2003 drafts just when we needed them most to boost our list. So while Essendon had 1 guaranteed bad year we were pretty much guaranteed to be down the bottom until around 2007 because the veterans had left and we had previously been so high on the ladder in 1999, 2000 and 2001 which gave us pretty poor draft picks. You get the point, our timing couldn't have been worse while your club wasn't really effected.

In terms of culture, the only way to drop a previously strong culture at a footy club is for the thing that made it strong to start with, the on field performances to drop. Essendon apart from 2016 were haven't really been down the bottom so their membership has stayed high and have remained a strong club. At around 2003-2004 the culture at Carlton was still strong with many fans thinking like Essendon that once this is over the good times will return, but a club is down the bottom for more than 3 years in a row, the fans slowly lose hope and the rest of the AFL see that club as a laughing stock which is what Carlton has become today. Even though we have recovered from the salary cap debacle, its 'losses' still effect the club. This will never happen to Essendon.

This is probably the wrong thread to say all this but before Essendon fans whine and treat clubs such as North Melbourne as peasants and complain about how about how bad the last few years were as if they deserve everything that comes their way, have a bit of empathy for a club like Carlton who are still in the bad years.

Apart from the attention seeking/distracting from recent chastising of North's productive youth from the op, there's a distasteful element of queue worshippers stinking up this place.

Media filth need to drum up crowd numbers for ratings grabs while sad flogs on bigfooty are brainwashed into the 'Richmond lifestyle'.

Some might like to line up, spend half a day in traffic/car parks/bars with obscured views, but it's generally a media beat up of overpaid flogs being forced to watch neutral 2017 football or driven by journalists that support shit to almost meaningless clubs.

Sure mate

The Crows have never had a home crowd as low as 22,927 in its existence.
Adelaide have also never missed the finals four years in succession. Nor are they forced to play home games at a venue their supporters don't consider their home ground

Since 1997 we've had 4 games below Adelaides lowest ever crowd, 1 of them was at Vic Park in a spoon season and the other 3 have been in the last 2 seasons. Fan disillusionment is very strong at the moment, I'm sure the clubs noticed.

This happens and Kane Corns decides to shit on us for only getting 27k at the MCG against Port. I'll agree it's a disappointing turn out, although it's our highest attendance for us and port at the MCG.

While Collingwood the supposed powerhouse and West Coast the most established interstate/expansion side in the league draw 5k lower than that

However i will concede the point that Collingwood fans aren't going to rock up to Etihad home games. As a melbourne supporter i was part of the solid 8k that rocked up against GWS. Etihad homes games should be a thing for MCG tenants, play away games there sure, but not home games against interstate sides. It only took us costing that venue a loss to get us out of there.

22,927 attendance for Collingwood home game